We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

  • 13 of the Best Food and Beverage Trails and Tours in New York Stateiloveny.com
About
The Whistling Kettle is a full service cafe with high quality, tasty cuisine and a huge selection of loose tea, coffee, beer and wine. We offer a variety of premium, made to order sandwiches, crepes (both sweet and savory), quiches, premium soups, many salad choices and desserts ranging from scones to cakes. We have nearly 150 teas, french press coffee made to order and a great selection of craft beer and wine. Our teas are also available for purchase, with a full line of accessories. Our menu has choices for everyone and for every appetite.
PRICE RANGE
US$ 9 - US$ 19
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Cafe, Soups
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Table Service, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
69
62
7
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
69
62
7
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones quiche perfect lunch tier server gouda substitute rpi
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We Loved our supper here while we were passing through Troy on the road. The portions were ample and the quiche and crepes were fresh and very flavorful. Service was good , even though they were short staffed. Recommend!

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 August 2021

My wife and I have been going the the Troy Whistling Kettle every Saturday morning all summer long. It has always been a very pleasant experience. Not today. Every Saturday I would order a bacon and egg on a ciabatta.My wife would get a ham...and egg with mozzarella cheese in a crepe each week. I would get coffee she would get tea. That was all we got. The server told us the we HAD to get the tower. We didn't want the tower , but we got it.. We were there .when the place opened. after 40 minutes our food finally came out. The eggs were cold and they brought out a ham and egg with cheese on a ciabatta, When we told the server that was NOT what she ordered. The server said, "Oh I forgot to tell you we don't make eggs in a crepe any more." Well she should have said so sooner, and who asked for a substitute? I got my bacon and egg on a ciabatta, but it had cheese on it . I didn't order cheese , because I DO NOT like cheese on my eggs. In short we got food we didn't want and it was cold. We didn't eat it , I just paid the bill ( which I shouldn't have done) and left. I don't know if I will ever go backMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 August 2020 via mobile

After a RPI student drop off we found this place to be the perfect lunch. Great service and creative / satisfying fare. Soup (red pepper Gouda) , crepes (Hawaiian was fantastic), quiche (your own quiche, Lorraine style) and scones (served with jam and cream) were...all delicious. Will definitely go back.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 August 2020

They offer a three part “tea”. ( beverage of your choice.) You select a sandwich or quiche, a soup or salad and a sweet. I had a wonderful goat cheese quiche, a red pepper soup and a scone. The restaurant was understanding when the three...tier metal plate holder fell off the table and they replaced the items that landed on the sidewalk.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

We arrived around 1130 on Saturday morning just beating the crowd. There was three to our party and had about 20 minute wait. We are vegetarian quiche And a banana fosters, hot pepper soup. There’s over 100 tees to select from I had the snowflake...which was coconut cinnamon and very good. I am not one usually for flavored teas but I would have this one again. Make sure you let the Seep. Definitely will be returning. For as busy as it was the service was excellent.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
kettle2, Agency / Consultant at The Whistling Kettle Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Happy to hear it! See you soon.

Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

Saturday at noon the restaurant was very busy. There was a wait but I feel it was worth it.The service was good and we did not feel rushed. The tea was excellent. I would suggest you let your tea sit for a while to steep....The scone was excellent. I had it with tuna. It says spicy tuna but it is not spicy at all. I also enjoyed the roasted red pepper soup with Gouda. My husband loved his Monte Cristo crêpe. My daughter enjoyed her ratatouille quiche and salad. We all thought that the bananas Foster crepe was way too sweet. Overall it was a very nice meal and I definitely would suggest this restaurant.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
kettle2, Agency / Consultant at The Whistling Kettle Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate it!

Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

This charming downtown eatery is cozy and social. The food(crepes) and sweets(scones) were especially delicious. Service was very good. Enjoyed it all.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
kettle2, Agency / Consultant at The Whistling Kettle Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Thank you! We really appreciate your generosity. It's always nice to know that we are moving in the right direction.

Reviewed 6 January 2020

My wife & I took a trip on a Saturday in August to the Troy outdoor market, which was jammed with people from everywhere. We decided to stop in for lunch around lunch time. The restaurant was crowded, but we were lucky to be seated...immediately upon arriving. We left disappointed, we both thought our lunch was just ok. If you like trying different varieties of tea, this would be the place to go. But in our case, we asked for a soda beverage, only to find out they do not even carry soda pop, we were disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
kettle2, Owner at The Whistling Kettle Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Hi - we are a tea house and thus soda "pop" doesn't fit in with our healthy beverage business model. We are sorry you were disappointed.

Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

The Whistling Kettle is nestled in the heart of Troy. We ordered Afternoon tea for 4 people. Very pleasant ambience, super efficient staff and excellent food. Be aware drinks are extra and although tea is reasonable at $16.00 pp. Items unavailable on the menu may...result in other choices needing to be made we paid $25.50 pp; and don't forget you still need to tip which can make it a little steep in price. That said, All in all it was a very pleasant afternoon.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
kettle2, Owner at The Whistling Kettle Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Hi - we typically have all our items in stock in order to not require anyone to upgrade. The holidays sometimes changes things if we are extra busy. Thanks for the review!

Reviewed 17 December 2019 via mobile

Panini and lobster bisque plus French press coffee, all completely delicious — the sausage and pepper panini especially. Extremely friendly staff but by no means overbearing... precisely what you would want in a cafe/tea shop. Lunch as described just under $20. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
kettle2, Owner at The Whistling Kettle Troy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2019

Hi Deejub, we really appreciate your feedback and such kind words! We're looking forward to serving you again.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Cannon Suites
17 reviews
.11 km away
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
652 reviews
.32 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Troy/Waterfront
48 reviews
.91 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
1,016 reviews
1.77 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lo Porto Ristorante Caffe
147 reviews
.13 km away
Lucas Confectionery
107 reviews
.05 km away
Plumb Oyster Bar
47 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Troy Waterfront Farmers' Market
235 reviews
.09 km away
Today's Limousine
20 reviews
1.40 km away
Hart Cluett Museum
22 reviews
.24 km away
EMPAC - Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center
22 reviews
.63 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Whistling Kettle Troy staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Whistling Kettle Troy

Yes, The Whistling Kettle Troy offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Whistling Kettle Troy offers delivery services.

The Whistling Kettle Troy is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5