We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Great Danes Pub

) #27 of 28 Restaurants in Swaffham ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ ,
Old Hall Lane | The Great Danes Country Inn, Swaffham, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good28%
  • Average0%
  • Poor21%
  • Terrible21%
2 May 2017
“Hotel with no staff and very worn tired room”
11 Sep 2016
“Interesting charging policy”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Old Hall Lane | The Great Danes Country Inn, Swaffham, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

I was very disappointed when staying at hotel that the room we had was at the front overlooking the car park but also that room had wallpaper that was coming off the wall all way around the room. There was also damp showing on bathroom...More

Thank 907rainbow
Reviewed 11 September 2016

I stayed in the B&B. After getting rid of the half dozen or so flies/moths in the room, I had a good night's sleep. Cereals/fruits are free for breakfast. The information pack says you can order a cooked breakfast for £7.50 but I was charged...More

1  Thank Brighton2k
Carole Gransden B, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

The Great Danes Pub does not exist..we are now a Licensed Guest House. . The Tariff you chose was Room only.. A cooked English Breakfast is £7.50..but you had cereals etc..that is £2.50..hence you were charged £10.

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Stopping over in our motorhome, free of charge if a meal I s purchased, otherwise £5. Met By A Very Nice Owner And His Wife. Both we extremely friendly. Situated in a quaint village v close to large RAF camp, (perfect for plane spotters). Had...More

Thank Linda D
Carole Gransden B, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

This review page should not exist...we are not a Pub..we are a Licensed Guest House. . Please see Great Danes Country Inn. .. Thank you so much...it easy to be nice to nice people...pleased you enjoyed your stay..

Reviewed 21 August 2016

My friend and I went into this country pub for lunch as we had been in before and the wife and husband were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble but this time was a different story. We went in to find the son? Who...More

3  Thank Megan C
Carole Gransden B, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Great Danes Pub does not exist... It is a Licensed Guest House. . Think you have the wrong establishment! We are not open at lunchtime ..

Reviewed 30 December 2015

Very enjoyable stay with good food and excellent accommodation. Made to feel very welcome with our two dogs.

Thank anneizze
Carole Gransden B, Guest Relations Manager at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

The Great Danes Pub does not exist..we are a Licensed Guest House. .The Great Danes Country Inn. .. Thank you for your very kind review. .

Reviewed 23 September 2015

Our room was dated, I believe some have been modernised, the breakfast is continental but you can pay £7.5 each for full English. There is pretty good parking but nothing to see close bye. You are recommended not to drink the water, they provide bottled...More

Thank William F
Carole Gransden B, Manager at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

The Great Danes Pub does not exist.

Reviewed 7 September 2015

I have visited theis establishment a number of times over many years and have always had good food, friendly service and a pleasant atmosppher. In summer one can look across the village green to the church at the far end. a typical English village scene....More

1  Thank norfolkngoodkl
Carole Gransden B, Guest Relations Manager at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

The Great Danes Pub does not exist. The Great Danes Country Inn is a Licensed Guest House. Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewed 3 June 2015

Great food. Lovely welcoming owners. Found Carol really helpful as we were travelling from Australia and didn't even know the names of Uk supermarkets! Stayed in the carpark for free as an eat in the pub incentive. Loved the area.

Thank Lennongirl57
Carole Gransden B, General Manager at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you.. But the Great Danes Pub does not exist. The Great Danes Country Inn is a Licensed Guest House.

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Superb family run venue ,contrary to what I'd read on ta I thought I would chance it,so pleased I did as the food was piping the staff attention to detail amazing and the Batemans sense of humour riotous !,,definitely will be returning well done !

Thank steve f
Carole Gransden B, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review! Could I be cheeky to ask you to put your review on our proper trip advisor page... The Great Danes Country Inn Many thanks

Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This was one of the poorest stays that I have experienced in the UK. Initial impressions were that it was more like someone's cluttered home with a bar, rather than a pub. The barman/chef/housekeeper appeared to be overwhelmed with his workload. Breakfast was a selection...More

2  Thank Peter G
Carole Gransden B, Owner at The Great Danes Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

The Great Danes Pub does not exist. Great Danes Country Inn is a Licensed Guest House. .nor a pub. Your review is not worth a reply.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bedingfeld Arms
245 reviews
3.58 km away
The Swan
52 reviews
6.65 km away
The Kings Arms Coaching Inn
164 reviews
7.85 km away
Bridget's Cafe
78 reviews
7.87 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oxburgh Hall
756 reviews
3.85 km away
Swaffham Museum
26 reviews
7.84 km away
shabbytatt
23 reviews
7.83 km away
St Peter & St Paul Church
10 reviews
8.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Great Danes Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Pub
Meals
Breakfast
Good for
Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Hall Lane | The Great Danes Country Inn, Swaffham, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Swaffham
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing