We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castle

Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
+44 1433 620578
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good30%
  • Average14%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“salmon” (14 reviews)
“fish and chips” (17 reviews)
“pies” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely little village, nice pub but very average food. We had the cheese duo for starters and the breaded brie wasn't even melted through. Then had sandwiches for main and they were both served in dry ciabattas which were not great and lacking in filling....More

Thank Ben S
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest review, we take comments on board so we can improve.

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We were very very disappointed by the food served to us on Sun 2nd Sept. As a family of 4 we ordered 3 adults meals (a Hunters’ Chicken, a burger and a steak pie) and a children’s roast. After an horrendous wait of around 45...More

Thank Rachel A
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Rachel, we are extremely disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable visit and we apologise for the standards of food you received. We will certainly be investigating why on this occasion you did not...More

Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Had a meal here and the staff couldn't do enough for us, the meals were superb, our grandson aged 2 ate all, and wandered about staff very good with him, granddaughter are all hers too, beer varied and tasty thankyou

Thank jobirkin
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that the while family enjoy their visit. See you again soon!

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Booked here for Sunday lunch and arrived ten minutes early. No one to show us to table so collared a waitress. Waited at table for 15 minutes and collared a waitress. Waited an hour for main course then collared a waiter to complain. Food arrived...More

Thank AJB728
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and we will certainly investigate the issues raised by yourself. If you would like to discuss your experience any further please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Reviewed 1 September 2018

You'd think that a restaurant with a huge A board out the front stating "Relaxing Garden Lunch" would do garden lunches, wouldn't you? Well the Castle Hotel doesn't! The staff attitude toward us was at best indifferent. We sat outside at a table for 7...More

Thank Mark C
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your comments Mark. Unfortunately when you visited we had just experience some rain in the morning which makes our garden steps slippy. We do not want to risk any of our team slipping and therefore is it sometimes unavoidable to close the...More

Reviewed 31 August 2018

Previously, all the meals we have eaten at the Castle have been very nice, and it used to be our go-to place in Castleton (living locally). HOWEVER...…...on this occasion it just fell short of our expectations. We sat outside because it was a lovely day,...More

Thank janetwalls2017
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for the feedback. We will pass onto our kitchen team to investigate what went wrong when you visited us. Hope to see you back for another chance for us to hopefully get things right.

Reviewed 29 August 2018

Brought my daughter and her Australian boyfriend here for lunch. The Chicken BLT sandwich was very dry and lacked ingredients, my daughter's Ham & Cheese melt contained a miserly amount of ham and the inside had been burned. My cheese and salad sandwich was also...More

Thank Andrew C
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for the feedback Andrew, we apologise that the food on this occasion was not up to our usual standards and we will certainly investigate to see where we went wrong. If you would like to discuss in more detail please do not hesitate...More

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay at The Castle. The rooms are comfortable with plenty of pillows and fluffy towels. The rooms could do with a freshen up but are neat and well serviced. The staff and management make you feel comfortable from breakfast to...More

Thank Clare P
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you Clare, for this lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team were able to make your visit extra special! See you again soon.

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

One of my favourites in the village, really good atmosphere, great selection of drinks, great food menu and live music makes it all the better.

Thank ROBERT H
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thanks for the great review, Robert!

Reviewed 27 August 2018

This was the first establishment we tried in Castleton as it is a chain I have used in Ipswich but the food was as good as we expected the service was poor and we believe that this was not the norm so give this establishment...More

Thank ASL2505
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for the great review! We are sorry that service let you down but please be assured this is not our usual standard. See you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
392 reviews
.02 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
1,192 reviews
2.56 km away
The Barrel Inn
199 reviews
7.11 km away
George Hotel
430 reviews
8.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tilly's Of Castleton
327 reviews
.13 km away
The Ramblers Rest
143 reviews
.15 km away
1530
537 reviews
.02 km away
Ye Olde Nags Head
806 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Peak Mountaineering Day Tours
476 reviews
.19 km away
Treak Cliff Cavern
598 reviews
1.40 km away
Castleton Walk
102 reviews
1.01 km away
Peak Cavern
612 reviews
.27 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Castle staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Castleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 620578
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Castle - Castleton offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing