We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whistling Kettle

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
24 Front St, Ballston Spa, NY 12020-1776
+1 518-884-2664
Website
Today
11:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 - 18:00
Fri 11:00 - 19:00
Sat 09:00 - 18:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 203: English reviews
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
233 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wellman was my waiter, lovely place, lovely service. Pros--nice decor, gluten free choices, great lunch specials Con--maybe a little pricier, but the food was delicious, fresh, no additives and took home the leftovers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Holly V
Round Lake, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been going to this location since it first opened. I love the tea and the selection to teas. But the food has often been just a little short in one way or another. For the second tie, today was a big disappointment in the way of crepes. First, the selection of savory crepes is not what I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank yogaroom
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Whistling Kettle has some tasty items on its menu, but you need to be selective. The scones and crepes look good, but Kettle's chichi reputation is now resting on its laurels. I had decaf coffee and quiche. The coffee comes in its own brewing pot, chichi, but it was really a poor weak cup and a half of coffee.... More 

Helpful?
Thank STX_M3
kettle2, Owner at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this review

NOTE: We tried to contact this customer who isn't accepting messages. Dear Sir, I am sorry you were not satisfied. We make our coffee to order in 16 ounce french presses so we can provide great coffee, freshly made. If you felt it was weak our server would have been happy to make you another pot and to your desired... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place has something for everyone and I highly recommend it - even for those watching their weight or who can't eat gluten. However, you should prepare to be tempted by just about everything on the menu. I love going with one of my girlfriends for a long chat over some Moroccan mint tea or coffee and a delicious lunch.... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've enjoyed many lovely lunches here. The food is very good, and tea selection wonderful. I especially enjoy their scones with clotted cream and jam. This is a warm and cosy spot in the winter with delightful outdoor seating in the summer. Stopping here for a snack or lunch on Farmer's Market Day in Ballston Spa makes for a nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

I work in a cafe so I was expecting a certain atmosphere. Kept on hearing about this place from people who know I have a passion for tea. When I walked in I was greeted pleasantly. I think I rushed the waitress slightly, whom was quiet and had a sweet disposition to her. I was just so eager to try... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole O
NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

I recently ate lunch at the Whistling Kettle. I had a salad, which was served fresh and was delicious. I asked the waitress for a recommendation of tea flavors and she did not steer me wrong. Hot water served in a sweet teapot. Others in the party ordered lunches served on a three tier plate.

Helpful?
Thank luv2flyNy
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

A great place for lunch, especially "high tea." Always a good choice after antiquing in Ballston Spa!

Helpful?
Thank Gloria O
Monticello, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

Great lunch stop during training at the Cornell Coop building. I had a roast beef sandwich with an au jois that was great. Could use something better than chips on the side. $3 extra for some greens or a soup is a lot. Teas are expensive but good and many choices. A lunch with a salad and tea is going... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick lunch while browsing the 'antique' shops in charming downtown Ballston Spa. We were seated in the 'shared ' tables in the back. I hate that. Too close to other people that I don't know. Husband and I both got lovely iced tea blends. Ridiculously expensive... $5 for a glass of iced tea! But the tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosetucci

Travellers who viewed The Whistling Kettle also viewed

 

Been to The Whistling Kettle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 19
Cuisine
American, Soups, Cafe, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 18:00
Monday
11:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 18:00
Thursday
11:00 - 18:00
Friday
11:00 - 19:00
Saturday
09:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Front St, Ballston Spa, NY 12020-1776
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Ballston Spa
  • Phone Number: +1 518-884-2664
Description
The Whistling Kettle is a full service cafe and tea room with a diverse menu offering for everyone. Paninis, crepes, artisan soups, plenty of salad choices, home made scones, tea sandwiches, beer and wine and over 150+ types of tea. We also offer all our tea in bulk as well as a full line of merchandise.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Whistling Kettle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?