We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
24502 Highway 12, Rodanthe, NC 27968
+1 252-987-1100
Website
Today
16:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 16:00 - 21:00
Thu - Fri 16:00 - 21:00
Sat - Sun 11:00 - 16:00
16:30 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 271: English reviews
Luray, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

This was our first visit to Good Winds. The food was excellent and the quantity was..how can I say ALOT OMG..the clam, crab soup was one of the best I've had in a long time. Just delicious.. Waitress was very friendly and the service was excellent. No wait time. Food cooked to perfection. As the sun was setting what amazing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray Bonnie Q
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We were there for dinner and loved the drink selection and sunset view. The fried shrimp was fantastic. The server was friendly, but very busy with a large party. We were not in a hurry so it was not a big deal.

Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Yes, the view is fabulous. But we were extremely disappointed and will not be back. We had just spent 2 days driving up from Florida and we were tired and hungry, otherwise my husband would have sent back the steak he ordered. He ordered New York Strip, that should be good, right? He said it was rancid, not completely spoiled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dana J
KittyHawkKitesInc, Manager at Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar, responded to this review

We are truly disappointed to hear about your recent experience at Good Winds Restaurant. We continually strive to deliver a tasty, enjoyable, and unforgettable dining experience to every single customer who walks through our doors and take great pride in doing so. We wish you had brought your dissatisfaction to our attention that evening, as our Manager would have immediately... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

We chose this restaurant because it was close to our condo in Rodanthe. The food was average but we had a window seat next to the water with a good view. We did not have to wait to be seated. The bill for out family of six was about $185. We would go again if we stay nearby. We would... More 

Helpful?
Thank allboysMom06
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

It was the view of the sunset that saved my review from being a 1. From the moment we sat down, I felt it was not a good idea. First there were many empty tables but the hostess said we had to share one menu because they ran out. Then we waited and waited for someone to take our drink... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lebsbluiz
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

Saturday lunch ... Philly sandwich, crabcake sandwich ... good service ... views are magnificent ... thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Howard P
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

We had luch the the first day while waiting for our rental to become available. Food was just as good as the first time. They also have an extensive beer selection which made my sons very happy.

Helpful?
Thank StavrosTsik
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2016

We drove all the way from Duck to eat here again. The location is perfect and the food is very good. The portions are big and the service is top notch

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie B
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped at the Good Winds around 5:30 for an early dinner and were seated without a wait. I ordered a cup of chowder (Chowda as they say) and a Crab Cake and my husband ordered a Drunken Skewer & Flounder stuffed with crabmeat. The chower was excellent ( be sure to ask if it was made fresh today!) full... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Connie M
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016

During our OBX vacation, my mom, sister, aunts, and I went on a girls night out and had dinner at Good Winds. It was great! The drinks were good, the sunset outside was gorgeous, the live music was awesome, and the food was great! We really couldn't have asked for a better evening! There was a slight delay on our... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Emily Y

Travellers who viewed Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Rodanthe, Outer Banks
Rodanthe, Outer Banks
 
 

Been to Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 24
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 16:00
16:30 - 21:00
Monday
16:00 - 21:00
Thursday
16:00 - 21:00
Friday
16:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 16:00
16:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24502 Highway 12, Rodanthe, NC 27968
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Rodanthe
  • Phone Number: +1 252-987-1100
Description
Good Winds Restaurant is located on the sound front in Rodanthe, NC and has something for everyone in the family for lunch or dinner and now Sunday brunch! One of the best spots on Hatteras Island to catch a sunset while enjoying a glass of wine or tantalizing appetizer. Take a look at our menu below and then come in for a visit and enjoy the breathtaking views paired with exceptionally great food.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?