We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Great Danes Pub

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Old Hall Lane | The Great Danes Country Inn, Swaffham, England
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016

I stayed in the B&B. After getting rid of the half dozen or so flies/moths in the room, I had a good night's sleep. Cereals/fruits are free for breakfast. The information pack says you can order a cooked breakfast for £7.50 but I was charged £10. Rip off?

Helpful?
Thank Brighton2k
Carole Gransden B, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this review

The Great Danes Pub does not exist..we are now a Licensed Guest House. . The Tariff you chose was Room only.. A cooked English Breakfast is £7.50..but you had cereals etc..that is £2.50..hence you were charged £10. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Stopping over in our motorhome, free of charge if a meal I s purchased, otherwise £5. Met By A Very Nice Owner And His Wife. Both we extremely friendly. Situated in a quaint village v close to large RAF camp, (perfect for plane spotters). Had a v good meal and natter, felt like I had known the landlady forever, she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Carole Gransden B, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this review

This review page should not exist...we are not a Pub..we are a Licensed Guest House. . Please see Great Danes Country Inn. .. Thank you so much...it easy to be nice to nice people...pleased you enjoyed your stay.. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

My friend and I went into this country pub for lunch as we had been in before and the wife and husband were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble but this time was a different story. We went in to find the son? Who looked like he'd just got out of bed after an all night lock-in. Roasts were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Megan C
Carole Gransden B, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this review

Great Danes Pub does not exist... It is a Licensed Guest House. . Think you have the wrong establishment! We are not open at lunchtime .. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015

Very enjoyable stay with good food and excellent accommodation. Made to feel very welcome with our two dogs.

Helpful?
Thank anneizze
Carole Gransden B, Guest Relations Manager at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this review

The Great Danes Pub does not exist..we are a Licensed Guest House. .The Great Danes Country Inn. .. Thank you for your very kind review. . More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2015

Our room was dated, I believe some have been modernised, the breakfast is continental but you can pay £7.5 each for full English. There is pretty good parking but nothing to see close bye. You are recommended not to drink the water, they provide bottled water free. Because of the location, pretty remote and not many people about we cannot... More 

Helpful?
Thank BillCheshire
Carole Gransden B, Manager at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this review

The Great Danes Pub does not exist. More 

Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2015

I have visited theis establishment a number of times over many years and have always had good food, friendly service and a pleasant atmosppher. In summer one can look across the village green to the church at the far end. a typical English village scene. I have aslo stayed there on one occasion and found the accommodation very good and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank norfolkngoodkl
Carole Gransden B, Guest Relations Manager at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this review

The Great Danes Pub does not exist. The Great Danes Country Inn is a Licensed Guest House. Thank you for your kind review. More 

Old Bar, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2015

Great food. Lovely welcoming owners. Found Carol really helpful as we were travelling from Australia and didn't even know the names of Uk supermarkets! Stayed in the carpark for free as an eat in the pub incentive. Loved the area.

Helpful?
Thank Lennongirl57
Carole Gransden B, General Manager at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this review

Thank you.. But the Great Danes Pub does not exist. The Great Danes Country Inn is a Licensed Guest House. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Superb family run venue ,contrary to what I'd read on ta I thought I would chance it,so pleased I did as the food was piping the staff attention to detail amazing and the Batemans sense of humour riotous !,,definitely will be returning well done !

Helpful?
Thank steve f
Carole Gransden B, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review! Could I be cheeky to ask you to put your review on our proper trip advisor page... The Great Danes Country Inn Many thanks More 

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This was one of the poorest stays that I have experienced in the UK. Initial impressions were that it was more like someone's cluttered home with a bar, rather than a pub. The barman/chef/housekeeper appeared to be overwhelmed with his workload. Breakfast was a selection of cereals and "breakfast biscuits" and guests were told to help themselves. There was no... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
Carole Gransden B, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this review

The Great Danes Pub does not exist. Great Danes Country Inn is a Licensed Guest House. .nor a pub. Your review is not worth a reply. More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Loved the food and the surroundings but the man serving made several negative and I thought, inappropriate comments. He clearly thinks he's being drily funny but his sense of humour is positively Saharan in its harshness.

Helpful?
Thank TumbleWeed_9
CGransden, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You are correct in your view of the person who served you and he has been told! I am afraid it is his sense of humour which doesn't appeal to all! He is my son and I am trying to curtail his comments to customers. I apologise if he spoilt what seemed otherwise to be... More 

Travellers who viewed The Great Danes Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Great Danes Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pub
Good for
Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Hall Lane | The Great Danes Country Inn, Swaffham, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Swaffham

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Great Danes Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?