We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bull And Claw

2270 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4716
+1 207-646-8467
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“prime rib” (55 reviews)
“lobster” (95 reviews)
“soup” (35 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2270 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4716
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 753 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We were in Maine on our honeymoon and came in for dinner. We were seated right away but after seven minutes with no service I got up and went to the bar to request service but there was no bartender around. I walked around looking...More

Thank solshines
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Just don’t go here. Service was awful, food was beyond awful. Wish I had done more research before eating here.

Thank nancyjobrien
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

....and I’m anxious. Let’s see where this goes from here. After all, it has four stars, right? Seated promptly, although it’s 3:15pm. Our server is definitely from here and has probably worked here most of her years. Paper napkins, butter and rolls served in paper...More

Thank TheWiseOwl-AZ
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I wish you would have had a better meal with us -- especially since we were your last stop in Maine. Definitely feel free, like you did, to let your servers know if something isn't up to par for you. Looks like you enjoyed the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service was slow. Meal was over priced and the portion size was small. We were charged $3.00 for an extra plate to share a meal.More

Thank jvandersyde
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry to see you left with this impression. We think our prices match our portions and quality perfectly. We also get busy but that is no excuse for less than perfect service. I appreciate this feedback. Have a great week, Daryl T, Owner since...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Treated friends to what I thought would be a great restaraunt. I would never go back. The service was awful, their food was mediocre. Go across the street to the Maine Diner instead. Don't waste your time or money!More

Thank Marisa403
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're sorry if we didn;t show you our best this time, Marisa. We wish you would have let a manager know about your food while you were in because we'd have been happy to adjust or replace it until it was perfect. Next time, we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the Bull and Claw with a tour group. The staff handled the whole group smoothly, professionally, and with a great attitude. We had lobster with all the fixings and loved it. Highly recommend this restaurant.,More

Thank pat52101
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We love having big groups -- they're always so fun! We were more than happy to accommodate and am so pleased to see you enjoyed our food. Hope we get to see you again if you're ever back in town! Enjoy Maine, Daryl T, Owner...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the ball and claw twice while we were on a 10 day visit to Maine. The first time was for dinner and we had a very nice seafood dinner with great service. We came back for the buffet breakfast on Sunday which...More

Thank jujubeepa
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You stopped by twice?! How awesome. You got to experience two different sides of our restaurant and loved them both -- this makes me so happy. I hope you'll swing by again whenever you're back in town! Buffet breakfast is always a must, Daryl T,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cute Maine country themed seafood and steak restaurant. Fast seating. Lots of choices. Nice, clean salad bar. Soups and breads were almost out, but very good. We went at an off time, so they were replenishing as we left. I enjoyed my Captain Morgan stuffed...More

Thank shamrockri1
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Looks like you enjoyed your meal! And so did your sister -- this is what I like to see. You'll both have to come back at a different time so you can see us at full force. Thanks for the compliments, Daryl T, Owner since...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband had salmon and I had the lobster pie. Both meals were absolutely delicious. The restaurant was clean, service was good, and it was altogether a wonderful dining experience. My one caveat is the length of time we waited to be seated. The restaurant...More

Thank BetsyJ
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We seat our customers based off of which waiters are working that night and who is available to take on more. Sometimes we have days with shorter staff so it simply takes a little longer, but we appreciate your patience. Looks like your meal was...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Maybe it depends on what you order or whether you’re a local. I am not sure. I’d say from the owners responses on previous views that I’ve read on here is that he tries to keep his restaurant on the up and up. However, we...More

1  Thank Familytime143
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I understand that it's not fun to feel sick after a meal. I can assure you that we follow all health and food regulations. With that being said, your meal should have been cooked perfectly. Please feel free to send your food back if it's...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Maine Diner
2,082 reviews
.05 km away
Big Daddy's
179 reviews
.37 km away
Brewed Awakenings
63 reviews
1.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wells Beach
769 reviews
4.43 km away
Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge
395 reviews
1.35 km away
Wells Reserve at Laudholm
205 reviews
1.17 km away
Parson's Beach
68 reviews
3.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sally s
25 February 2016|
Answer
Response from BullnClaw | Property representative |
Hi Sally, There is no room charge for groups. We do many rehearsal dinners. Usually because of the casual atmosphere and great food which what a rehearsal dinner is all about... fun, friends and food! Our website has a... More
0
Votes
Sally M
24 April 2015|
Answer
Response from BullnClaw | Property representative |
Hi Sally, Everything is available with legs!
0
Votes
Joyce M
31 December 2014|
Answer
Response from BullnClaw | Property representative |
Hi Joyce, Yes we are open NYD 11am-8pm
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 100
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Digital Payments, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2270 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4716
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +1 207-646-8467
  • E-mail
Description
Located in Wells, The Bull N' Claw offers the highest quality seafood and steaks at the most reasonable prices with portions that will make you smile after every scrumptious bite! Over the past 36 years, we've become the destination for visitors to New England to enjoy deliciously fresh local seafood including our famous cape porpoise lobster, always prepared to order. It doesn't get any fresher or any better than Bull N' Claw.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing