We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sushi Hana Downtown

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
403 North Higgins Ave, Downtown, Missoula, MT 59802
+1 406-549-7979
Website
Today
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 21:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 17:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 15:00
Fri - Sat 17:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016

Never thought I'd have sushi in Montana, but was so glad we went to Sushi Hana! We were one vegan and one carni and both were extremely happy with the food and service. We started with a flight of saki, which was a wonderful way to compare and learn about different varieties. The unfiltered "milk" saki was a fantastic find... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nightsinge
Floyd H, Owner at Sushi Hana Downtown, responded to this review

Great to hear! We've added some more vegetarian items last year so it's good to hear the feedback on those. We do try and carry some sake that you won't find other places, so I'm glad you noticed that too. We'll see you next time you're in town. Thanks again. More 

Coalinga, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016

Traveling through and wanted sushi. It was very busy and without reservations we only had a 5 minute wait. The waitress was knoweldgeable and efficient. My spider roll was good as well as the sushi rolls. The price was very reasonable as it was $1.00 sushi night that had a limited menu but made the other full price additions an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oxbogirl
Floyd H, Owner at Sushi Hana Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping by! We hope you'll do it again. More 

Firestone, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

We enjoyed our sushi and it was good. We got there before it was busy on a Friday evening. We usually expect Sushi to take a while to get to the table, but with the restaurant not being busy yet, it took too long to get our order. Though the server was friendly, he wasn't very attentive. They had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Floyd H, Owner at Sushi Hana Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for coming in. I'm not sure what the smell was, it must've came in the back from the outside and gotten stuck in the hall. The bathrooms are constantly checked, clean and sanitized, but we can't watch what every guest does. There is always a manager or owner around. If there's a problem let us know and we'll take... More 

missoula, mt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Best sushi in Missoula. Clean and fast service. Never had a bad tasting piece of fish here.......check it out

Helpful?
Thank kneester
Floyd H, Owner at Sushi Hana Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much! More 

Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Visited on Saturday night. No trouble getting a table. Great waitstaff, great food with awesome presentation. These guys know how to do sushi right. Saki is hot and they have a variety to choose from. This is the place for sushi in Missoula!

Helpful?
1 Thank awhipster1
Floyd H, Owner at Sushi Hana Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review and thanks for choosing to spend your Saturday night with us! We're glad to hear you had a good time hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2016

Wednesday night is dollar sushi night! We have gone back again and again for very fresh expertly prepared sushi and the fried green tea ice cream is to die for! Wednesday night is a great date night as it is completely affordable without any sacrifice in quality. They have sushi for the timid too (cooked shrimp, a steamed egg sweeter... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Marie H
Floyd H, Owner at Sushi Hana Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for supporting us! If there's anything we can do better, just let us know next time you're in or you can always email us at manager@sushimissoula.com More 

Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2016

We eat here occasionally. This visit we had a variety of shared dishes, including spider makisushi, Gyoza, California Girl sushi rolls, and shrimp/vegetable tempura. It took a while to receive our food but once it arrived, we enjoyed it. I was disappointed to see so much kani-kama on the menu, instead of real crab, but glad it was noted as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grizingraz
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Stopped by for dinner for Wednesday's dollar sushi night as part of a girls night out. Restaurant was nicely decorated. Our waitress wasn't overly helpful, even after telling her it was our first time there. She handed us the ordering ticket and let us figure it out. All the sushi we ordered was really good, but quite a few were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sgdustin
Floyd H, Owner at Sushi Hana Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for coming in! We're happy to hear you like our food and the new look. The ordering system on Monday's and Wednesday's is a little different because of the volume of customers and food we serve on those nights. Your sever should've definetly been more helpful, especially since it was your first time. I'll see that the staff up... More 

Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2016

We had stopped going to Sushi Hana because we were disappointed in the quality of the food and service. However, I recently found that both had improved substantially. Good to see! We were also having a holiday open house and decided to try one of their party platters. They went out of their way to be sure the platter was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lpsh
Floyd H, Owner at Sushi Hana Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and than you for noticing the changes, not only in management, but ownership! Now that Yuriko is an owner, she's free to make the changes she wants. You can expect things to get better and better. Things we've done already: New menu design with lower prices and new dishes; better quality food; better service, remodeled interior;... More 

Lolo, Montana
Level Contributor
127 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2015

Whew! Takes a while to (a) order; (b) get the food...I thought my dinner was listless and mediocre...but I'll go back again. Might have been an off night. Saki-toomi Saki...good...piping hot and delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Elliott O
Floyd H, Owner at Sushi Hana Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Elliot. Thanks for coming by. Everyone of us is dedicated to making our restaurant better and better. I'd like to hear the details of your visit so we can continue improving. You can send us an email at manager@sushimissoula.com or give us a call. Next time you're in, if everything isn't perfect, speak up and let us know. It's... More 

Travellers who viewed Sushi Hana Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Hana Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 35
Cuisine
Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
11:30 - 15:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
11:30 - 15:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
11:30 - 15:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
11:30 - 15:00
Friday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 21:30
Saturday
11:30 - 15:00
17:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 403 North Higgins Ave, Downtown, Missoula, MT 59802
  • Location: United States  >  Montana (MT)  >  Missoula
  • Phone Number: +1 406-549-7979
Description
Specializing in sushi, Sushi Hana Downtown is the first sushi bar and Japanese restaurant to open in Montana. We serve traditional Japanese and sushi dishes as well as original contemporary ones.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sushi Hana Downtown and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Bigfork, Montana
11 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sushi Hana Downtown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?