We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant

The Street | Bramber, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
+44 1903 879494
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good27%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“pork” (19 reviews)
“roast meats” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
DETAILS
The Street | Bramber, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We went to the restaurant for the first time today to meet ssome friends from East Sussex for lunch - we live on Hayling Island and Bramber is about half way. What an excellent choice! There were lots of different choices for starters, main course...More

Thank raehay
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you raehay for your positive feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch and that you were well looked after by friendly staff. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon. kind regards

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Spent a night here taking advantage of the dinner bed and breakfast package. Checked in on Friday afternoon and we're quite surprised by the room. We had been allocated the four poster to with a jacuzzi bath actually in the room. Nice surprise! Dinner was...More

Thank Sarah K
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sarah K Thank you for your feedback. We do take our guests comments seriously and I will pass your comments to all my head of departments to address the issues that you have raised. kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to hold Dads 70th Birthday at The Old Tollgate because as always there was a great choice for starters all fresh and delicious. A vast array for main the only negative I heard from our guest was auntie net said she had too...More

Thank dianasaine
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you dianasaine for your 5* review. I will pass your comments to all of my team. kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for carvery at 4.pm. Not many people there. We were seated ok and were given our drinks we had ordered. We waited for the Waiter to return to tell us what to do. He didn't so we thought we'd just go up to the...More

1  Thank MaureenSussex
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear MaureenSussex I am sorry to read that your were disappointed following your recent dining experience. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss further. kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the cervery dinner with all the trimmings. There are great starters to choose from including a variety of fish and salads. The main thing is the meat selection which includes beef, turkey, ham and roast pork. There's a good selection of sides including...More

Thank Terri H
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Terri H for taking the time to post your 5* review. kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Am told, brunch on the weekend here was impossible unless you had made reservations ahead. Well, we were here for high tea and I had the best scones. It's not too hard yet crumbly soft. They also have gluten free options. Was a lovely time!

Thank Teck T
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Teck T I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. Please come again soon. kind regards

Reviewed 23 April 2017

We had a lovely car very lunch this Sunday at The Old Tollgate. Efficient, polite but non-intrusive service. It is a set price of £22.50 for a three course lunch on Sunday but given the quality band the choiceof food that works out as excellent...More

Thank Martine W
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Martine W for posting your review - I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us here at The Old Tollgate. kind regards

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Carvery which was superb Best roasts and vegetables well cooked and delicious Restaurant is very busy ensure you book Can recommend this restaurant 100%

Thank Valerinagirl
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valerinagirl Thank you for your 5* review. Hope to see you again soon. kind regards

Reviewed 17 April 2017

We had booked for the secind sitting but needed to sit patiently for 50 minutes, as the table before us (who had been given their bill when we arrived) chose to sit and chat. When we were seated the food variety was excellent. We had...More

Thank brett d
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear brett d I am so sorry to read that you had to wait before seating in the restaurant, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience I am delighted that you enjoyed both the food and service. kind regards

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Go a few times a month, always have a great meal. If you enjoy having little bits of everything then this is heaven. The choice of starters is fantastic and for the main meal it is not your usual roasted meat only option, there are...More

Thank Potteriesgirl
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Potterisgirl for taking the time to post your 5* review. kind regards

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Rising Sun
33 reviews
.75 km away
Steyning Tea Rooms
479 reviews
1.38 km away
The Castle Inn Hotel
163 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bramber Castle
97 reviews
.58 km away
South Downs Way National Trail
41 reviews
1.14 km away
Coombes Farm
51 reviews
2.40 km away
Shoreham Airport Visitor Centre
169 reviews
5.67 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Thobur
How many vouchers can we use as a party of four?
19 March 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Maggie P | Property representative |
You only need one voucher per table.
0
Votes
Lisa N
How much is the meal
27 May 2016|
Answer Show all 11 answers
Response from macrandolph | Reviewed this property |
Hi - it depends entirely on when you are dining e.g. lunch, dinner,etc.), and also on what you are eating. So, to answer your question, it's variable. However, in order to help you along a bit, you can see all the different... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 16 - US$ 41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street | Bramber, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Bramber
  • Phone Number: +44 1903 879494
Description
Commonly described as a visual á la carte, our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers an amazing choice of locally sourced, seasonal food. For starters we have delicious homemade soups, a variety of hot appetisers and our famous hors d’oeuvres selection including wonderful smoked fish.For main course choose as much as you like from beautifully cooked joints of meat and tasty hot dishes including fish, casseroles, pies and vegetarian options.In addition to daily Rib of Beef, Chef will select from the following succulent roasts:Lamb, Roast Pork with Crackling, Honey Roasted Gammon, Turkey Crown, Chicken, Duckling , Game and more.To compliment your chosen dishes there is always a great choice of freshly steamed or roasted vegetables on offer which are constantly being replenished to maximise their texture and flavour. Everyone's favourite is Yorkshire pudding cooked to perfection, plus our delicious sauces, gravies and oven-baked stuffing. Don’t forget to make room for one of our delicious hot or cold puddings. You can try a little of as many of them as you like! If you prefer you can choose cheese and biscuits with juicy grapes and celery which is offered complimentary within any two and three course menu option.