We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chaz on the Plaza

325 Ward Pkwy, The Raphael Hotel, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
+1 816-802-2152
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good22%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (24 reviews)
“veal oscar” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
American, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
325 Ward Pkwy, The Raphael Hotel, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

We recently stayed at the Raphael a small boutique hotel adjacent to Country Club Plaza in Kansas City, Missouri. The hotel was outstanding but we were disappointed with Chaz, the hotel restaurant. My wife ordered the pork tenderloin which was average. I ordered the Signature...More

Thank verdere
Bill C, General Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

verdure, Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the Hotel. I obviously want to apologize for the disappointment you endured with your dining experience in Chaz. If you would be willing to contact me at bill@raphaelkc.com, I would like to discuss this unfortunate...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018

In August of 2004, my wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary in a most remarkable way – we spent the weekend at the Raphael Hotel and dined at the Chaz Restaurant in the lower level of the historic building. For our anniversary dinner, we...More

Thank scott h
Bill C, General Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Scott h, Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your unfortunate dining experience. We certainly want to apologize for the challenges you endured. As you know, our Food and beverage Director has already been in contact with you, and will continue...More

Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Local elder hangout, uniwue menu combinations. Cooked steaks incorrectly,...both. Crowded room setup, live music crammed in corner. Service nice but slow at times. Expensive. Hard working very cute bartender..Gina.More

Thank colesloough
Jordan C, Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hello Colesloough, Thanks you for taking the time to leave your feedback. While we are glad you enjoyed our menu and the service, I am sorry that the rest of the experience was below our standards. We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable experience, and...More

Reviewed 2 December 2017

We were staying at the Raphael so we dined there on one of our nights. We requested a secluded booth which was fun and festive. A nice touch was the staff leaving a signed Birthday card at the table for our guest of honor celebrating...More

Thank jbgshrink
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We had made a reservation on OpenTable at 3:00, but did not get seated until 3:15. The maitre’d claimed it was because they did not want to rush the people who were sitting at the tables. Instead, I think they had not spaced their reservations...More

Thank Richard J
Patrick J, Front Office Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Richard, Thank you dining with us and sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you described. I will be sending you a message and hope to have the opportunity to learn more about where we went wrong and how we can improve for...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017

The Chaz is so cool. The interior of the Chaz is what I think a restaurant should be like. Each table or booth is private, yet you can hear the live music when they have it. The service is superb and the quality of the...More

1  Thank tommyboyks
Bill C, General Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

tommyboyks, Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit to Chaz. We really appreciate you taking the time and effort to share your thoughts, and love the way you describe things. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 25 October 2017

Unfortunately, as nice as the hotel is in terms of ambience and service, the restaurant during breakfast was a huge disappointment in all respects. Service, quality of dishes, and uncomfortable seating and table arrangements. Desparate for a major change in management and kitchen staff.More

Thank hakccmd
Jordan C, Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hello Hakccmd, We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments about your recent experience at Chaz, and I am sorry that you did not have a better experience. We want every guest to enjoy their visit, and unfortunately in your case we have...More

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Horrible service, mediocre food 2 vegetarians,who called 1st to let the kitchen knew they were coming in tonight and all the could put together was pasta...come on it is 2017, if you call yourself a continental hotel and contemporary restaurant don't be so provincial, boring...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jordan C, Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hello, I am sorry to hear about your experience. We always try to exceed our guests expectations and clearly we have failed in your case. I would be grateful if you would contact me at jordan.carver@raphaelkc.com so that I could pursue the matter further. I...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We had a wonderful brunch at this restaurant. The steak and eggs were perfect. The service was amazing. Could not have been happier with this choice. Definetly will be back!

Thank debidorandy
Jordan C, Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks, debidorandy, glad to hear you had a great time.

Reviewed 30 September 2017

I tried this restaurant based on the excellent reviews. I was not disappointed. The decor was very upscale and inviting. Food was delicious and the staff was very friendly. I will return.

1  Thank luv_vegas123_4_me
Jordan C, Manager at Chaz on the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hello, Thanks for the kind words, we appreciate your review and it's great to hear you enjoyed your experience.

Nearby HotelsSee all 112 hotels in Kansas City
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
912 reviews
.03 km away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
1,650 reviews
.07 km away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
262 reviews
.39 km away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
771 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Gram & Dun
827 reviews
.23 km away
Jack Stack Barbecue
1,624 reviews
.29 km away
Seasons 52
534 reviews
.09 km away
BRIO Tuscan Grille
403 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
2,664 reviews
1.07 km away
The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden
225 reviews
1.10 km away
The National Museum of Toys and Miniatures
211 reviews
1.27 km away
J.C. Nichols Memorial Fountain
147 reviews
.77 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kathleen P
25 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Deanna B | Property representative |
We have our outdoor summer concert series, Strings on the Green from 4p-7p and inside the music is from 7p-11p. We look forward to seeing you soon!
20 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bill C | Property representative |
Hello Valerie, Thank you for your question regarding smoking areas near Chaz. We do have an outside uncovered patio area just a few steps outside of Chaz, where smoking is permissible. Of course, remember it is outside, and... More
20 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Patrick J | Property representative |
Thank you all for your replies. As they mentioned, we do have an outdoor patio area that is easily accessible from the Chaz Restaurant.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 25 - US$ 41
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene
Open Hours
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 325 Ward Pkwy, The Raphael Hotel, Kansas City, MO 64112-2111
  • Location: United States  >  Missouri (MO)  >  Kansas City
  • Phone Number: +1 816-802-2152
  • E-mail
Our Kansas City Plaza restaurant's charming atmosphere is enhanced by modern American cuisine & live music performed nightly and from 10 am - 1 pm during Weekend Jazz Brunch Saturdays and Sundays. Menus at the hotel's Chaz Restaurant in Kansas City reflect regional bounty & the culinary team's creativity. Cuisine is complemented with a Wine Spectator Award-winning wine list, domestic and imported beers, cocktails, spirits, single malt Scotch and Bourbons, and a selection of liqueurs and ports.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing