We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bull And Claw

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2270 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4716
+1 207-646-8467
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 651: English reviews
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I say that because I haven't had king crab in 25 years, and ta-DA, it was on the menu at Bull and Claw. HUGE proportion, I could hardly eat it all. Not only that, they gave me a scissors to make it easier to extract the huge chunks of meat in the legs. We eat here often when we visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee P
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Dee, it was our pleasure to make sure that you were able to enjoy some delicious crab for the first time in a long time -- thanks for letting us be the ones to serve you! Furthermore, it's great to see that your husband enjoyed his meal as well -- it was an honor to host you both, and we... More 

Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Thanksgiving dinner there was terrible. The vegetables were not cooked through and the turkey was dry. The gravy was tasteless and I didn't receive the cranberry sauce as stated on menu as being included. The other meal was prime rib which they gave turkey gravy instead of au jus and the meat was so tough you couldn't chew it. As... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoyceByrne4
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Joyce, I'm so disappointed to hear we let you down on Thanksgiving. Hearing how much our other guests enjoyed the holiday meal, I can't help but feel something went wrong. Please know, we're always happy to make any corrections on the spot if we're made aware, and I hope you were able to let your server know. If there's anything... More 

Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very generous portions. I had a wonderful Salmon dish. Because we had great appetizers we could not finish our meals. Made Salmon salad next day.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Patricia, I'm so glad you enjoyed everything, and it's great to hear the leftovers were delicious too! We appreiate you coming by, and we hope we can welcome you back soon. Take care! All the best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Vergennes, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Bull and Claw during our annual fall get-away to Maine. We have stayed in Wells plenty of times but have never eaten here, so after several of our friends recommended it, we decided to give it a try. It was a Thursday night, and not many people in the restaurant. We got seated right away, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianne J
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Dianne, I'm so glad you decided to follow-up on your friend's recommendation! We're so thrilled we could be a part of your belated birthday celebration, and it's great to hear you two had a wonderful time. We're looking forward to welcoming you back, and we truly appreciate you taking some time to spread the word! Take care. All the best,... More 

Twin Mountain, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here two times great food and waitresses. Took a drive to the beach. Checked out a couple of thrift shops.

Helpful?
Thank mrsg580jj
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

We're so glad you've enjoyed your meals here -- thank you for the kind words! I hope you had a wonderful time exploring the area, and we truly appreciate you taking some time to support us too. Looking forward to the next time we can welcome you back! Take care. All the best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice place to eat. The staff is very friendly and it's a nice atmosphere. The food is very good and it is priced well.

Helpful?
Thank adevoe70
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

I'm thrilled you've had a chance to stop by -- thank you for the kind words! It's great to hear the staff has made you feel right at home, and I'm so glad you enjoy the menu as well. Hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon! Take care. All the best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We live 3 hours into the great north woods of Maine. We love it here but when I am dying for a dose of the Atlantic Ocean and can not stand it another moment, I drag my husband to Wells Beach! We always stay at the Sea Mist and always eat at the Bull 'n Claw!

Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Lynn, we're so thrilled to be a stop on your map during your visits to Wells Beach! We enjoyed reading your note, and we can't wait to welcome you back to our neck of the woods someday soon. Take care! All the best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
227 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to the Bull and Claw for dinner. There were a few people in the restaurant, but it was not busy. The waitress was not real prompt to greet us, and overall the service was extremely slow. We waited a long time for our meal and also our check. My husband had the mussels, and I had the lobster roll.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LuckyMesaAZ
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

I'm disappointed the service you encountered wasn't more on the ball, and I sincerely apologize we let you down! We'll certainly be looking into why there was a delay, and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. In the mean time, if there's any chance we can make this right with you, I hope you'll consider joining us for... More 

Glens Falls
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

The staff is friendly and it was clean. I had New England Chowder and Fish and Chips. Both were good. My husband chose the boneless wings and said they were good. It is a family restaurant with average food. We stopped on a rainy Saturday so it was not really busy. We were able to score a spot next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank outandabout704
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

So glad you two could enjoy a meal by the fire place! Though I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the food, it sounds like there might've been a little room for improvement on our end. Please know, we're always happy to prepare anything more to one's preference if we're made aware! Hope we can look forward to seeing you around... More 

Guilford, Indiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Stopped here for late dinner. Apparently they were very short staffed as we stood at the reception desk for about 15 minutes and the place was not crowded. Had to wait a while to place our order and then wait a good while for it to be served. We had the crab stuffed shells. it was tasty and very hot.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LindaLin63
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize we were short that day, Linda -- we're disappointed we let you down. I hope we'll have a chance to make this right with you, as we'd love to show you a better time! Thank you for the feedback -- take care. All the best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Been to Bull And Claw? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 100
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Digital Payments, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2270 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4716
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +1 207-646-8467
Description
Located in Wells, The Bull N' Claw offers the highest quality seafood and steaks at the most reasonable prices with portions that will make you smile after every scrumptious bite! Over the past 36 years, we've become the destination for visitors to New England to enjoy deliciously fresh local seafood including our famous cape porpoise lobster, always prepared to order. It doesn't get any fresher or any better than Bull N' Claw.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bull And Claw and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Alburgh, Vermont
Wells, Maine
over a year ago
Brunswick, Maine
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bull And Claw staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?