We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Loft

78A King Street, Belper DE56 1QA, England
+44 1773 827188
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
78A King Street, Belper DE56 1QA, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Never been before and only decided to go after being told The Loft is worth a visit, what can I say the place is superb starting with the welcome and finishing with a superb meal that I cannot praise highly enough. If your in the...More

1  Thank Andy M
Craig T, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for kind review. We are pleased you had a great experience at The Loft and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Saturday was our first visit to The Loft, it definitely will not be the last ! From the moment we arrived we were looked after by such attentive staff. We wanted somewhere special to have a meal with our grandson and his girlfriend on their...More

1  Thank Jetjetbaby
Craig T, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that you and your family had a lovely evening with us and we do hope to see you again soon at The Loft

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

We dined at The Loft on Thursday 20th september and have only good things to say. Friendly attentive staff, great atmosphere and food beautifully cooked and presented. Excellent value for money and a lovely intimate experience all round. Only criticism...I wish they opened for sunday...More

1  Thank Mark S
Craig T, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we are all pleased that you have enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon at The Loft

Reviewed 16 September 2018

I arrived at The Loft on having made a booking for 2 people by telephone on 28.8.18. Unfortunately there was no record of the booking and no free table. These things happen and I accept that. What was unacceptable was the manner and attitude of...More

2  Thank Lizzy61_9
Craig T, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can understand your frustrations at not being able to dine with us on the evening in question. I was made aware of the situation on the night, and unfortunately we were fully booked and...More

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We called here on the off chance that they had a table,after a trip to the adjacent cinema.we were politely told we could be accommodated as long as we could be finished by 8.15.We were brought some olive bread and a shot of gazpacho and...More

1  Thank paulnju
Craig T, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 15 September 2018

We have been twice now and won't go back. The mussels for a starter were served in dish water not wine sauce as described, everything was really salty, very little sauce on the mains and the chocolate tart dessert was like something from a packet...More

1  Thank Emattb9
Craig T, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do like to know what our customers feel about their experience. Firstly, I'm not quite sure what the title of this review is indeed supposed to imply? No where in your review have you...More

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We have been to The Loft on several occasions and each time the standard and quality of food is outstanding, today was no exception, we had the three course lunch for £19 amd it was faultless. Sometimes the most valuable gems are hidden from site....More

1  Thank Russianblue22
Craig T, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your experience with us and hope to keep seeing you at The Loft in the future

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

You enter this restaurant through an unassuming glazed door off the High St. Up a flight of stairs and into a very small little restaurant, I guess 20 covers max. Friendly polite staff and an attractive environment. Menu is minimal, but real quality. Fantastic pumpkin...More

1  Thank Nicholas K
Craig T, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. The team and I are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon at The Loft

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We finally got round to trying The Loft, after many recommendations from friends and we weren’t disappointed. We ate there on Friday lunchtime and although it was far from busy, it still had a great atmosphere with just the right level of background music. The...More

1  Thank alangP8461PD
Craig T, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for your kind review. The team and I are pleases you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely restaurant, small and cozy. Good decor, excellent menu, attentive staff and the food was excellent all for a reasonable price. Would definitely go again.

1  Thank Carole H
Craig T, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable experience with us and hope to see you again soon at The Loft

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Lion Hotel
481 reviews
.36 km away
Makeney Hall Hotel
1,185 reviews
2.86 km away
Horsley Lodge
437 reviews
5.45 km away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
770 reviews
6.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Beaurepaire Patisserie
162 reviews
.14 km away
Nonno's Restaurant
574 reviews
.11 km away
King Street Fish Bar
148 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Strutt's North Mill
120 reviews
.80 km away
Belper River Gardens
231 reviews
.83 km away
Chucklebutties Play and Party Centre
179 reviews
.73 km away
Belper Park Local Nature Reserve
13 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bigfozbelper_England
4 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from graham_swift1 | Reviewed this property |
Yes and they offer some nice wines
1
Vote
vwilc0x
9 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 157Benjy | Reviewed this property |
Remembered risotto and vegetable options were offered the day we visited..however as others have said, talk to their helpful staff on the telephone or call in, I am sure they will accommodate your requirements.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78A King Street, Belper DE56 1QA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Belper
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 827188
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing