We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lost Gull Fish N' Chips

479 Main St, Oxford, ME 04270-3145
+1 207-539-8669
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good22%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fried seafood” (10 reviews)
“onion rings” (11 reviews)
“haddock” (15 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
479 Main St, Oxford, ME 04270-3145
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Love the fried haddock and onion rings here! If you get a seafood platter, be prepared to take some home, they give you plenty!

Thank Travelinggirl2018
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I’ve been here many times over many years! I love the onion rings ! It’s the perfect batter ! I wish that was the same batter on the haddock and clams ! It’s more of a breading . They are still good ! Good food...More

Thank Mamaz6054
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We were headed to the Casino and looked up reviews for a quick lunch. Thanks, TripAdvisors! What a gem of a little place! You order at the counter and they call your number. There are picnic tables outside and inside and high tops. It was...More

Thank FoodLustNH
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent lobster rolls and fried shrimp and chips. The lobster stew and clam chowder was also very good. Great place for a quick bite to eat.

Thank H S
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Very good food for a great price. This is a small hole in the wall restaurant that is worth finding if you love seafood.

Thank MikeM6542
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Not much to look at but such good food. Seating outside or inside. Tip that it’s great- always filled with locals.

Thank DCmom4
Reviewed 30 July 2018

This roadside joint is definitely to be missed. The food is truly awful. There is basically a take-out place, with a few picnic tables outside.More

Thank Weltbummler8
Chris M, online response at The Lost Gull Fish N' Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

We are sorry you did not enjoy your time at our restaurant. You are the only person that has ever said our food is "truly awful", and it would be helpful to know what exactly was terrible so we can improve on it. We mainly...More

Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Plenty of food options and I tried several items. All excellent. My only criticism was the benches and tables could stand to be cleaned.

Thank Derek V
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Being native New Englanders but living in Florida for the past 28 yrs. filling up on seafood is a must when we visit the area. Pros: the portions are huge, we both ordered a pick 3 platter but could have shared one easily. The place...More

Thank dadinwpb
Chris M, online response at The Lost Gull Fish N' Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for the feedback. Our onion rings are considered some of the best people have ever had so we can't make any changes. I just want to clarify with people who may see your review that we do not use the onion ring batter...More

Reviewed 13 July 2018

The triple combo platter is HUGE....enough to feed 3 -4 people and the onion rings are DELICIOUS! Always busy there but prompt friendly service .

Thank Sharon L
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Hampton Inn Oxford
224 reviews
2.63 km away
Paris Inn Motel
16 reviews
10.08 km away
Inn Town Motel
31 reviews
10.10 km away
Poland Spring Resort
446 reviews
13.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Egg-Ceptional Restaurant
39 reviews
7.61 km away
Kathy's Diner
27 reviews
6.39 km away
Eggcettera
15 reviews
7.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oxford Casino
294 reviews
2.69 km away
McLaughlin Gardens
26 reviews
10.25 km away
Books N Things
13 reviews
10.82 km away
Poland Spring Preservation Park
41 reviews
14.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jill M
28 May 2017|
Answer
Response from H S | Reviewed this property |
I doubt it most everything is fried, or lobster meat in a bun. I guess you could just ask for lobster no bun.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 25
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 479 Main St, Oxford, ME 04270-3145
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +1 207-539-8669
  • E-mail
Description
The Lost Gull Fish N Chips proudly serves fresh Maine seafood to the people of the Oxford Hills Region. It is a staple to the area, and has visitors from all over the world. A special place to visit and be a part of!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing