We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Awarded Best Hotel of the Year 2017, Best Re-Developed under $2m 2017 and Best Outdoor Non-Enclosed Area 2017 by the QHA, the Grand View Hotel is not slowing down! The Grand View offers a restaurant, modern gaming, full TAB facilities, beer garden, courtyard as well as private and public function areas. All enquiries are welcome.
PRICE RANGE
US$ 8 - US$ 27
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, International
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
183
114
31
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
183
114
31
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pork belly coleslaw buddha bowl calamari bread beer garden pub food beautiful pub dining area staff were very helpful cold beer cooked to perfection great meal a tad friendly service grandview
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

Went here on a Saturday night for a booking that I had made for dinner with my friends, they would not let us in as we were not 18 they told us to leave, this is a restaurant and you do not have to be...18 to go, if so they should have informed us before confirming the booking. Very rude security, I then had to cancel my booking because they would not let us in.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Caity, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Tim, Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. As we are a licensed premises we must comply with Queensland Government rules and regulations which can be found here: www.business.qld.gov.au/industries/hospitality-tourism-sport/liquor-gaming/liquor/compliance/minors/exemptions. Furthermore, all staff of licensed premises (including bar staff, contracted security, bottle shop...More

Reviewed 14 January 2021

Eight of us booked and have dined here a few times in the past. Seriously went down hill and woudnt go back which is a shame. One of the starters had off salad which smelt like a garbage bin, the chicken was undercooked and tasteless...and the meat was not cooked as per everyone's requirements. The meals were also cold and yuk to be honest.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Caity, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Douglas, Thanks for submitting your feedback. We're so disappointed to hear about your dining experience and can assure you this is not up to our normal high-quality standard. We will make sure this feedback is passed through to our team to discuss internally. Thanks...More

Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

Could not fault anything. Service was excellent our waitress Sarah and gave the best recommendations and had a great sense of humour. The pork belly salad was amazing. Big serving sizes with excellent quality. Clean and friendly atmosphere.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Caity, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the amazing review, Emily! Nice choice on the pork belly salad - it's one of our crowd favourites. Hope to see you at the GVH again soon. Cheers, GVH

Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

We had lunch today at the grand view hotel. The service by Peter was exceptional from when we walked in the door. I had the seafood marinara gnocchi and my husband had a steak. The meals were both perfect. Plenty of great quality seafood and...the steak was cooked just right. Pity we arent staying in Bowen longer as I would eat there again tomorrow.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Grand View Hotel Bowen, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

Thanks for submitting your review, Lisa! We're so thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at the GVH. P.S we'll pass on your shoutout to Peter. Hope to see you back in Bowen again soon. Cheers, GVH

Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

Hands down the best Crispy Pork Belly Salad ever. Kudos to the chef. Hubby had chicken seasational and he thoroughly enjoyed the very generous serving and recommends this dish.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Grand View Hotel Bowen, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2021

Thanks, Debbie! Two great dishes from our menu - we'll have to pass on your feedback to the team in the kitchen. Hope to see you back at the GVH again soon. Cheers, GVH

Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

Stopped in for dinner. Staff were really efficient and friendly from the front door, to the bar and to the restaurant. Professional, and friendly without being in your face!! Each and every one we had contact with was of the same ilk. Ordered our food,...could have had advice from staff. Meals came out in a timely and efficient manner, were presented beautifully and were thoroughly delicious!! Never eaten here before, but will return again and again if this is the norm!! Flavours and textures were delectable!!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Grand View Hotel Bowen, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2020

Thanks for stopping in! We're so glad you enjoyed your meal. Looking forward to hosting you again soon. Cheers, GVH

Reviewed 14 December 2020

On a recent visit to Bowen we had dinner here, firstly had a drink in their beer garden one of the most comfortable beer g gardens I have never visited, we then went into the dining room to eat. Food was great and the wait...staff were all very helpful, I would highly recommend eating hereMore

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Grand View Hotel Bowen, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2020

Glad you took the opportunity to visit us Marlene! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, GVH

Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

A recent revisit has confirmed the Grandview is an amazing hotel with many choices of areas to eat, drink and be merry. Food is excellent and a good size menu. Wine, spirits and beers for all tastes.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Grand View Hotel Bowen, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, Richo! So thrilled that you enjoyed the food too. Cheers, GVH

Reviewed 17 November 2020 via mobile

While in Bowen, I had dinner at the Grand View Hotel: very covid aware staff controlling entry. Medium-rare porterhouse steak was very tender and tasty: with sides of coleslaw and veggies, it was a great meal. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Grand View Hotel Bowen, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Amazing, thanks Jamie! Can't beat a perfectly cooked steak. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, GVH

Reviewed 16 November 2020

Was driving through Bowen so though I'd find a nice pub for lunch. There was nice outlook from the pub and it was nice on the inside. Was surprised the Friday lunch 'special' was a $30 crumbed steak - decided to have a crack at...it and was expecting big things (I've eaten a few crumbed steaks out west in my time and it'd wanna be bloody good for that price....) Problem is it never arrived, I waited patiently for over half an hour then noticed patrons who came in after me receiving their meals so I followed up with the kitchen staff – ‘um, the order got missed’ excuse and casualness of kitchen staff didn’t cut it for me so I requested a refund and left disappointed. It appears that is definitely hit and miss, I missed out on this occasion – I hope you have a better experience.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Grand View Hotel Bowen, Marketing at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

We're so sorry to learn about your experience! We can assure you that this is a one-off and will be raised internally to ensure it never happens again. Cheers, GVH

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Port Denison Motor Inn
100 reviews
.24 km away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
298 reviews
.61 km away
Bluewater Harbour Serviced Apartments
18 reviews
1.19 km away
The Pearly Shell Motel
47 reviews
1.54 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Jochheims Pies
199 reviews
.14 km away
Birds Fish Bar - Bowen Fishermans Seafood Company PTY. LTD.
172 reviews
.85 km away
Bowen Hotel
52 reviews
.44 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Horseshoe Bay
314 reviews
4.07 km away
Horseshoe Bay Rotary Lookout
137 reviews
3.75 km away
Summergarden Theatre
57 reviews
4.81 km away
Grays Bay
41 reviews
3.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Michael B
14 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Outandabout1208 | Reviewed this property |
Good tasty Aussie food- steaks and seafood.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing