We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Mare Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Morass Road, Beckermet CA21 2XS, England
+44 1946 841246
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed two nights in the court yard,the room was lovely,the court yard very pretty with seats and a BBQ. We were disappointed at breakfast as each morning our bacon was cremated,I did say on the first morning but it made no difference,this is how they must like to eat it. Dinner was very good and my started,baked goats cheese... More 

Helpful?
Thank kateellery40
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Delicious food often with an unusual twist which I like. The staf were friendly and welcoming and served with a smile.

Helpful?
Thank Vivienne w
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights in order to climb Scafell Pike. 25 minutes drive from Wasdale head. We arrived late on the Friday and left on Sunday morning. The room was above the pub. Very comfortable double bed with wooden interior throughout. The room was a good size with a very modern bathroom. No noice from the pub heard... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cozuk_traveler
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Could not fault anything at all. The desserts are delicious! So make sure you keep room for one! The food is ell prepared and served too. The waiters/waitresses are happy to help in any way they can with recommendations.

Helpful?
Thank Tiggermum
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a steak which we asked to be well done came pink and cold, it was horrible. Portion size was ok, but was very disappointed when it got changed as portion size was way smaller than the first time.

Helpful?
Thank jamie2431
St Bees, Cumbria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The range and the quality of the food served here is what you would expect in a high priced resultant in a large city not in a little village on the road to the back of beyond in West Cumbria. However the journey is worth it. Portion sizes are generous and if you have been 'yomping' out in the Lake... More 

Helpful?
Thank batwench
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Went for an evening meal, and couldn't fault it one little bit. Food was excellent, hot and tasty. Staff were very friendly. Will certainly be back!

Helpful?
Thank Glen1992
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We have always enjoyed our meals here in the past. The waitress was very pleasant and polite. However, after waiting an unacceptable length of time, we were served burned food, with hard carrots and pale chips. The whole meal looked, as if it had been thrown on the plate. When a neighbouring table complained about their awful food, the owner... More 

Helpful?
Thank nell506
DianneIrving, Owner at The White Mare Restaurant, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had a bad experience with us, however, you do state that you have always enjoyed your meals here in the past. I hope that you will concede that this was a one off bad night which we can all have from time to time. I know the evening you are referring to, however, the... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We had been disappointed not to be able to eat here on the Saturday night (completely full) so came back Sunday for lunch. The service was pleasant and they were happy to accommodate a dog. The Sunday roast was very generous with lots of vegetables and really good value. Disappointing that they didn't have decaffinated coffee or tea. The sticky... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Good pub lunch. Very good service - really helpful waiter. Lovely choice of starters in particular. Caramelised red onion and goats cheese tartin was especially good. Nice place to sit and eat so a really pleasant afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank CarolAnneD

Travellers who viewed The White Mare Restaurant also viewed

 
Gosforth, Lake District
Gosforth, Lake District
 

Been to The White Mare Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Morass Road, Beckermet CA21 2XS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Beckermet
  • Phone Number: +44 1946 841246

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Mare Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?