We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diamond Shoals

46843 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
+1 252-995-5217
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good33%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (97 reviews)
“clam chowder” (55 reviews)
“hush puppies” (64 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Sushi, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
46843 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Open only on weekends in the winter. We love their creamy clam chowder full of tender clams. Then we followed this with a yummy tropical broiled fish wrap with mango salsa. Of course we had to compliment the wrap with the sweet potato waffle fries....More

Thank Kathie D
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Friendly, flavorful, and fun -- you can always count on that from us! I'm delighted to hear everything from the clam chowder to our sweet potato fries has been a hit, and I look forward to having you in for more, Kathie. Thanks for the...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

We also shop and eat here several times during our stays in Hatteras. Restaurant serves very good food,salad bar, sushi, breakfast lunch dinner. They also have a seafood market with plenty of fresh local fish, shrimp etc. they make really good chowders and dips. They...More

Thank FlyGuy66
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Glad you had such a great time with us! From salads to sushi, we always make sure everything is perfect. Hope you'll get a chance to come see us in the new year! Best wishes, Keith Gray, Owner

Reviewed 2 December 2017

Stop in to have a bit to eat. Was a little disappointed in the restaurant. Seemed very jammed together. But the service was nice. We were sat in the bar, and due to loudness, had just one really good drink, and a good bowl of...More

Thank Selona Gale O
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thanks for stopping by to try us out, Selona, and glad to hear the drink and clam chowder were enjoyable. Hope you found what you were looking for at the next place, and don't hesitate to swing by again sometime if you change your mind....More

Reviewed 15 November 2017

A group of us stayed in nearby vacation rental home off-season and got several pounds of fish each night from the market nextdoor but prepared ready to eat in the restaurant kitchen. Brought fish home to sides we had prepared in our kitchen. Fish was...More

Thank worms2u
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Glad to hear it was enjoyable, and thanks for letting us know a couple were overcooked -- I'll pass that along to the team. Hope you'll swing by for some sushi sometime! Kind regards, Keith Gray, Owner

Reviewed 13 November 2017

Came here one night for some seafood. We spent almost two hours in the restaurant mostly waiting. When they brought our food out they did not bring it all and still had to wait for the sides. The food was OK, nothing really to write...More

Thank Tim B
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Tim, thank you for coming by. I'm disappointed to hear we dropped the ball on service, and I'm sorry it was slower than usual. As for our food, we're typically known for our tasty dishes and fresh food, so I hope to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

When the parking lot is always full, you know it's good... and this place is full for breakfast, lunch and dinner. My kids love to eat here because the food is tasty and quick. I love it for the price, the salad bar & of...More

Thank mimi_dezignz
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

It's great to hear that you enjoy the salad bar and sushi so much, Mimi. We're happy that your kids love it here, too! Thanks for your kind recommendation. We're looking forward to the next time you stop in. Thanks, Keith Gray, Owner

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Went back here for a second night for dessert since it was so good the first night. I had the pumpkin pie and hubby had the chocolate peanut butter pie. Both were good. Definitely recommend this place.

Thank Sonya H
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Knowing you enjoyed our dessert so much you came back for a round two speaks volumes, Sonya, and I'm thrilled to hear it! I hope that means we'll get to see y'all again for some more pie! Thanks, Keith Gray, Owner

Reviewed 2 November 2017

It was super busy on a Friday night, so you know it's good! Super fresh seafood and excellent sushi! Decent prices on the specials.

Thank 817mnsw
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

So glad you were blown away by the sushi and seafood -- that's what we're all about here! I take this to heart, and I hope we'll see you back again soon. Until then, Keith Gray, Owner

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Came on at 7 pm on Friday. Was advised that there is a 20 min wait. There were 8 seats empty at the bar so thought we would go get some drinks first. After 10 min we had to waive our hands to get bartenders...More

2  Thank Olga C
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Sorry to hear about the poor experience, Olga. I'll check in with the team to see what went wrong for your visit, and appreciate you letting me know about this. Regards, Keith Gray, Owner

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

The chowder was excellent! The shrimp was excellent, but the pork chop was a little bland although I realize this is a seafood place. The salad bar was great. The service was great. Overall we really enjoyed eating here.More

Thank Bonnie J
Keith G, Owner at Diamond Shoals, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

It's good to hear the chowder and shrimp hit the spot, Bonnie! Though we want all our dishes to delight our guests, so definitely let your server know next time if something is tasting bland -- we'd be happy to fix that. Hope you'll join...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Hatteras Island
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
202 reviews
.17 km away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
314 reviews
.31 km away
Outer Banks Motel
156 reviews
.44 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
288 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Buxton Munch Company
580 reviews
.84 km away
Orange Blossom Bakery
826 reviews
.58 km away
Fattys
197 reviews
.37 km away
Rusty's Surf & Turf
537 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cape Hatteras Lighthouse
2,121 reviews
1.72 km away
Equine Adventures
193 reviews
8.00 km away
Canadian Hole
63 reviews
.06 km away
Uncle Eddy's Frozen Custard and 18-Hole Mini Golf
100 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Diamond Shoals staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 30
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46843 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Hatteras Island  >  Buxton
  • Phone Number: +1 252-995-5217
Description
Located adjacent to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, Diamond Shoals Restaurant has been serving up the finest local fare for decades. Known for its friendly atmosphere, fresh seafood and southern hospitality, folks have been coming back to Diamond Shoals, year after year, for its award winning clam chowder and crab bisque, homemade crab cakes, and Hatteras Island's only sushi bar. Enjoy a selection of steaks, sandwiches, the island's largest salad bar, an extensive kids menu, and fresh seafood caught by local fishermen.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing