We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Forno's of Spain Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
47 Ferry St, Newark, NJ 07105-1443 (Union Street)
+1 973-589-4767
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 - 22:30
Sat - Sun 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

546 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 522: English reviews
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a great time time Wednesday 5/24 for lunch. It is a popular place and we were sitting next to the bar. It's not a sit down bar which was great. The bread is awesome and 2 large salads came family style salads came with the meals. There were 5 of us. Had been there several years ago and enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank sunshine464
�G|ϗϨ�
Level Contributor
733 reviews
510 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Portions are enormous so I would suggest at least one less dish. Even the apps are big The paella is good but could be seasoned a little more. Very nice restaurant

Helpful?
Thank steverA8718SU
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stopped there for lunch after an appointment in Newark. The place was hopping but the servers were constantly on the move, there was graduation at Rutgers and lots of large family groups in. They started us out with salad and bread, and from the lunch menu I ordered the salmon and my wife ordered the chicken... More 

Helpful?
Thank smertie
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

El mejor de Newark the best 👌 Atención 💯 food ***** ambiente fenomenal sangría la mejor stuff poster delicious 😋

Helpful?
Thank F7413HProym
Andres R, Owner at Forno's of Spain Restaurant, responded to this review

F7413HProym, gracias! Best, Andres, Manager More 

Medford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well I might be a fairly good cook but the Paella wasn't very good at all. I could , and have, made better. On top of that, it was very expensive and I hate paying a lot for a poor meal. Especially when I can do much better. Also, our waiter tried to take our orders twice. He actually forgot... More 

Helpful?
Thank DonaldC382
Andres R, Owner at Forno's of Spain Restaurant, responded to this review

DonaldC382, we're glad that you feel very confident about your paella making skills, with that being said, our professional chefs know a thing our two about making delicious paella. We only serve authentic and gourmet dishes at our establishment, but if you didn't enjoy your food, then we would have been happy to work with you to see what else... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well made food full of flavors clean and frash, they know their business make you Hanna come back the famous paella is a great gastronomical experience.

Helpful?
Thank Teofilo d
Andres R, Owner at Forno's of Spain Restaurant, responded to this review

Teofilo, we're so glad you appreciated delicious food and great paella! We hope to serve you again. Best, Andres, Manager More 

Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to this restaurant because of the reviews that we read. Well, we were extremely dissatisfied . It was my sons college graduation and we had a total of 13 with us. Besides the rudeness of our waiter the food for the cost, was just fair. I would not recommend this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank poorbillies
Andres R, Owner at Forno's of Spain Restaurant, responded to this review

poorbillies, we aren't sure why your service wasn't the best, but we're truly sorry about that. We strive to make every dining experience a perfect one, but it appears that this was an off night for us, and we hope you'll accept our humble apology. Best, Andres, Manager More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am posting this to let everyone know that if you want to go somewhere with good customer service this is not the place to go. My husbands entree order was incorrect (honest mistake) the problem is that the manager never came over to apologize considering it was a shellfish allergy mistake. Mistakes happen but mangers should be there to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonafin
Andres R, Owner at Forno's of Spain Restaurant, responded to this review

Jonafin, we apologize for the confusion regarding your husband's dish. This isn't like us at all, and we're quite sorry about it. With that being said, we also should have handled this with the professionalism that we usually exude. Please accept our humble apology. - Andres, Manager More 

Steubenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place was fantastic! Bread and salad arrive immediately when you are seated. The menu selection surprised me at the number of options. We were there for the Paella. And paella we had-4 different types. I will say that there were 4of us at dinner and we each ordered a different paella. All for of us could have had our... More 

Helpful?
Thank SiberianHuskyLVR
Andres R, Owner at Forno's of Spain Restaurant, responded to this review

SiberianHuskyLVR, thanks so much for taking the time to leave this wonderful feedback. It's fantastic to see that you loved our paella, pasta, and wine selection. We cannot wait to host you again. Best, Andres, Manager More 

Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious seafood. Service is great and very professional. The salad put on the table for everyone has white asparagus. One of the best parts of the meal. Like a quick trip to Portugal. And, there's parking in the back.

Helpful?
Thank chacuzzolino
Andres R, Owner at Forno's of Spain Restaurant, responded to this review

chacuzzolino, we're so happy to read that you love our food and service. Your satisfaction is our priority and we're so glad that you loved dining with us. We can't wait to serve you another authentic meal. Best, Andres, Manager More 

Travellers who viewed Forno's of Spain Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Forno's of Spain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 20 - US$ 50
Cuisine
Seafood, European, Spanish, Portuguese, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:30
Thursday
11:30 - 22:30
Friday
11:30 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 47 Ferry St, Newark, NJ 07105-1443
    (Union Street)
  • Public Transportation: We are located a two blocks away from Newark Penn Station and New Jersey Transit, which is walking distance.
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Newark>  > North Ironbound
  • Neighbourhood: North Ironbound
  • Phone Number: +1 973-589-4767
Description
Fornos of Spain is an award winning Spanish restaurant located in Newark. For an authentic taste of fine Spanish dining, we welcome you to Fornos! **We now provide pickup and return shuttle services to all hotel guests in the Newark area. All guests have to do is call the restaurant. Monday-Thursday, 5pm - 11pm.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Forno's of Spain Restaurant and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question
Whiting, New Jersey
6 months ago
Newark, New Jersey
1 month ago
Wall Township, New Jersey
4 months ago
Bronx, New York
4 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Forno's of Spain Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?