We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7103 NW Barry Rd, Kansas City, MO 64153
+1 816-746-4848
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 113: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really good food. This is not a "Tex Mex" restaurant. So many great choices. I lot of vegetation and meat options.

Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Glad that you came in and enjoyed! We love it when our customers mention the fact that we aren't a typical Tex-Mex place - we are authentic (although we will do a tex-mex option of course). Our menu is very diverse and we are glad people notice and can find what they want here. Please come back soon. More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only my 2nd time here. Brought out of town friends and really enjoyed the food and company. Small restaurant, so come early or plan ahead. Very authentic Mexican Food.

Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we do fill up fast so your tip about coming early is appreciated! Come back soon and be sure to check out our social media pages to keep up with promotions, etc. More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016

If you're looking for tex-mex this is the wrong place. Since our family enjoys actual Mexican food, we are big fans. We've never had a bad meal.

Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016

Four adult and a ten-year old enjoyed this restaurant. Service was good. Food was tasty and piping hot!

Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Thank you for coming in and for the feedback - always a pleasure! More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

Is ok, i dont know if things have changed but it used to be a lot better. The service is good, i just believe the food used to be a lot better.

Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you just thought it was ok - we would like to know more information as we are here to improve where needed! Let us know! More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

Given the reviews, we expected more from this place...and perhaps that is what led to a certain disappointment. The chips were cold...the salsa bland...the guacamole a tad tired. There was nothing wrong with any of it...just not the excellence that can lift a meal into something special. We love Mexican food, and in the end, best to stick to basic... More 

Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you didn't think we measured up - although you didn't mention what entrees you ordered. As far as the items you did mention, those are basic tex-mex items - we are known for our more authentic dishes and would love to recommend one of those to you if you decide to try us again. Thank you... More 

Holden, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

The temp. Outside was hot , the temp inside was nearly the same. When I complained, 10 minutes later someone adjusted the thermostat. about the time it cooled down, they readjusted the thermostat.I checked, they adjusted it to 86 degrees. one waitress was working the entire floor, when the food arrived, it was cold and the order was wrong. what... More 

Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Occasionally we have a staff member that can't come in and we do get short staffed. Your order was immediately corrected and I hope that you told the manager about the thermostat issue. We apologize for that inconvenience - we try to keep everyone happy and it doesn't always work out that way. Thank you for the feedback. More 

Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Good food, OK salsa and chips. Nothing amazing or eye rolling but good mexican. Service a little slow, but the waitress took care of us.

Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback but now hope you will come in and ask for a personal recommendation so that we can attempt to amaze you! Let us know! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I had been hearing good things about this restaurant. We have already tried to eat here once for dinner and it was too long of a wait- it is a very small restaurant. Today, we were very happy when we were only the 2nd table seated for lunch. The chips and salsa were amazing. All was well until we got... More 

Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

I apologize for the waiter not returning and will discuss this at our next staff meeting. If you do decide to come back, please allow me to offer a personal recommendation to you for some more authentic cuisine - that's our real specialty and I would love to show you. Thank you for your feedback. More 

Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016

We love everything about Ixtapa! The food, Margaritas are amazing, the family that owns it is always over the top friendly and helpful and your supporting a small business all in one.

Alejandro H, Owner at Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to see you! See you soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Ixtapa Mexican Cuisine also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 15
Cuisine
Mexican
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7103 NW Barry Rd, Kansas City, MO 64153
  • Location: United States  >  Missouri (MO)  >  Kansas City
  • Phone Number: +1 816-746-4848

Questions & Answers