We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merlin

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
+44 1625 599959
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (10 reviews)
“sunday roast” (13 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited with old work colleagues for a catch-up, having not been here for a while we were looking forward to it, especially having seen good reviews of late. We left feeling more than a little disappointed, and as per the title of the review,...More

Thank Jamie S
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Jamie S, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I would really like to discuss your feedback in more detail and would appreciate if you could find the time to call The service...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for Sunday brunch at 11am. We were the only customers at the time we arrived and we were not expected. Didn't feel particularly welcoming. We were asked if we would like to sit in the bar or the restaurant. Given that 5 adults had...More

Thank Bev H
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Bev H, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Please accept my apologies that you did not receive the welcome from my team that you should have done. I can assure you that this has been discussed with all of my...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We live in the area so visit here on a regular basis, the last few times we have dined it seems to have gone downhill. Previous visits have included not having Parmesan for pasta and long wait times. Most recently was yesterday's Sunday lunch which...More

Thank whywhywhy10
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Whywhywhy10, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I am keen to discuss your feedback in more detail. If you could contact me...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel we were using had stopped food. We were hungry and this place looked inviting. It was quiet but we were warmly welcomed. The service was friendly helpful and enthusiastic. We had a great meal. We noticed that it was also a hotel and...More

Thank HarrierBristol
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Harrierbristol, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We look forward to your next visit! Warm regards Kim and the team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked last minute one Friday having had to unexpected change our plans for my 50th birthday, so were very pleased to find a table Then we were surprised to find the restaurant rather quiet, but it meant we received excellent service. My man and...More

Thank kategrew
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Kategrew, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Merlin! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you; we are more than happy to help!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely day - people enjoying the ambiance outside. We hadn't booked but no problem we were quickly and pleasantly found a table for two. Inside is nicely divided up into convivial areas with good lighting and décor. The menu is worth a serious discussion -...More

1  Thank PETER S
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Peter S, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care! Kind regards, Leighanna and the team

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch at merlin after a recommendation and was very disappointed. The starters we had were just ok. The potted lobster and King prawn was average, and my girlfriends deep fried brie was just ok. The problem was more with the main courses....More

1  Thank wiltcher27
Manager_TheMerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Wiltcher27, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us this Sunday, but we would like an opportunity to make this up to you. If you are willing, please contact the general...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

I've been to the Merlin countless times over the years, this time three of us went for Friday lunch. While we perused the menu we had complimentary bready snacks which were delicious. I then really enjoyed my chicken, leek and creme fraiche pie which was...More

Thank TheRelfster
Manager_TheMerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Therelfster, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The Merlin. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our team. Thanks again for the recommendation, we look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Popped in here when early for a meeting. Very pleasant staff, good decor and nice garden area. Was popular at 11.40am with a mix of friends, couples and business people. I would be happy to have a business get together here.

Thank Steve_Grant1
Manager_TheMerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Steve_grant1, we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Leighanna and the team

Reviewed 1 September 2017

Greeting very welcoming. From then on down hill. Two dishes sent back only one refunded. It appeared me that there was something amiss, like lack of a chef! They really need to take a look at the service and food. For instance chips undercooked and...More

Thank JoanMcF
General Manager A, Manager at Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Joanmcf, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We would like an opportunity to make this up to you. If you are willing, please contact the manager directly out to us at 01625599959...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Yara Restaurant
332 reviews
1.10 km away
The Botanist
616 reviews
1.04 km away
The Oakwood
224 reviews
1.03 km away
Phanthong Thai
309 reviews
.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Botanist
103 reviews
1.04 km away
Corks Out
39 reviews
1.23 km away
The Drum and Monkey
21 reviews
.90 km away
The Market Co
8 reviews
1.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lws83
27 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rob M | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure, but if you call them they are very helpful. it's a lovely village. The Drum and Monkey did great food and I believe it has a nice outside area (if we ever get any decent weather) good luck
0
Votes
Laura D
7 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Jon B | Property representative |
Hi laura D, Sorry we don't allow dogs into the bar. you are more than welcome to bring your fury friend and sit in our garden, our team will look after you. Kind regards, Jon B
0
Votes
Kerry M
11 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Lauzii | Reviewed this property |
Yes, it has a little bar area too if you're not eating but if you are eating I would book in as it gets busy. It has a nice relaxed vibe about the place too.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 13 - US$ 20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Alderley Edge
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 599959
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing