We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
122 High Street, Amersham HP7 0ED, England
+44 1494 727079
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 305: English reviews
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice day so outside dining was required. They've done a good job with the garden and its really nice. Staff were very helpful and food was great

Helpful?
Thank Kipper700
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had lunch at the Swan with my wife. The outside patio area is very nice with quality furniture. This pub has recently undergone a refurbishment, which has been done well. The food was excellent. I had the prawn/crab linguine, my wife had the burger. Both were lovely and value for money. The wine was a little expensive, at £5.40 for... More 

Helpful?
Thank john_richards22
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had lunch but it was nothing to rave about. Service was good but could not say the same for the food. Starter was good I had the pate my friend had an Indian starter and that was good to but my mains which was fish and chips was not great, the double cooked chips were not parboiled enough and were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary J
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Hi Gary J, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact our manager, Dan at 01494727079 so we can make your experience a positive one. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to have lunch after new renovation. Decor has improved but not changed the character of the place. Food was excellent, perhaps better than previously. Joe served us extremely well n was attentative without overdoing it. Lunch is good value.

Helpful?
Thank Kiran H
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Kiran H, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Swan, Amersham! We can't wait to see you again, have a great day. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

3 couples met here for Sunday lunch last week. Very friendly staff and they moved our booking by half an hour because one couple were stuck in traffic Reasonably priced and decent portions. We only managed main courses but the deserts looked yum Would recommend this pub

Helpful?
Thank MrsGiroud
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Mrsgiroud, thank you so much for the positive review! Have a fantastic day! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was here for lunch today with some friends. I live a minutes walk away from this pub so was keen to try it since its refurbishment. The new décor is a bit more "gastropub" than it was before but it is looking fresh and bright. The staff were very friendly and although we hadn't booked, they found us a table... More 

Helpful?
Thank Freddie K
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Freddie K, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day! ! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first visit to The Swan, but certainly not my last. Had a lovely meal with a close friend last evening (Friday). Both of us has items from the specials menu... very tasty. Service was very pleasant and attentive. Nice dining area away from the very busy bar area. Overall, a lovely meal Wise to book on weekend evenings The... More 

Helpful?
Thank andyc1956
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Hello Andyc1956, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Thank you, and have a fantastic day! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came down to the Swan for dinner with some friends last week, and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The new refurbishment is really beautiful; I particularly loved the way the ground floor has been laid out with small tables - a very sociable feel to it. I had the Lobster & Tiger Prawn Pot with ciabatta sticks to start;... More 

Helpful?
Thank margob99
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your high rating! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day! More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a shame. The Swan has been renovated but wasn't that impressed by the new decor (apart from outside seating area) and the food wasn't any better than previous visits. Our starter was over cooked, main was OK but then we were asked to move, from upstairs to the bar area to finish our meal - dessert and coffees that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chocmintchip
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Hi Chocmintchip, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact our manager at 01494727079 so we can make your experience a positive one. More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for a family lunch. When we arrived we were greeted by the manager and shown to our table. Our waitress Sally provided exceptional service and the food was lovely. We will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Coffe3nut
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the positive review! Thank you, and have a fantastic day! More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 13 - US$ 32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 122 High Street, Amersham HP7 0ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Amersham
  • Phone Number: +44 1494 727079

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?