We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 18/01
20:00
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Contactless payment
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (1,683)
Filter reviews
1,681 results
Traveller rating
949
416
183
82
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
949
416
183
82
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters lemon tart smoked cod superfood salad bream crab cockles steak bread pork sandwich potatoes ice cream fries north norfolk coastal path car park
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend recommended we try this restaurant and my wife and l were not disappointed. We had lunch in the conservatory at the rear of the restaurant, which overlooked the salt marshes which was spectacular. The choice of food was fantastic, especially the fresh seafood....I ended up having a whole lobster which was truly outstanding. Can’t wait to visit againMore

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you had a great time and enjoyed the seafood and the picture perfect views. We cannot wait to get back up and running so we can welcome you back again. Kind Regards Rob

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved our evening meal! The food was delicious, service was impeccable and the atmosphere was just absolutely lovely as usual. Thank you to everyone this evening, we had such a wonderful time and can’t wait to come visit again (when we can). Wishing you...all a Very Merry Christmas.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted that you had a great time and were well looked after. Merry Christmas to you. Kind Regards Rob

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for lunch Saturday 19th Dec whilst staying in Titchwell for our wedding anniversary. We’ve wanted to try here for many a year and finally got round to visiting and only wish we’d have visited before as we loved it! From the minute we...walked in the door till departing service was impeccable and the food amazing. We can’t fault any aspect of our visit! Couldn’t look too far past the mussels being in Brancaster, they didn’t disappoint and were the best I’ve ever had! Accompanied with a bottle of the house white, which again was great! Restaurant got wind it was our anniversary so as a great surprise brought out a fantastic little treat for us! The table and view was an amazing setting! We are fortunate not to live to far from here and can’t wait to go back and follow what will hopefully be our first of many visits! A huge thank you to all the staff and team at the white horse for a lovely lunch! One final word, in these current times I feel a review has to cover the COVID setup/arrangements.... we couldn’t have felt safer and all staff and fellow diners followed the great precautions the restaurant has made.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am delighted that you had a great time and were well looked after. Come back and see us again soon. Kind Regards Rob

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The White Horse is my favourite pub. We’ve been a few times now, driving 90 minutes from home for a meal will tell you that it’s worth it. This weekend we stayed in on of the garden rooms which was just wonderful and I fully...recommend, especially if you like to walk or have dogs. The meals in the restaurant were fabulous. I had the chowder to start which was hearty and tasty. The seafood linguini for main course which was packed with seafood and flavour. The lemon tart for dessert was tangy and refreshing. The breakfast of Benedicts Royale was delicious and filling. The smoked salmon was so good and the eggs were rich gold perfection. No pictures of the food because I was too consumed with devouring it! Fantastic attentive and friendly staff as always.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted that you had a good stay and were well looked after. I will pass on your kind comments to my team Kind Regards Rob

Reviewed 8 December 2020 via mobile

We came here for lunch post second lockdown in early December and it was lovely. We had a window table with a nice view. It was a bit of a rainy day but still good to be out for lunch and felt safe. We had...starters and mains and it was all really nice, good sized portions and worth the money. It didn’t seem busy, track and trace scanning in place and everyone was wearing masks apart from when eating. Friendly staff and we would return.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2020

Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted that you had a great time and were well looked after. Come and see us again soon. Kind Regards Rob

Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

Booked a table for lunch, for two people as a treat before the 2nd lockdown. Have visited the restaurant in the past , so was looking forward to a nice meal. Unfortunately, this wasn’t to be . Opted for a crab starter , which was...nice and well presented. Then as a treat , we both opted for the seafood linguine . The plates arrived , and both looked completely different. My partners linguine had quite a large amount of bisque sauce , while mine was absent . We called the waitress who was very apologetic and returned the dish to be rectified. I can’t say this was a good dish , we both found the dish lacking flavour and seemed to just taste like cream smothered on the pasta . I’m not sure if we just visited on an off day ,but this seafood linguine was not up to the price and standard expected . Wasn’t looking for a refund or a deduction off the bill , but this was not even offered by staff. Waitress seemed quite keen to get the bill settled and that was that .Not a good experience for us .More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am disappointed to read that you were underwhelmed with your seafood linguine, your feedback is very important to us as it helps us in our ultimate goal which is to make people happy. Please...More

Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

Myself and my husband booked a table here for lunch for Wednesday 4th November, so the day before England was going into a 4 week lockdown. We were greatly warmly, as we had arrived slightly early for our table we were able to sit at...a table close to the bar and have a drink whilst looking at the menu. The lady apologised (sorry didn’t get her name but think she was maybe the manager). We explained it wasn’t a problem at all as we were early but had plenty of time. Once shown to our table (next to a lovely warm radiator) we admired to views over the salt marshes. It’s got such lovely views. Our waiter Ilja was just delightful and very attentive. For starters we shared the lovely warm sourdough and the spiced cauliflower. For mains I had the fancy sausage and mash and my husband had the seafood linguine - both meals were delicious. The restaurant has a lovely feel to it. All the staff were working hard and it did not appear to let the fact that lockdown 2 was the following day. So credit to them. I was a bit dubious about our visit having read a few negative reviews but there was no need to. This place was one of our favourite during our stay in North Norfolk for the week. Thank you.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am so pleased that you were well looked after by my team and you had a great time. Come and see us again soon. Kind Regards Rob

Reviewed 8 November 2020

We booked for lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were very spoilt! We had the best table, with a lovely view and were given a card and two glasses of Prosecco! Lunch was beyond excellent and the staff completely delightful. The White Horse just...never lets us down - highly recommended!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you for your lovey review, I am delighted that you had a great time celebrating your wedding anniversary with us. Come and see us again soon. Kind Regards Rob

Reviewed 5 November 2020

Fourth visit to the Marshside side restaurant, well worth it. You can't make a reservation. Very interesting menu, the Mussels are to die for. Fantastic staff, always helpful and the view is amazing, I did notice yesterday that there was a fan heating system installed

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review, We cannot wait to welcome you back. Kind Regards Rob

Reviewed 4 November 2020

We visited on 3rd November for lunch to celebrate my wife’s birthday On arrival we were given a complimentary birthday ay drink and card along with a birthday cake after the meal We had a 3 course meal that we could not fault and with...a fantastic restaurant view and friendly helpful staff I would definitely recommend a visit. We will most certainly be returningMore

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
RobWilliamson1, General Manager at The White Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review, We are delighted that your wife had a great time and was spoilt on her birthday. We cannot wait to see you again. Kind Regards Rob

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Hoste
1,875 reviews
3.80 km away
Vine House Boutique Hotel
12 reviews
3.82 km away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
1,081 reviews
4.05 km away
Briarfields Hotel
598 reviews
4.24 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Deepdale Cafe
568 reviews
.34 km away
The Crab Hut
208 reviews
.81 km away
The Ship Hotel Restaurant
623 reviews
2.74 km away
Socius
504 reviews
3.88 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The One Stop Nature Shop
35 reviews
.08 km away
Branta Cruises
40 reviews
.23 km away
Dalegate Market
80 reviews
.33 km away
Deepdale Visitor Information Centre
20 reviews
.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Paradise51224327502
3 October 2020|
Answer
Response from RobWilliamson1 | Property representative |
Please call reception on 01485 210262
0
Votes
finterjohn
6 February 2020|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from RobWilliamson1 | Property representative |
Hi, We do serve Sunday roast, when booking if you enquire as to what meat will be served on that given day, Kind Regards Rob
0
Votes
pamscott2005
31 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RobWilliamson1 | Property representative |
Hi, Yes we allow them in the bar, and also in 8 of our 15 rooms.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing