We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar

3809 N Croatan Hwy, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-9237
+1 252-449-2483
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“crab bisque” (82 reviews)
“blue crabs” (63 reviews)
“hush puppies” (104 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3809 N Croatan Hwy, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-9237
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would go back to the OBX just to eat here again. The seafood was some of the freshest, most delicious I've ever had. The crabs are good, but the shrimp were outstanding. We also loved the hush puppies with Carmel sauce and the incredible...More

Thank Annie C
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the kind words! It sounds like you ordered a few of our favorite things, but there so much more to try on your next visit. If you loved the hushpuppy sauce, wait until you try it on our sweet potato...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can't believe we walked in to order dinner to go and the waitress said sorry we can't do a take out order. One of us asked can we sit down at the empty table, place an order then take it home she said I suppose...More

Thank Gregg-Midlo
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I understand that your expectations were not met during your recent visit, and know how frustrating that can be as a hungry customer. I hope the rest of my response helps to clear up a few things. While our entire menu is available for takeout,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love these kind of places - not pretentious, small hole-in-the-wall and fabulous food. I Got Your Crabs delivered. it is a small place with mostly bar-type seating a few booths and small tables. They put the paper down on the table and off you go......More

Thank casa1234
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We love helping newbies learn to shuck crabs for the first time. I especially loved reading that you tried soft crabs with us for the first time and they become your new favorite.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very laid back, belly-up-to-the-bar place. There are very few tables so just take a seat at the bar and enjoy the food. The chowder is wonderful - creamy, thick and full of crab. The steamed shrimp were irresistible and tasted just as...More

1  Thank Dancerose
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I love how much you enjoyed your meal! We certainly aren't fancy but it's hard to be with all the shell-shucking that goes down at our restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and don't wait too long before stopping in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the place isn't big but that doesn't matter the seafood was great! oysters and shrimp were awesome as well as the crabs .the cost was reasonable and at market price.this will be one of our go to places from now on.

Thank rustyw51
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I loved reading that we're now one of your "go to" places now! We appreciate the review, and hope you'll be back again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a large restaurant--and we weren't looking for large. It was informal and the food was excellent. The service was fine--not remarkably fast or slow. The food and personality of the place would easily bring us back! And we were there around 4PM;...More

Thank Joseph W
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great to hear that you beat the crowd! We typically get busy for dinner around 5-6 so it sounds like you just missed the crowd by coming a little earlier. Thank you for your comments about how much you enjoyed our food and "personality"!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you were looking for great Seafood this is the place to be. Blue crabs were delicious and the oysters were huge! Servers are friendly and efficient. We will definitely be back.

Thank WVMountaineer67
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiasm with other TripAdvisor users. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your meal as well as our friendly service. See you next time!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great steamers, however this is a super small oyster steamer bar - we found it very challenging with a 1 year old child. They don't even have high chairs. Consider going elsewhere if you have small kiddos.More

Thank Sara M
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our steamers! I must admit though that I'm a bit confused as to why you found our restaurant unaccommodating for small children. Our owners and several staff have very young kids, so it's always a goal of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we ate here last night during the storms. the oysters clams and scallops were excellent!! great atmosphere and superb service!! we will be back!!!!

Thank 24gregoryd
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for leaving the kind review. Our staff will be thrilled to hear that you complimented our cooking as well as our service. We can't wait until you're next meal with us!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are craving succulent seafood, perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked/steamed, you must try this place! We had the crab-stuffed mushrooms, fried oyster plate and fried shrimp plate....absolutely mouthwatering food, fast and friendly service. Won't be my last trip!

Thank AllisonGupton
IGYCOBX, Manager at I Got Your Crabs Shellfish Market and Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for complimenting both our food and service! Our staff is hard-working, and we always appreciate when it's recognized. See you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hurricane Mo's Beachside Bar & Grill
808 reviews
.36 km away
Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill
900 reviews
.26 km away
Trio Wine, Beer and Cheese
294 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Holy Redeemer By the Sea Catholic Church
40 reviews
.60 km away
Children at Play Museum
40 reviews
.15 km away
Super Wings
41 reviews
1.15 km away
Knitting Addiction
15 reviews
.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Salinacherry1979
4 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from RCBLOVER | Reviewed this property |
Price probably changes daily. I would call and ask.
0
Votes
Melissa B
18 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from IGYCOBX | Property representative |
Thanks for your question! Our bushel pricing is available for takeout only but we can cook it up for you if you decide to go that route. If you're dining in, you can order as many dozens or pounds as you'd like. If you're... More
1
Vote
lucamax9
27 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from IGYCOBX | Property representative |
October is a great time of year for seafood in the Outer Banks! Local blue crabs, shrimp, and oysters should all be in season. We look forward to your visit.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 9 - US$ 21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 21:00
Saturday
11:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3809 N Croatan Hwy, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949-9237
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Kitty Hawk
  • Phone Number: +1 252-449-2483
  • E-mail
Description
We're a locally owned shellfish market and oyster bar offering the freshest, local seafood in the Outer Banks. Our specialty is blue crabs and steaming is always free. Eat in or Take out. Open year-round 7 days a week from 11:30 am to 9:00 pm. For more information, please visit our website.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing