We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coastal Kitchen

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
We have closed for the winter season. Thank you for your interest and support please check back with us in 2019. A local institution for 15 years. The regulars might be known by name, but this is hardly a mom ‘n’ pop fare. This beachy, laid-back restaurant serves all-day West Coast inspired breakfast fare such as Waffles and Eggs Benny. A selection of healthy to-go salads and sandwiches make it a great stop to refuel before hitting the trails or beaches. The focus is local: Free range eggs, in-house baking and prompt friendly service. Fresh ground Fantastico coffee and aromas of fresh baked goods will keep you coming back for more.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Canadian, Soups
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
137
80
8
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
137
80
8
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger salad chowder fish and chips salmon french toast cakes the west coast trail stopped for lunch botanical beach place to eat renfrew marine victoria bowl patio vegan
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We sat outside for breakfast, so relaxing! No vegan option but we customized a dish. The server was friendly and chatted for a bit. We were the only non local that morning, always a good sigh!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Cathy B
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Hi Cathy, Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us at Coastal:) Hope you can join us again next season! The Coastal Kitchen Cafe

Reviewed 29 August 2018

We enjoyed our food at the Coastal Kitchen. There is a good range of options on the menu and all our meals were great.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank colleen p
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi Colleen, Thank you for the lovely review! We are very pleased to hear you felt you had many options and enjoyed all your meals! The Coastal Kitchen Cafe

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Was extremely happy with my pulled pork sandwich and selection of local craft beer. Nice ambience in a central location in Port Renfrew.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Bonelltravell2
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, the pulled pork sandwich is a delicious choice! We hope you have the chance to join us the Coastal Kitchen again soon! Coastal Kitchen Cafe

Reviewed 22 August 2018

We found this place by chance and the result was fantastic. The best cinnamon bun I ever tried! Friendly place, warm with a kind girl serving us. Unfortunately we live so far away that we cannot return in a short term.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ambro1308
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hi Ambro1308, Thank you for the kind review! So happy you found us with our amazing cinnamon buns and crew. Sorry to hear you are far however we look forward to your long term return! The Coastal Kitchen Team

Reviewed 16 August 2018

We visited twice. It was packed on both occasions. The baked goods were passable- not great but did the job. Breakfast was lovely. Despite no kids options they made up avocado toast for our kid (typical millenial. No wonder we can't afford a house with...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank czeschky
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hi Czeschky, Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience with us. We are sorry to hear it took a while to receive your meal but happy you enjoyed when received. It is awesome your daughter went with avocado toast too! Coastal...More

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We went for breakfast after a long morning on Botanical Beach. My husband and I were very happy with our breakfast entrees but we were disappointed with the options for smaller eaters. Price, size and selection of the regular options were just too 'adult' even...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank DenverBlueSkies
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Hello, Thank you for posting a review on your experience at Coastal. Based on feedback like yours and others, we are in the process of updating our current menu, which are excited to announce will have options for kids. We are so happy you were...More

Reviewed 8 August 2018

Only got cinnamon buns to go. The size of them were huge! Bought 2 to share between 6 adults. They were oooey gooey good!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank marinachica
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hey Marinachica, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our Cinnamon Buns! We will be sure to share with our Pastry Chef Christine! We are happy all 6 of you enjoyed the oooey goodness. Coastal Kitchen Café

Reviewed 7 August 2018

We've visited this establishment a few years in a row now and I have to say i'm disappointed in this "new management". It's always been a family friendly restaurant, but now has no kids menu and hardly any kid friendly options! Anything that might be...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank adventureseeker330
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Adventureseeker330, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. First off, we would like to apologize to you and your family for not enjoying your time at the cafe. From being here in the past, we understand that there was a kids...More

Reviewed 7 August 2018

There aren’t very many restaurants in Port Renfrew but the ones that are there are excellent. We had breakfast at the Coastal Kitchen and it was excellent with good portions The staff was attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 997rose
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hey 997rose, Glad you had an awesome time at all Port Renfrew restaurants! Especially with us here at Coastal, we are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and our amazing crew. Hope you have the chance to pop in again! The Coastal Team

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Had a great breakfast with our family. Had the pork hash which was amazing. The coffee is great and had a croissant. I think it’s Cafe Fantastico beans, which was great. I’d definitely recommend this spot to anyone and will definitely be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Ian L
Wild R, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Ian, We are so happy to hear your whole family enjoyed their breakfast! Yes our coffee is brewed from delicious Café Fantastico beans. Thank you for sharing your experience with Coastal, we are looking forward to your next visit! The Coastal Kitchen Team

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 204 nearby hotels
West Coast Trail Lodge
26 reviews
.20 km away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
55 reviews
45.97 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
967 reviews
54.89 km away
Sooke Harbour House Hotel & Resort
606 reviews
55.59 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3,207 nearby restaurants
Port Renfrew PUB
360 reviews
.20 km away
Linda's Wood Fired Kitchen
80 reviews
25.15 km away
By the Bay Cafe
63 reviews
33.14 km away
March Meadows Golf Club
6 reviews
34.87 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,730 nearby attractions
Botanical Beach Provincial Park
238 reviews
3.32 km away
Cape Flattery Trail
534 reviews
29.19 km away
Shi Shi Beach
110 reviews
36.23 km away
Bald Mountain Park
5 reviews
37.78 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mangomills
20 August 2018|
Answer
Response from robynlikesyou | Reviewed this property |
I believe they are closed through the winter but the server said this year they might stay open. Don’t forget that The Renfrew Pub is open year round!
1
Vote
Kiendra
20 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Coastal M | Property representative |
Give them a call at 250-647-5545!I think YES!
0
Votes
BikeMike1
18 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Coastal M | Property representative |
Yes we have wiifii!Cheers
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing