We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Steffanie's Place

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
113 Irene Avenue | Montclair, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
+27 21 852 7584
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 362: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

I took 3 international colleagues for dinner. Atmosphere and food quality were on international standard. Good points:- Atmosphere is upmarket but relaxed Food preparation, taste and portions are very good. Not over the top fine dining but well presented. Broad selection menu from fish, chicken and beef Good prices Small but good wine list Excellent views Negative:- Waiters and chef... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nico v
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2017

The Saturday meal was great and on the strength of this, we booked for the Tuesday - mistake. Because of the wind, the terrace tables were piled up outside the picture window making it look like a second-hand shop. I chose the lamb shank which was allegedly slow-roasted. We were told the wait would be 35minutes. We said no problem.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penelope G
surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Read about this restaurant on Tripadvisor and so booked lunch at an outside table before leaving UK. Sure enough, we were given the very best table on the terrace with uninterrupted views down to Strand and Gordon's Bay. The food was so good that we immediately booked a table for dinner later that week and it was as good or... More 

Helpful?
Thank BsurreyUK
Alingsas, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Avoid visiting Stephanie's place in Somerst West, SA. If you like a great steak without finesse you can go there but not If you like "fine dining". You will be very desapointed. There are a lot of wine estate around Somerset West as you should chose instead. The restaurant is bad and expensive!

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth O
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017

It is probably our favourite eating place . We always feel really happy when we are there. The food is brilliant ,staff extremely well trained,the owner often makes an appearance and welcomes you. A little pricey but worth every rand. Don't expect to sit outside if it's windy or raining.

Helpful?
Thank 14jelly21
cape town
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Over the past 15 years we have tried this restaurant several times and we must say the service was average,the food good but we never rent comfortable. Two weeks ago we arrived rather Kate, 9pm. We did not want any food just a glass of wine, we told the receptionist, what we wanted and after a few dd

Helpful?
1 Thank helmut37
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2017

It really is a very special place, all the staff so friendly and at the same time highly efficient The food was excellent and the atmosphere and setting just perfect, !

Helpful?
Thank 274annie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2017

The food was excellent and the service was very professional. Lots to choose from on the food and wine list. Very popular and rightly so. We were with a large group. Eat early - it opens at 6:30... and enjoy the view of the sunset over the mountains in the background.

Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We arrived just before sunset, watched the sun go down and as the lights gradually started to appear. The food was really tasty and we all enjoyed each mouthful. Service was attentive and efficient, without being overbearing.

Helpful?
Thank Judith C
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Stephanie's is always busy and the views from the terrace, across Strand and the bay are spectacular. Sadly the terrace is part smoking, which makes the whole thing less attractive. We ate there on a slightly chilly evening, but indoors, in the warm – or, as it transpired – not. Service could best be described as “measured”, just the right... More 

Helpful?
Thank grahamee

Travellers who viewed Steffanie's Place also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Steffanie's Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
European, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 113 Irene Avenue | Montclair, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Somerset West
  • Phone Number: +27 21 852 7584

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Steffanie's Place and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Steffanie's Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?