We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marmalade's Bistro

5 Church Street, Sheringham NR26 8QR, England
+44 1263 822830
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good27%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“marmalade” (112 reviews)
“pate” (11 reviews)
“bouillabaisse” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 Church Street, Sheringham NR26 8QR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here on the off chance as we hadn't booked and were visiting the area and we're told they were fully booked but we could come back later that evening - for a Tuesday evening this is always a good sign!! Relatively quiet town...More

1  Thank LissaSoph
Sarah C, Owner at Marmalade's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, What a lovely review, thanks so much! It's always best to book, especially at this time of year. Because it's a small quiet town people often think there's no need to call ahead, but there are a limited number of good places to eat...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We came here on a Saturday evening as I had treated my little elderly friend to a day out and decided on an early supper as we had started out early and the last meal we had was brunch so we were ready for it....More

1  Thank cherrypotts
Sarah C, Owner at Marmalade's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed everything and I hope that we will see you again next time you treat yourselves. Sarah

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were lucky to be accommodated without a booking on the evening we walked in speculatively, but I would recommend booking if you can to avoid missing out. Also please do check the opening nights - we would have eaten here two nights in a...More

Thank AlabamaWorley
Sarah C, Owner at Marmalade's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you for your lovely comments. We really are passionate about serving real food so I'm glad you noticed this in our menu and attitude. It's important to us to know where our ingredients come from, buying locally wherever possible and that those ingredients...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a three course meal here on a Wednesday evening and the food was lovely. The service is very good until the last half hour where we had to wait a decent amount of time for the bill and to pay it as the...More

Thank Christel198
Sarah C, Owner at Marmalade's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Christel, Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate your comments. I'm sorry about how long you had to wait to pay your bill. As soon as I noticed this I stepped in to take your payment, but I apologise that I didn't...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very disappointing Food very basic No vegetables with Lamb No trimmings with Steak, mushrooms like rubber Salad lettuce,tomato and half a crab On top of this bill came to £150 for four people Go there if your richMore

5  Thank fred20152017
Sarah C, Owner at Marmalade's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Fred, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us, but I'm afraid I must point out how false many of your points of complaint are. We don’t like having to defend our food like this, but with a slanderous review,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here for 4 nights while on holiday in Sheringham. (it would have been 5, but they are closed on Mondays). It is small restaurant with a cosy, welcoming atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We booked...More

Thank SeaEagle10
Sarah C, Owner at Marmalade's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, It's always lovely when customers return more than once during a holiday as we understand that your evenings on holiday are precious, so thank you for choosing to spend them with us! We were more than happy to be able to accomodate your wife's...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visiting Norfolk once again with some friends on a golfing holiday we got to Sheringham early evening on a Sunday. There are not many places to eat there on a Sunday evening but luckily we had booked as the restaurant was full. The food it...More

Thank Duncanh8
Sarah C, Owner at Marmalade's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Duncan, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, especially such a lovely one! We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed everything and that you had booked as we hate turning people away! I totally agree that the pork...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stumbled across this little bistro by accident last night walking though Sheringham trying to find somewhere to eat. The Bistro was full, but was told there was possibly a table in around 20-30 mins, so we had a stroll in to...More

Thank Steve C
Sarah C, Owner at Marmalade's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Steve, Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We're really happy that you enjoyed everything and hope your second visit was just as good! It's always great to see the same customers more than once in a week! We hope you'll visit...More

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Marmalades keeps getting better and better. First went a year ago and it's gone up a gear since. The food is as good as meals you'd pay twice as much for in norwich or london. slow roast lamb was first class and one of a...More

Thank RJHB34
Sarah C, Owner at Marmalade's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hello, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I'm really happy to hear that we provided the lovely evening you were hoping for. Your comments really mean a lot to us, especially as a repeat customer so I hope it won't be too...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017

Enjoyed a superb pre theatre supper. Every dish was cooked to perfection and delicious. Service was friendly and efficient. We'll be back!More

Thank Margaret T
Sarah C, Owner at Marmalade's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Hello Margaret, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, especially such a lovely one. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your food and service. I hope you had a lovely evening at the theatre and we look forward...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bank
487 reviews
.02 km away
The Sitting Room
172 reviews
.06 km away
The Sheringham Trawler
477 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Norfolk Railway
1,251 reviews
.25 km away
Sheringham Park
518 reviews
.56 km away
Sheringham Beach
417 reviews
.24 km away
The Mo, Sheringham Museum
158 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Julie T
24 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from BBM37 | Property representative |
Sorry we are having a few problems but you can email us from our website Marmalades Bistro or call on 07469772911
0
Votes
crackermean
9 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from BBM37 | Property representative |
Hi we still have Marmalades bistro although we are up for sale we have not sold yet.Hope you are both well Ben & Jules
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 19 - US$ 26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
18:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
18:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
18:00 - 20:30
Thursday
18:00 - 20:30
Friday
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Church Street, Sheringham NR26 8QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Sheringham
  • Phone Number: +44 1263 822830
  • E-mail
Description
Marmalade's is a small, charming, husband and wife run restaurant in a beautiful seaside town. Perfect for romantic meals, special occasions and family gatherings. The food is homely, yet elegant and the wine list is extensive with something special to suit all budgets. Marmalade's is available for private hire and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. If you have any questions or special requirements then don't hesitate to ask our friendly team.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing