We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oak Street Food & Wine

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 2, Oak St, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia (Formerly No. 2 Oak Street)
+61 2 6655 9000
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Wed - Sat 18:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our first visit. We had hoped it might have been almost as good as the predecessor "No.2 Oak Street" but it was well behind that multi award winning restaurant. I'll keep this review short because I understand that the restaurant has been sold and will close for 6 to 8 weeks before re-opening under new management sometime in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian T
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Iam sorry to say but me and some work colleges had dined on new years and i wish we had gone elsewhere. We felt that they were just trying to rush us course straight after course served quickly. Maybe the staff wanted to go home early I am not too sure but this is not what a dining experience is... More 

Helpful?
Thank food_come_at_me
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dined her with my hubby a few months ago and i must say this place has gone down hill very quickly. The duck was dry ,overcooked , tasteless and the porkbelly was very tough and the fat was not cooked properly. Do yourself a favor and go to the many other restaurants in the area unfortunately me and my partner... More 

Helpful?
Thank food-good26
PCald63, Owner at Oak Street Food & Wine, responded to this review

A few months ago and you are reviewing now? Some comments to the staff on the night would have caused immediate correction to your situation. Sorry you didn't have a great meal as almost all other reviewers on this platform have had. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went with my husband for a degustation dinner on NYE 2016. We were greeted by Cassandra who was most accommodating and friendly. There were oysters as part of the menu, which none of us like, but we got the most delicious little tarts instead. Each dish was delicious with the lamb being extremely tender and flavoursome. The service was impeccable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aquarius2801
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The menu was a set 5 course meal due to it being New Year's Eve. We arrived at 7 and by 7:50 we had been served 4 courses, I had to ask them not to bring out dessert for at least 30 minutes. The food was tasty and presented beautifully. The staff were a little too attentive and we felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This really is a Bellingen institution and rightly so. Although the present owner told us he had sold, so hopefully the new owners do its reputation proud. We had the scallops as an entree and they were perfectly cooked and great flavours. Lamb and beef dishes for mains, both cooked perfectly and the flavour balance in each dish was spot... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveField
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016

The host was excellent and most accommodating , our orders were taken quickly and arrived in a timely manner , and quite frankly it was all delicious , thanks will come again

Helpful?
Thank 238Aussies
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here to celebrate our anniversary during our 3 day get away in Bellingen. The meal ..all 3 courses were fantastic. Scallops on the shell , WA mussels in a broth, confit duck , gnocchi with blue cheese, rockmelon sorbet and marinated peaches with meringue and salted creme fraiche....couple of glasses of bubbles and we were in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee R
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Booked here on a whim, as we were looking at going to Embers in Urunga. Phil was very accommodating and we got a nice table. Both he & Cassandra provided an efficient & attentive service that was not overbearing. All courses were perfectly sized & very tasty. I can heartily recommend this eatery

Helpful?
1 Thank ChazWA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

On a fresh August, Friday night, Oak St Food and Wine provided a tasty and creative menu. Stand outs include the Mussel entree, slow cooked lamb and toffee apple dessert. Other meals including pork belly entree and skirt steak with chimichurri very good but lacking a little wow factor for the buck. Mine host, Phil was proffessional,friendly and attentive to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mick B

Travellers who viewed Oak Street Food & Wine also viewed

Bellingen, New South Wales
Bellingen, New South Wales
 
Bellingen, New South Wales
Bellingen, New South Wales
 
Bellingen, New South Wales
Bellingen, New South Wales
 

Been to Oak Street Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 26
Cuisine
European, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Parking Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Wednesday
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 2, Oak St, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia (Formerly No. 2 Oak Street)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Bellingen
  • Phone Number: +61 2 6655 9000
Description
Cosy restaurant/wine bar located in a heritage cottage close to the bustling Bellingen CBD. Dine by the open fire, or enjoy a glass of wine with your lunch on our sunny verandah.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Oak Street Food & Wine and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Whangarei
over a year ago
BALLINA
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Oak Street Food & Wine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?