We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 25/07
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
13
5
8
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
13
5
8
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad italian food birthday dinner main course food was great server
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 June 2021 via mobile

Went here when they first opened and it was okay but it has gone waaaaay downhill. Atmosphere and service are good but food is terrible. Eggplant parmigiana was tough with a of cheese tossed on top and a little bit of sauce. Very rubbery. Chicken...park was a piece of prebreaded chicken over cooked in a deep fat fryer. With a little tasteless sauce and a slice of cheese. Bread basket is good bread but would be better served warm. Menu is limited too. I hope they redo their menu and get a new chef. Since it’s the same owner as Eastwind & Desmonds I am surprised the quality did not match the other eateries. I haven’t been to East Wind in a while but it used to be good. It has way too many poor reviews since 2018. Obviously they are not listening to what people are saying and making the necessary improvements.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 15 November 2020

I just moved to the area recently and didn’t know what to expect. I took my mom there on. Friday evening. First impression was it was more casual than expected. I felt like I was in a cafeteria. There were no table cloths but maybe...that is due to COVID. We were seated on time for our 6:30 reservation. The waiter approached us immediately but we hadn’t had a chance to look at a wine menu or drinks yet I knew it was a mistake to turn him away because then it took him a long time to come back to us. The same to continue through the night the waiter just was not available for us. We each ordered shrimp Fra Diablo . We were very impressed with the portions; jumbo shrimp along with clams and mussels in the shells. The clams and mussels had so much sand in them . Aside from that they were very good. It took a long time to get the waiter to give us our check in at that point because we hadn’t seen him earlier we let him know about the sand we were not looking for anything I was not looking for any sort of discount he did not even apologize the only thing he said was well we clean them. I don’t know if I am a waiter at a restaurant and there’s sand in the shellfish I am apologizing to my customer. That was disappointing I gave him a full tip and in hindsight I wish I hadn’t. I will return but if I see I have that waiter I will request a different server. If we order shellfish again and it’s gritty I will not return to that restaurant and I will write another review either way.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 October 2020

We made a reservation a week in advance with the request of sitting outside. When we arrived at 4:55 for our 5pm reservation, we were told that there was no more space for outdoor dining. For some reason, they were not sitting anyone at the...tables outside in the front and they were "at capacity" for the new back patio area. We were sat in the center of the restaurant and although they were limiting capacity, they did sit a group right behind us and another off to the side with less than 6 feet between tables. The portions were on the smaller side, considering what you'd usually get from an Italian restaurant and nothing came with the main course. If you wanted pasta or a salad or a vegetable it was an extra charge. The service was odd. Not exactly poor, but certainly not good. There would be a long stretch of time where we wouldn't see our server and then all of a sudden we would feel rushed. The food was mediocre at best, lacking flavor. We live locally and will not be back. I believe that the only reason this restaurant will be successful is because of the East End tourists that need a place to eat on their way home. Too bad, because it is a very nice building and a great opportunity.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 March 2020

My first time was in February with some friends. Had a wonderful experience. The food was great & the price was reasonable. Going back 3/2 to celebrate a friend’s birthday. I know he’ll love it. See you tomorrow.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 December 2019

Went with family Saturday night. Food was terrible. My grandson got sick from mussel dish. We all did not finish out meals.The band was too loud and awful. The first time we were there, every thing was fine.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
CharlotteEastWind, Owner at Ruggeros, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Dear R.D. So sorry our food did not meet your expectations. We hope you mentioned your disapproval to your server. Our food is made from the freshest ingredients daily, so not sure if it was the mussels that made your grandson sick. Thank you for...More

Reviewed 11 December 2019

We like the Monday Pasta special and happy hour combo. Plenty of great food and drinks for a reasonable price. Dan at the bar makes it all that much more fun. I'm surprised it is not more crowded - a great local restaurant for us.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
CharlotteEastWind, Public Relations Manager at Ruggeros, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2019

Hi Richard - We are delighted you took advantage of our Monday Pasta Night. Thank you for sharing your feedback. See you again soon. Cheers!

Reviewed 7 November 2019

This was the third time I was there with a larger party from work. The food and service was okay, but each time there was a drama paying the bill. This time we have been 15 people and several people wanted to pay by card....We were told only 4 credit cards could be run, the rest needed to be in cash. It is the 20th century and every other restaurant can easily run credit cards for 20 people. I and my company will not make a larger dinner party reservation at this place again, which is a missed opportunity for them. As all the people come from a workplace, where we need to arrange larger dinner parties all the time. One point which was particularly strange was the comment we should have asked in advance that we need to use credit cards.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
CharlotteEastWind, Public Relations Manager at Ruggeros, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2019

Hi Elke-Caroline: We apologize for any confusion in paying the bill. Please feel free to call the restaurant manager, Ray, to discuss this further at 631-886-1625. We recommended that large parties tell their server in advance of ordering, if they would like separate checks. This...More

Reviewed 29 October 2019 via mobile

Food was ok, nothing special. Best part of visit was our server, Kamilla. She was pleasant, friendly, professional.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
CharlotteEastWind, Public Relations Manager at Ruggeros, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Hi Maurice: Happy Birthday! Thank you for visiting Ruggero's to celebrate. Sorry your food didn't meet your expectations100%. We are always seeking to improve. Thank you for you feedback and we hope you will consider trying us again in future. Cheers!

Reviewed 21 September 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful, reasonable lunch to celebrate my sister-in-laws birthday. Between the seven of us we had five different entries and they were all very good. The salmon and flounder were both cooked to perfection as were the veal parmigiana, Chicken Marsala and steak....The salads were plentiful with a savory dressing and the whole lunch was so reasonable. Our waiter was very friendly yet professional and got it right! We’re all looking forward to our next visit.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 September 2019

We took our daughter out for a celebration on becoming an attorney here on Long Island...The restaurant was basically empty....We were told there was a happy hour at the bar...we proceeded over to the Bar and ordered two drinks and had forgotten one...after going back...to the Bar the manager stated that we were not allowed to come to Bar to get the drinks at the discounted price.....He was very adamant about their policy and would not yield..and by the way the drink menu at the table didn't even have my daughters desired drink...We explained other restaurants allow you to go to bar and get the happy hour drinks.....Respinse ...That's Our Policy.... Foolish since this was my second time back this week....Poor Management...We will not be returning ever again.....Terrible experienceMore

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
CharlotteEastWind, Public Relations Manager at Ruggeros, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Dear FarAway9338: Our policy is that Happy Hour Menu and pricing is only available in the bar area. Our Manager is abiding by our policy. You are welcome to sit at the bar or high tables and order food for Happy Hour. We apologize for...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Inn and Spa at East Wind
228 reviews
.31 km away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End, an IHG hotel
599 reviews
8.96 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
1,072 reviews
9.17 km away
Residence Inn Long Island East End
116 reviews
9.19 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Desmonds Restaurant & Pub
102 reviews
.18 km away
La Bistro Pizzeria
34 reviews
1.54 km away
Truffles Bistro Restaurant
52 reviews
1.58 km away
Pure North Fork
57 reviews
.54 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wildwood State Park
81 reviews
2.25 km away
Calverton National Cemetery
44 reviews
2.43 km away
Long Island Spirits
43 reviews
5.85 km away
Tallgrass Golf Course
16 reviews
6.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hijean46
14 February 2020|
Answer
Response from CharlotteEastWind | Property representative |
We do offer Gluten Free pasta and other options. Thank you!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ruggeros

Yes, Ruggeros offers takeaway services.

Yes, Ruggeros offers delivery services.

Ruggeros is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3