We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cartmel Coffee

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
| The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
+44 15395 35353
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 326: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My friend and I were only going to have a coffee but the food looked delicious and we were tempted. Was a bit pricy for sandwiches but worth it as we felt plenty in them and the salad was nice too.

Helpful?
Thank DenRamsden
Preston
Level Contributor
276 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stunning cakes and friendly service. Everything you want in a coffee shop. They sell some guides to walks around the area too.

Helpful?
Thank cel_longridge
lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had breakfast here on saturday it was very good, i had boiled egg and my hubby had eggs with smoked salmon, coffee was good as well.

Helpful?
Thank LancashireToni
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pop in here for lunch bank holiday Monday it wasn't too busy however seemed to wait a age for our order. Food eventually came and was adequate however £19 For two sandwich and coffee was far too expensive

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
CartmelCoffee, Owner at Cartmel Coffee, responded to this review

Hi Michael. Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you feel you didn't get value for money during your visit to us. However, all our prices are clearly stated on our menus so that people can make a choice to purchase our food or to go elsewhere. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Kind... More 

CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location and fantastic service. Cakes are excellent. Outside seating is a bit on the road but at least in the sun.

Helpful?
Thank JJDOWNES
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Never met a manager as rude in my life. She couldn't deal with having a couple of orders to take. When we discussed the poor service with other local businesses they weren't shocked as they've heard it plenty of times before. Disappointing

Helpful?
Thank Sacha M
CartmelCoffee, Owner at Cartmel Coffee, responded to this review

Thank you for your reveiw. We can only imagine you were with the lady that commented last week and reveiwed us with one star. I can't imagine which 'local' businesses you discussed our service with, but can categorically say it couldn't have been businesses in Cartmel. However, we're sorry you were disappointed with our service. More 

Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Great customer service, warm welcome on arrival. Excellent choice of sandwich filling and cakes. Definitely visit again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura T
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2017

came here for lunch on what had been a lovely day with my daughter. Place looked lovely. Placed our order for 2 soups Owner very abrupt when my daughter placed her order Waited over half an hour Asked if we were anywhere near being served and woman snapped at me saying she was very busy!!!!! Eventually our soup was brought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
CartmelCoffee, Owner at Cartmel Coffee, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We did expect it, given we believe your response to the situation was competely unnecessary. That said having read your reviews of other places you've visited I can't imagine there are many places that would meet your 'standards'. We actually pride ourselves on our professionalism and can only apologise AGAIN for not meeting you standards... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

On the day we were there it was quiet, the staff were very friendly, and the food and drinks were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank tonymcfeely
Haxey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Called in here before our lunch at L'Enclume as we had sometime to wait. Just had cold drinks and a cake but the staff were friendly and the place clean and tidy. Well worthy of a visit if you've time to spare.

Helpful?
Thank Optime_UK

Travellers who viewed Cartmel Coffee also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Cartmel Coffee? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 3 - US$ 9
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Grange-over-Sands  >  Cartmel
  • Phone Number: +44 15395 35353
Description
Cosy, friendly coffee shop in the centre of Cartmel. Serving home made cakes and scones, baked daily on the premises.

We have a limited menu of freshly made sandwiches, a homemade soup of the day, hot 'brunch' menu. Eg smoked salon and scrambled eggs, etc.

We sell take away cakes, sandwiches and our house blend teas and coffees.

We have a selection of paintings by local artists and gifts made by local cottage industries.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cartmel Coffee staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?