We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hoste Restaurant

) #5 of 7 Restaurants in Burnham Market ₹₹₹₹ , British,
14 Market Place | c/o The Hoste Hotel, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England
+44 1328 738777
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good21%
  • Average20%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (24 reviews)
“sea bass” (21 reviews)
“risotto” (10 reviews)
Open Now
07:30 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
14 Market Place | c/o The Hoste Hotel, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Well, we were looking forward to our birthday meal, having been here several times over the last few years. What a disappointment - we asked for a rose champagne but a white was served. My husbands meal was cold - so we had to send...More

5  Thank mistletoefairy
Reviewed 6 days ago

Plenty of room to sit and have coffee, the dog was not excluded anywhere in this lovely Inn. With the coffee came a plate of homemade cookies, delicious.

Thank TeresaDee270555
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our meal was OK, but there is competition in town now and its making The Hoste look a little tired and outdated. I like the bar area but £14 for a crab sandwich in a bar.......

3  Thank Wanderersmelody
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Two stars as it is still a great bar and a great location. Loses the rest for largely indifferent staff and overpriced, average food. Been going there for thirty years and still will for a wherry out the front. Will eat elsewhere

4  Thank sevenf
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had, had a fantastic day at the coast and wanted something to eat on our way home so we stopped in here as we passed. I've had dinner at the Hoste previously but had not been in a while so thought I would have...More

Thank david g
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in for morning coffee ended up having lunch. Chatty nice staff great place will stay next time for sure.

Thank Ccowdary
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had light lunch with a friend. Took a while to get our menus. Choice was good and varied. A bit pretentious and expensive for what we had. Coffee was good. Service was mediocre, one lady seemed to be doing all the work.

1  Thank cleowood
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic thank-you, we had had a girls pamper afternoon, for Mum's 80th, then were joined by other family members for afternoon tea...BEAUTIFUL food, delicious range of teas and coffee. Very attentive, but not intrusive staff.....highly recommend it to anyone.More

Thank Becca C
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Becca C Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you visited The Hoste for Beauty Spa Treatments and afternoon tea for your mother’s birthday and you had a fantastic time. We always like to make an extra effort when guests are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had sandwiches and two bottles of wine, service was poor and it was very expensive, this used to be a fantastic place are they surviving on old reputationMore

2  Thank KayTaylor
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kay Taylor, Thank you for your review. You do not mention where you were sitting, however, we offer full table service throughout the hotel with the exception of the traditional bar area. The staff work incredibly hard to ensure every guest who visits the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the railway house this time with our dog. We have stayed at the Hoste Arms many time trying lots of the rooms. Our stay on Saturday was spoilt by one of the worst evening meals we have ever had, my husbands soup...More

3  Thank Rhona B
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Rhona B Thank you for your review. I am pleased you decided to revisit The Hoste and you were able to stay with your dog at Railway House hotel which is situated just a 10-minute walk through the village of Burnham Market, one of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Crown
215 reviews
.18 km away
20 North Street Cafe & Bistro
56 reviews
.19 km away
Foyers Tea Rooms
55 reviews
.18 km away
Crown Inn
18 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mable's Paint Pot
7 reviews
.55 km away
The Lord Nelson
52 reviews
2.24 km away
Dalegate Market
54 reviews
3.51 km away
Brancaster Bay
156 reviews
6.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
140carolineo
17 July 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Suchard12 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I don't know. Thanks for asking but I'm not a local All the best
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 18
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Buffet
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 23:00
Monday
07:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 23:00
Thursday
07:30 - 23:00
Friday
07:30 - 23:00
Saturday
07:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Market Place | c/o The Hoste Hotel, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England
  • Public Transportation: Burnham Market is on the Coast Hopper Bus route.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Burnham Market
  • Phone Number: +44 1328 738777
  • E-mail
Description
Book a romantic dinner in the restaurant at The Hoste Hotel, where the Chefs create dishes that owe much to locally sourced produce, not least a great selection of local seafood from the nearby coast. We have a high quality, informal, relaxed atmosphere with very friendly and efficient staff. The imaginative menu is complimented by a 200-bin wine list that includes some keenly priced classics.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing