We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shadows on the Hudson

176 Rinaldi Blvd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3948
+1 845-486-9500
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good30%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (126 reviews)
“prime rib” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, International, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
176 Rinaldi Blvd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3948
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The brunch is full of a differnt variety of breakfast food items & desserts. It is always delicious!!

Thank G0Yankees
ShadowsManagement, Manager at Shadows on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your dinning experience at Shadows on the Hudson. We are delighted to hear everythuign was delicious. We look forward ot seeing you agin soon. Warmly, Deanna Knapp Assistant Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago

Nine of us went to Shadows to celebrate my birthday. We had reservations and were seated immediately and that's when the problems started. We were seated near the bar, right next to a party that was going on. It was so loud that we were...More

1  Thank Roe L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed Sunday brunch here on Sunday afternoon. They have nice buffet spread with various chicken dishes, pork dishes, custom omelettes, various vegetable dishes and pastries, and desserts. All were tasty the chicken francaise in particular. The brunch was 23.95 for all over 12 and...More

Thank Ira W
ShadowsManagement, Manager at Shadows on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ira, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Sunday Brunch with us! Sunday Brunch is one of our favorite times of the week, very busy and delicious food! We hope to see you in the near...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us friends selected this place because of location water view while on vacation in area. We were more than pleased with not only the menu, service but also bar selections. Amazing decor, outdoor bar area,outdoor dining. This place has it all. Filet mignon...More

Thank DonnavRob
ShadowsManagement, Manager at Shadows on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

DonnavRob, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your dinning experience at Shadows. We are thrilled ot hear everything was great and you enjoyed your experience from start to finish! Hopefully you had a nice vacation and we hope to see you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in for lunch this past Sunday to find that they were serving brunch. There was a great variety of foods. Chicken and waffles was the table favorite along with the bloody Mary’s. The wait staff were friendly and attentive. Can’t beat the price. I...More

1  Thank K B
ShadowsManagement, Manager at Shadows on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your dinning experience at Shadows on the Hudson. We are delighted to hear everything was wonderful and you would highly recommend us. Our Brunch is always the most popular day of the week, always full...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant is beautiful and offers spectacular views. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. Can't wait to return.

Thank Glendale_NYLinda
ShadowsManagement, Manager at Shadows on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Linda, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and feedback. We are delighted to hear everything was excellent and you look forward to returning. We hope your return visit will be soon. Warmly, Deanna Knapp Assistant Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is always nice and can’t complain about the view of the Hudson. The food is always good but can be a little pricey. Was kind of shocked that on a Thursday night the closed the bar at 1230.

Thank Junior148
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We ordered two tuna salad lunches. One of the salads had tuna that was cut improperly making it very tough. The wasabi ginger dressing lacked any wasabi flavor. There suggested tip of 20% was based on the cost of the meal and the tax but...More

Thank drcbf
ShadowsManagement, General Manager at Shadows on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, Please accept my sincere apologies for the Tuna and dressing, I have alerted our Chef. We do cut the Tuna Fresh and it should be tender when prepared correctly and the dressing also made in house should be flavorful when made to recipe. Also...More

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great View, great service. Had a lovely birthday lunch with my friend. USA gas on the patio with a terrific view of the Hudson River with a warm sunny day with a lovely Breeze. Our server was courteous kind and friendly and the...More

Thank Melea M
ShadowsManagement, Manager at Shadows on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Melea, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your birthday lunch at Shadows. The views are spectacular from our patio, especially at night with the bridges lights twinkling on the water. We hope to see you return...More

Reviewed 30 July 2018

One of the worst dinner experiences ever! The good service ended with the Hostess. First, we were sat in a room that had TWO large parties going on. One was a wedding party that was so loud, playing games & giving speeches we couldn't even...More

Thank ABWTD
ShadowsManagement, General Manager at Shadows on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi AnnetteB, Please accept my sincere apologies for your poor experience at Shadows, I am extremely concerned about the lack of service an embarrassed that we completely missed the mark during your visit. Please know that your experience is in no way reflective of our...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
290 reviews
1.26 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
444 reviews
2.50 km away
Highland Motel
1 review
2.81 km away
America's Best Value Inn
48 reviews
2.85 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Rosticceria Rossi and Sons
176 reviews
.78 km away
Amici's
175 reviews
.90 km away
Schatzi's Pub and Bier Garden
105 reviews
1.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mid Hudson Bridge
25 reviews
1.15 km away
Bardavon Opera House
91 reviews
1.12 km away
Mid-Hudson Children's Museum
123 reviews
1.33 km away
The Poughkeepsie Post Office
43 reviews
1.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Llisa025
29 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Johnson747 | Reviewed this property |
Was only there for a Sunday brunch. The crowd was in casual dress-up for the most part. No jackets/ties, but nice slacks and collared shirts on most men. There were a few diners who were in shorts, but they were in the... More
0
Votes
Margaret B
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ShadowsManagement | Property representative |
Yes, we absolutely have a Children's Menu with many options. We offer Kids Pasta with Butter or Marinara, Mac & Cheese with String Beans or Fries, Kids Chicken Tenders with Fries, Kids Cheeseburger with Fries or Salad, and a... More
0
Votes
Pamela H
28 January 2017|
Answer
Response from ShadowsManagement | Property representative |
Pamela, Our renovations are tentatively scheduled to be completed by May at the latest, so we look forward to seeing you when you're in the area. Thanks for asking & have a great day!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 35
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Valet Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 176 Rinaldi Blvd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3948
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Poughkeepsie
  • Phone Number: +1 845-486-9500
  • E-mail
Description
Shadows on the Hudson, the Hudson Valley's Premier Waterfront Dining, is located in Poughkeepsie, NY. Our building is perched on a cliff 40 feet above the Hudson River and just 50 feet from its eastern bank. This prime riverfront location affords us one-of-a-kind, truly grand views of the Mid-Hudson Bridge to the north and a majestic riverview to the south. The interior design of the restaurant sets Shadows apart from any other establishment in the area. Guests have five different dining areas to choose from. If you choose the casual and warm Sunset Room or the ultramodern Winter Room you will feel like you are dining in Manhattan or Vegas, while the West & South Deck and True River spaces provide commanding views of the Hudson River during all four seasons. Shadows seasonal menu has a broad appeal with a focus on Seafood and Steaks. The goal of the menu is to create a place where families could afford to eat more than once a week and that would still appeal to couples out for a special night on the town. Shadows will also cater your small lunch or dinner party for groups of 20 - 100.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing