We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
27 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
+44 1424 775171
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“bull burger” (8 reviews)
“onion rings” (5 reviews)
“sirloin steak” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is obviously down to personal taste as other reviewers have enjoyed the food but we thought it was pretty poor. I had fishcakes which were a mush of what tasted like mainly potato and fish in a deep fried batter with more potatoes and...More

Thank BigKnit
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening , I am very sorry to learn that our food did not meet up with your expectations. TruofscysFirstly I would like to reassure you that there is no captain Birdseye preparing our food on the kitchen! Secondly I would like to say to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called twice to reserve a table as it was for a birthday celebration. Requested a table at the front of the pub..as didn't want to feel cut off at the back of the pub. They said it was no problem and would seat us next...More

Thank Leep1London
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, I am very sorry to hear you did not receive the service that you should have done. If you could kindly email me with the date that you were booked in, I can help the member of staff ,perhaps with some training , so...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This pub was one of the nicest I been to in the UK. the staff were very friendly and looked like a very welcoming local pub. the roast was amazing and the best ive ever had. definetlt going back again.

Thank Pebbs82
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon, thankyou so much for taking the time to review us.... and what a review! We are very lucky to have an enthusiastic team that are willing to work sundays as well! Look forward to welcoming you back. The Bull Inn Team

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here after visiting battle Abbey and had dinner and drinks. Friendly staff who welcomed our little dog and the food was delicious. Lovely atmosphere and very clean xMore

Thank Hev H
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello there, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our lovely historical town and we are very pleased that you found our new menu delicious. We do welcome dogs and have just introduced a treat barrel for our four legged visitors. We hope...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We visited here for lunch today Ordered ! x Ham Egg & hips 1 X fish Cakes Ham came up thick & home cooked 2 x eggs & chips 2 X Fish Cakes homemade cod salmon spring onions new potatoes & garden peas What a...More

Thank shirleym2013
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Bull. We use local suppliers, including honey from our own hives , which we believe makes a difference. We also have our "family " of staff, who make up a good...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Didn't much fancy this pub from the outside and looking in it seemed dark and not appealing. However the pub just along the road, I think on Mount Street, had stopped serving food so we went into the Bull. Well what can I say? First...More

Thank GeorgesT1
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Good morning tripadvisor commenter, thankyou for your lovely review, we have just changed our menu and we are all very pleased to hear that it is has impressed you, together with our service. Our building is made from stone from Battle Abbey , which we...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Was visiting nearby Battle of Hastings museum. Stopped for lunch quite random. Food was nice, good service.

Thank Vic2606
Kerri D, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Good morning, we are glad that you enjoyed your random lunch and good service with us. Thankyou for taking the time to review us, we hope to see you in Battle again not the future. The Bull Inn Team

Reviewed 30 July 2017

Dropped in for a quick drink - no prosecco as not sold there. Had one drink only plus bar supplied me with ice for a foot injury. They do b and b but only serve breakfast to residents.

Thank mogeorges
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely anniversary dinner here... the staff are really friendly and very helpful... the food was amazing... we will definitely be coming back, for food or just a drink in a happy atmosphereMore

Thank noseyparker21
Kerri D, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Hello guys , it was a pleasure to make your evening a memorable one and we are very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Thankyou for taking the time to review us and we look forward to your next visit . May you have many more...More

Reviewed 27 June 2017

Very nice pub. Enjoyed the atmosphere on a Friday and Saturday night. Friday night karaoke was fun. :)

Thank Tim M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bluebells Cafe Tearoom
336 reviews
.23 km away
Battle Bakes and Cakes
150 reviews
.05 km away
The Nook
259 reviews
.19 km away
Cut & Grill
141 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Battle Abbey and Battlefield
1,446 reviews
.24 km away
Battle Museum of Local History
59 reviews
.07 km away
Aim Archery
41 reviews
1.44 km away
BRITISH design BRITISH made
24 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kendo1978
20 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kerri D | Property representative |
Yes we certainly do and we also have our dog beer available as well.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 High Street, Battle TN33 0EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Battle
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 775171
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing