We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Davenports Tea Room

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bridge Farm, Warrington Rd | Bartington, Northwich, England
+44 1606 853241
Website
Today
10:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 10:00 - 16:00
Wed - Fri 10:00 - 18:00
Sat 09:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 274: English reviews
shropshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Lovely cakes Good sandwiches Fantastic painted murals on wall Friendly staff Plenty of parking Alice in wonderland church is nearby

Helpful?
Thank helen t
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have visited Davenports before and been really impressed with the afternoon tea. However I visited today and the portions were much smaller. We had the combination afternoon tea and although the sandwiches and other savoury elements were lovely we were expected to share two tiny chunks of cheese, one cupcake, one macaroon, and one other cake between two of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
DavenportsNorthwich, Owner at Davenports Tea Room, responded to this review

Due to us altering our range of cakes daily and keeping records, I know exactly which which date and which booking you are referring to. You had one beautifully decorate Katja cup cake, one macaron, one keylime pie and a chocolate and apple dome (all four luxury cakes) on the savoury tier, Pate, 2 pork pies, 2 pieces of cheese,... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I cannot thank Belinda and the team enough for the huge amount of effort they went to to get our afternoon tea right. I came with my Mam, mother in law, 2 sister in laws and 6 month old daughter. We had a complex list of requirements, including vegan, vegetarian, savoury only, a pregnant guest who couldn't eat anything unpasteurised,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seren L
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tried to book in here for Afternoon tea for two and our third friend would be having something from the menu which was to be decided on the day due to allergies etc. The Lady on the phone suggested we cancel the booking as she didn't want 'hangers on' in there!! Went to stretton in the end, just down the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tav A
DavenportsNorthwich, Owner at Davenports Tea Room, responded to this review

We have always prided ourselves on catering for customers with dietary needs for whatever reason, some minor like no mustard on the ham, to some major intolerances, so I really don't know what you mean by your review. As I'm the owner and the supposed lady you refer to, I have absolutely no knowledge of any such conversation. I am... More 

Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

As usual, our son & daughter-in-law struggled to find us something suitable for Christmas. This luxury afternoon tea for two, however, really hit the spot. As a retired couple, we could pick the day that suited us, away from the busy week-ends & the obvious crush of Valentines Day & Mother's Day. On arrival, we were greeted by the welcoming... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie1948
Manchester, Vermont
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bought a 'tea for two' voucher for my friends birthday - due to her having an operation we decided to go when she was fully recovered. I phoned to book a table and told them that 1 of us was vegetarian....I was told we would be served separate plates which was great ! Phoned on Monday to confirm the booking... More 

Helpful?
Thank carole b
Tyldesley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
148 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We called on a whim of my dear wife, and were pleasantly surprised by our find. It is a cosy "Off the beaten track" venue, serving some delicious food. Unfortunately to enjoy an Afternoon Tea, a period of 24 hours notice is required. Having seen the tea's being delivered to other tables, I fully understand why, they are exquisite. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aweighandappy
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2017

We went on our 50th Wedding Anniversary for a Champagne Afternoon Tea. Lovely selection of sandwiches, cakes & warm Scones with clotted cream & jam. Everything was explained to us of what cake it was and where it was sourced etc. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Thankyou so much to all of you.

Helpful?
Thank Pauline O
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017

Belinda was so welcoming, we knew that we were in for a lovely time. We were not disappointed. Amazing selection of tea, we had fun selecting 3 types and Belinda advised us on the type of tea which would suit our individual taste. It was great fun tasting each others tea. .The sandwiches are so good, loved the beef paste,... More 

Helpful?
Thank carol r
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

My Mums 79th birthday - requested a lovely lunch at Davenports, really wasn't anything to recommend, owner curt, food awful and £10 a head for a sandwich - wish we had gone to Nunsmere or the Hollies

Helpful?
1 Thank Lakesdy
DavenportsNorthwich, Owner at Davenports Tea Room, responded to this review

Interesting... Evidence 1: Our menu is online and none of our sandwiches are £10 Evidence 2: Visited Feb, posted 3rd Feb. Easy to prove from the order slips and bookings record that you didn't come in. More 

Travellers who viewed Davenports Tea Room also viewed

 
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Davenports Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 18:00
Thursday
10:00 - 18:00
Friday
10:00 - 18:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Farm, Warrington Rd | Bartington, Northwich, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Northwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1606 853241
Description
An award winning farm shop and tea room, situated in a beautiful countryside location, just off A49 holiday route and close to both the Trent & Mersey Canal and River Weaver. Seating up to 45 within three sections, which are themed around local author Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland, with additional seating within their tea garden. On site a long established florist, a flower and plant nursery, beauty barn, a furniture and gift shop and a small variety of rare breed animals. Thirty-five loose leaf teas and two pages of artisan coffees, delicious home-made cakes and a good selection of delicious home-made light lunches, not to mention the award winning Afternoon Teas they specialise in, all make a visit very special. It can be very busy, therefore booking in advance is highly recommended to avoid disappointment.This establishment operates an in-house customer comment card system and monitors feedback. They respectfully request customers to contact them directly should there be any areas where they could improve.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Davenports Tea Room and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Warrington, United Kingdom
Warrington, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Davenports Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?