We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wellington Room

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
67 Bow St, 2nd Floor, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3858
+1 603-431-2989
Tue - Sat 17:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When in Portsmouth, NH this is a place that you do not want to miss. They open at 5pm, perfect time to see the sun setting from their water front second story view. The seating is very cozy and the staff is amazing. No words can describe the food. Let me just say that it was the most perfect meal... More 

Thank Clay F
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an extremely disappointing meal. The staff were friendly but the food was awful. When you serve a dish that shares the name of the establishment it's probably wise to get it right. The pastry was mostly raw and ended up as a massive lump of putty on my plate. Had I not been on a diet and that the... More 

Thank Danpik2000
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Kelly was wonderful! The food was fantastic! We had the halibut which was perfectly cooked and we were served a generous portion.

Thank Anne E
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
291 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

Short version: New management since our last visit. Venue is still inviting but level of hospitality is not even close to prior hosts. Food was “OK” but prosaic, as with the hospitality did not meet the high expectations as set by the prior owners. We historically visit The Wellington Room during the Christmas season prepared to pay a premium for... More 

Thank jax14fun
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We have been to the Wellington Room on occasion for quite a few years. We had not been in a few years until tonight. We had reservations and were seated immediately in great seats overlooking the river,tugboats and new bridge. I usually start most any meal with a salad,but this. is one of the only restaurants I've ever frequented that... More 

Thank jimmarg37
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

Gloriously quiet, comfortable seating even though this is a tiny restaurant. But that is just st the beginning. Wait for the food! We aren't big eaters so we skipped the appetizers. The special bread & special butter were perfect while we sipped our wine waiting for our entree. And they were both superlative. My extra order of Brussel sprouts elevated... More 

1 Thank BabciH
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
378 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Had a great evening with friends. The service was good, Joshua was very sweet and efficient. The Statler Chicken was delicious. The Chocolate Mousse was incredible, I left wanting more. The special drink of the evening, Maple Bourbon Expresso Martini was excellent. The restaurant is on the second floor overlooking the river. There are only about 8 or 9 tables,... More 

1 Thank Kay S
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

The Wellington Room has new owners and unfortunately they also have new chefs. The beef Wellington, which was the focus of menu, is no longer a point of interest. What should be a puff pastry surrounding the filet, is now a flat, heavy, piece of dough. It seemed like it wasn't cooked it was so doughy. I knew as soon... More 

2 Thank MaryE6477
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

You will want a reservation. This is an extremely small establishment. My husband and I thought the food was extraordinary. He had gnocchi. I had salmon. Remarkable. Another guest with us, however, also had the gnocchi and thought it was dreadful. Different tastebuds. For dessert, we both had creme brulee - for the first time. A shame our first was... More 

1 Thank Mrs Andrew C
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

This had been one of our favorite restaurants whenever we visited Portsmouth. Unfortunately, the restaurant is now under new management and the quality of the meals has declined considerably. My first entree had to be returned because it was tough and tasteless. They replaced it with another entry that was undercooked and had to be sent back only to be... More 

5 Thank travelreviews67
WELLINGTON-ROOM, Owner at The Wellington Room, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Robinson, let me take this opportunity to express how deeply concerned I am about your experience. However I would also like to take this opportunity in reminding you about the unacceptable manner in which you behaved. Firstly you told my New Manager to "wait wait wait" three times after he offered to take your coat. You emphatically asked... More 

Travellers who viewed The Wellington Room also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH

Been to The Wellington Room? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 25 - US$ 39
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Takeout
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, View
Open Hours
17:00 - 21:00
17:00 - 21:00
17:00 - 21:00
17:00 - 21:00
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 67 Bow St, 2nd Floor, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3858
  • Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +1 603-431-2989
World Cuisine served in a small romantic setting with Stunning River Views.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Wellington Room and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Chichester, United Kingdom
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Windham, New Hampshire
over a year ago
Atkinson, New Hampshire, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?