We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wizard

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK10 4UB, England
+44 1625 584000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (33 reviews)
“roast dinner” (11 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK10 4UB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an old building that has been sympathetically modernised. It is of course mentioned in the Weirdstone of Brisingamen. The food we had was very good - mainly vegetarian, brother had Roast Lamb which looked excellent and was very generous. It is a delightful...More

1  Thank JohnofNewsham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and a couple of friends visited The Wizard today for some lunch as we knew it was somewhere I could bring my small dog. The restaurant itself was dirty and had wet floors including small puddles in places. The food was expensive and very...More

1  Thank milliek98
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped into the Wizard for a quick bite to eat at lunchtime today. They made us feel really welcome, especially our cocker spaniel pup. We ordered the sandwiches with chips and they were enormous - we struggled to finish them. Very tasty. Staff were...More

Thank Charles P
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A pint and a glass of prosecco £11&. Needless to say we only had the one - think you're out pricing yourselves.More

1  Thank fermanda55
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. The prosecco comes out of baby bottles so they are more expensive than a glass, we do not sell enough to warrant serving glasses out of large bottles as we end up throwing away some of it. Also I assume you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here for lunch a few weeks ago. While the food was nice the service was below average - we were initially served quite quickly but after eating about 30 mins had passed and no one had come to clear our (obviously clear) plates we...More

Thank Amy A
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Amy, Thanks for leaving a review. I wish you would have asked for me on the day rather than writing on here. I understand you felt you were not served as best you could be and I apologise for that completely, however if you would...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot recommend Stacey and her team at the Wizard Inn enough for our wedding. We wanted a personal venue with excellent food and a bit of character, and that is what we got. Stacey was superb to deal with, very responsive, flexible and creative....More

Thank Lottie322005
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much! It was an absolute pleasure to help you organise your big day and I wish you both all the luck in the world. Hope you had a fab honeymoon. Don't be a stranger. Stacey

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seven of us had lunch yesterday (4 adults 3 children) and we were looked after very well, especially as some of us went off menu with requests all of which were met. Good food and portions. Thank you very much..

Thank Pietrojovanni
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us a review. It is great so receive positive feedback and we really hope to see you and your family again sometime soon. Kind regards, Stacey

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited for a family wedding and the staff and service received was exceptionally good. A fantastic setting and great place to visit.

Thank Cheryl G
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Cheryl, Thanks for a great review. Me and the staff thoroughly enjoyed the wedding as much as you did. We hope to see you again soon! Stacey

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Great location to start right behind is some of the most stunning views in the area. Dog friendly pub with super freshly cooked home cooked food. Had the burger which was banging!! Mrs had the roast dinner and all for what we paid was great...More

Thank danny0705
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Great thanks so much for your great review!! Our secret to the chips is that they are triple cooked, they are steamed then blanched then fried, yum! We hope to see you again. Stacey

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Dirty place , stinks of dogs and food terrible....rude staff, AVOID at all costs..there are nicer places to eatMore

Thank jasminedie
Stacey W, General Manager at The Wizard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

I feel that something has happened that you have not mentioned. Please could you email me with your experience as this doesn't really give me anything to work with. I assure you that the pub is thoroughly cleaned every morning. We are dog friendly and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bengal Tiger Lily
315 reviews
1.60 km away
The Wizard Tearoom
59 reviews
.01 km away
Alderley Restaurant
107 reviews
1.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alderley Edge Woodland Walk
84 reviews
.60 km away
The Spa at Mottram Hall
125 reviews
3.41 km away
St Peter's Church
18 reviews
4.07 km away
White Peak Alpaca Farm
17 reviews
4.83 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
scotgirl401
5 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stacey W | Property representative |
Due to the age of the building unfortunately we are unable to put a disabled toilet in. However we do have a cubicle in the mens toilets which is used as our disabled facility occasionally. Thanks, The Wizard
0
Votes
actorgirl3
30 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Amy71287 | Property representative |
Yep! Dogs of all shapes and sizes welcome Amy
0
Votes
Anne S
27 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from peter d | Reviewed this property |
Yes' is this a serious question tripadvisor, seriously ? Think this might be a bit of IT jiggery pokery
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 14 - US$ 68
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK10 4UB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Alderley Edge
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 584000
  • E-mail
Description
Local cask ales, fresh local produce, pub classics, sandwiches, set menus and an ever evolving A La Carte menu. Dogs welcome. Bookings strongly advised on Sunday to avoid dissapointment.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing