We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Drum and Monkey

) #15 of 28 Restaurants in Alderley Edge ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Moss Rose | off Heyes Lane, Alderley Edge SK9 7LD, England
+44 1625 583977
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (21 reviews)
“salad” (2 reviews)
Open Now
00:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Moss Rose | off Heyes Lane, Alderley Edge SK9 7LD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous meal had prawns Gambus pil pil and rybeye steak and glass of wine on the groupon voucher staff very polite I will be back again very soon and recommend this to my friends x

Thank sue r
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Just back from a mo..st enjoyable afternoon meal here.We chose the steak meal and it was delicious cooked to perfection.The lady who looked after us was friendly and made us feel very welcome.Lovely place in a great setting,will definetly visit again.

Thank d0nnaengland
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Food was terrible, prawns & chips burnt - 4 steaks ordered & none of them were cooked to order - but staff were nice

Thank Mandyb1969
Drum and Monkey A, General Manager at The Drum and Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for taking time to review your visit to The Drum & Monkey. I have replied to your email privately & we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 1 March 2017

We had a Groupon voucher for the Drum & Monkey, we were the only ones there except for someone at the bar. The service was good, but sorry Drum & Monkey only a pub meal, steak good but chips frozen. No atmosphere as we were...More

Thank Pauline O
Drum and Monkey A, General Manager at The Drum and Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for your review. You are quite right in that The Drum & Monkey is only a pub and not a restaurant! I would like to assure you that our chips are definitely hand cut potatoes, which are twice cooked, unless you had the...More

Reviewed 23 February 2017

Firstly, the waitstaff were very pleasant. Apart from that the food was atrocious. I ordered their flagship burger, which is advertised as including bacon, which wasn't included, yet I was still charged full price. The bun fell to bits, and the chips were hard and...More

1  Thank frepie3
Drum and Monkey A, General Manager at The Drum and Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Please accept our sincere apologies for this apparent drop in standards. We have been going through a series of staff changes and we are confident that we will soon reach the standard we normally achieve.

Reviewed 18 February 2017

Went on a Groupon deal offering steak and wine, when we arrived it was a shambles nowhere really to sit after booking a week earlier. We both ordered creamy garlic mushrooms they arrived lukewarm,we never bothered complaining about this thought we would wait until the...More

Thank anniebWigan
Drum and Monkey A, General Manager at The Drum and Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Please accept our sincere apologies for this apparent drop in standards. We have been going through a series of staff changes and we are confident that we will soon reach the standard we normally achieve.

Reviewed 16 February 2017

we went on a groupon deal which offered a steak, dessert and small glass of wine for two for about £22. The pub was quite empty when we got there at 6pm and no one else was eating. The waitress/barmaid was very friendly and said...More

Thank debbieweaverlyndon
Drum and Monkey A, General Manager at The Drum and Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your meal and will return in the summer. Please accept my apologies for slow service at your visit, and I also apologise to the poor gentleman who didn't get what he asked for -...More

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Booked with a Groupon voucher to dine at 19:30 on a Thursday evening (bookings are taken until 21:30). We arrived 5 mins early and were seated straight away with the menu. Drinks were delivered and the waitress gave us ample time to decide - around...More

Thank TIJ59
Drum and Monkey A, General Manager at The Drum and Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

We can only apologise for the mix up with your starters and I do not understand how you were told that one of the fryers had been turned off, or that your meal was not in accordance with the menu description - this is an...More

Reviewed 16 February 2017

Midweek visit ,2 course Steak meal, food was good, staff were OK and attentive,Sat Nav struggled as its set back from Village centre, nice place once you find it. Would I go again? on a Groupon deal yes otherwise dont think so.More

Thank AndrewJBarratt
Drum and Monkey A, General Manager at The Drum and Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thanks for your comments Andrew, yes we are set back from the village and a bit tricky to find, hence the Groupon deal so people will come and visit us! We do hope you will try us again, maybe in the summer as our patio...More

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

What a treasure to find. Came on a Groupon offer and would never have come across this place usually as it's a little off track in Alderley Edge but I'm sure we will be giving it a revisit. Warmly welcomed by the staff, Jessica. Asked...More

Thank katy g
Drum and Monkey A, General Manager at The Drum and Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed celebrating Valentines Day with us and we are looking forward to seeing you and the kids in the summertime.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Botanist
584 reviews
.59 km away
Yara Restaurant
315 reviews
.63 km away
Village Cafe
196 reviews
.72 km away
Gusto
585 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alderley Edge Woodland Walk
76 reviews
1.44 km away
The Botanist
98 reviews
.58 km away
Corks Out
36 reviews
.72 km away
The Drum and Monkey
21 reviews
.00 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Drum and Monkey staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 26
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Buffet, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 20:00
Monday
00:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
00:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 21:00
Thursday
00:00 - 21:00
Friday
00:00 - 21:00
Saturday
00:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Moss Rose | off Heyes Lane, Alderley Edge SK9 7LD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Alderley Edge
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 583977
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing