We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
28 Coondoo Street, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
+61 7 4093 9939
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 428: English reviews
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

was looking forward to a nice lunch in Kuranda and picked this place cause it looked nice. its a shame but the food wasn't nice at all - when we showed the management they didn't really care. we had four meals cost of $120 and all were bad. was disappointed and left a bad taste in your mouth. would of... More 

Helpful?
Thank LyndaJohn M
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in here for some lunch after having a lovely day in Kuranda. Bad choice. We looked at a few different restaurants however we chose this one based on the lovely view of the rainforest. We weren't too hungry so we all chose something reasonably light from the menu (and cheap, so we thought). The service was average and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keana R
California
Level Contributor
410 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The storefront of this restaurant doesn't give way to the view off the back patio into the rainforest. A small glimpse of what the surrounding area is like. We shared a local plate of crocodile and kangaroo with mashed potatoes. It went nice with a moscato wine. Price:AUS$48

Helpful?
Thank DERtravels
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Second rate food, decor and service. Disinterested and argumentative management. Avoid this dive at all costs.

Helpful?
1 Thank BrianDono
Ray G, Manager at Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy our food, decor and service as much as the majority of our customer! Obviously every individual perception is different and we do have a fantastic view and proud of our restaurant as well as our divers menu. We are offering meals from our extensive (Hot & Cold) with a large selection of... More 

Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Oh my gosh, we had a brilliant experience. I can't believe the bad reviews. We arrived bang on lunchtime, in the pouring rain when everyone wanted to escape the weather, when the restaurant had three or four big bookings that they were already waiting for. However, our group of five (age range 8 yrs to 78 yrs!) were seated in... More 

Helpful?
Thank EmmaF2106
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

It starts with horrible tap water, even the water on the toilets tasted better. The food was below average, quite boring burgers, untasty chips. The service was quite unfriendly. Only positive thing was the nice view/location.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nils R
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Waited over an hour with small children at the table to be sever raw chips. Extremely poor attitude from the staff. Come here at your own risk.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Initially it seemed like a great place. Table by the balcony with a view to the rain forest -actually looked like a bunch of trees. Then we ordered and the meals arrived. The kids meal (photo) looked like it had been reheated and reheated and reheated. Not one family member enjoyed their meal. Then while my husband was paying for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
Ray G, Manager at Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant, responded to this review

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your experience at our place. In regard to our rainforest view, obviously every individual perception is different and we do have a fantastic view. We make our food to order and do not need to reheat as you mentioned in your review. We are a busy restaurant and cater over 2500 people... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

The advertising on the sandwich board outside this restaurant (please see photo) is complete misrepresentation! Nothing that is claimed was true in our experience. A place to avoid.

Helpful?
1 Thank Warren D
Warriewood
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Avoid this place, has all the right settings for a restaurant BUT after being seated and be told water over there get it, that great service. Ordered a simple cheese burger $13.95 then had to order a side of chips $4.95 when delivered the 6 chips were just on the plate. Burger was dry and tasteless, and had a piece... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Farri N, Manager at Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant, responded to this review

it is a shame that you did not enjoy your time at our restaurant. Although we make everything fresh including our beef patty which is hormone-free. We pride ourselves with our fresh restaurant quality meals which are made to order. Our extensive menu has been created over 21 years of experience serving a wide range of guests from all over... More 

Travellers who viewed Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant also viewed

 
Kuranda, Queensland
 

Been to Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Australian
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28 Coondoo Street, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Kuranda
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4093 9939

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kuranda Rainforest View Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?