We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
68
29
8
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
68
29
8
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Traveling south from Munising, looking for somewhere to have breakfast and the first promising restaurant we saw was Delona. Lucky break for us - a cute log cabin with friendly staff and excellent food. Make this your stop for breakfast or lunch. Trust me, there...isn’t much to eat while traveling through the Hiawatha National Forest!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Delona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to reach out with a positive review, Angela!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Think twice before going here. There are plenty of over great restaurants. Waitress NEVER told us what the hold up was but we over heard that a order went to the wrong table. NO one should wait over an hour to eat. RUN save yourself.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Heather T, Guest Relations Manager at Delona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Karenma2016! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize for the experience and would love to make things right for you.

Reviewed 25 July 2021

I have a service dog for my son but she had just had surgery and was quiet and resting in a fully enclosed stroller when I decided to bring her in because it is 82 degrees out. The waitress asked if I had papers for...her and I said no. I was going to explain that my son has her info on his phone since that’s the modern option and she was so loud and obnoxious carrying on that we needed to take her out that we simply decided to leave. It wasn’t a problem to accommodate anything they requested but I find that if they act so ridiculous, loud and obnoxious that it’s not a place we want to stay at anyway. I have hearing loss but even I could hear how loud they were being and my son who is autistic said they really didn’t need to go on so loud that the entire place could hear them. It really was obnoxious. We travel daily and travel across country with my sons service dog and this literally is the first place that acted like that. We remained entirely professional despite their rudeness and jumping to conclusions that Austin didn’t have his info on his phone. So we took our food to go and for the first time ever we did not leave a tip. Their tip is to act professionally at all times and perhaps instead of loudly going on maybe listen for a moment so they guest can explain where the info is.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 14 July 2021

We stopped here for the first time and what a wonderful place! We had sandwiches and homemade chips. The prime rib sandwich was delicious along with the turkey wrap. There were many breakfast options as well. Quick service too! We highly recommend this place

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Heather T, Manager at Delona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

We strive to provide delicious food and attentive service, Golferandfooie! Thanks for taking the time to acknowledge what we do here. Take care.

Reviewed 9 November 2020

My wife and I had breakfast here during our trip. No complaints everything was delicious . More than enough food for the price. Staff was friendly and prompt. Someone wrote a review complaining about masks. Well I would give six stars If i could for...common sense.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
heathert737, Guest Relations Manager at Delona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to leave this review, WitkowskiHebronIn. We appreciate you!

Reviewed 22 October 2020

Travelling up through the U.P. of Michigan. Was told that this restaurant was under new ownership and it was phenomenal. He was exactly correct! Service was really good, the food also matched that. Price was fair, again to get good food with good service---it was...worth it! Felt like I was a regular. Look for this place if heading north of Escanaba it would be on your right, if heading south of Gladstone would be on your left. I have friends that eat here every day, so I trust in their account of this place. I have eaten at a lot of places and this place is not fancy, and they make you feel at home. I see some complaining about masks. They have a sign on the door, but they aren't freaking out with disposable menus etc...Wash you hands after you look at menu. Enjoy the meal. Though if that is a concern of mask wearing-I can sympathize and you can check out another place for now and then come back to Delona at a later date.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
heathert737, Guest Relations Manager at Delona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2020

Thank you so much for the kind words, Chiefbluehawk. We are honored that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 19 October 2020 via mobile

Stopped here this morning for breakfast. They were not requiring guests or staff to wear masks in violation of state law. Not only is it disappointing that they are willing to risk the health of their guests and staff by ignoring this health order, it...makes me wonder what other health ordinances they are choosing to ignore. We did not stay to eat and will never go back.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
heathert737, Owner at Delona Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

We appreciate your feedback and opinion.

Reviewed 17 February 2020

We have eaten here several times. When it is good - it is great and when it is not good - it is terrible. There is no consistency in the quality of the food and you never know what you are going to get.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 October 2019

We popped in for a small lunch, soup and shared sandwich, which was fine so we went back for dinner rather than drive into Escabana. Both chose steak based on what we saw coming from the kitchen. My wife's was excellent, mine less so. Hers...replicated what we had seen but mine was thin and tired looking, would dispute it was the advertised weight. No I didn't complain so my fault. Background music, my era so enjoyed that.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

We stopped there on a Saturday for a late breakfast and a lunch we ordered and had to wait 55 minutes for our food. My husbands breakfast he said was good, but my corn beef sandwich wasn’t. The corn beef was tough. We were there...for over an hour and a half, And most of that was sitting around watching the people while we wait for our food. This wasn’t the first time we waited that long, hubby says no more.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Terrace Bay Hotel
637 reviews
.26 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
234 reviews
3.41 km away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
970 reviews
3.52 km away
Super 8 by Wyndham Escanaba
442 reviews
3.57 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Freshwater Tavern
326 reviews
.26 km away
The Saloon
69 reviews
5.05 km away
Main Street Pizza
31 reviews
5.65 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ludington Park
105 reviews
6.69 km away
Van Cleve Park
6 reviews
4.92 km away
Leigh's Garden Winery
37 reviews
6.66 km away
Irish Oaks Golf Course
7 reviews
3.89 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
GlobeTrotting594565
31 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from heathert737 | Property representative |
No we do not, sorry. There is a wonderful winery close by though, Leigh's Garden Winery. :)
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Delona Restaurant

Yes, Delona Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, Delona Restaurant offers delivery services.

Delona Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4