We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alter Goldener Berg

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015, 2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
The restaurant "Alter Goldener Berg" of the family hotel Goldener Berg, offers you traditional Austrian delicacies. Enjoy the rustic restaurant and the variety of the Austrian cuisine. Treat yourself depending on the season delicacies. Along with the delicacies, we offer you a range selection of fine wines from our private wine cellar. Find out about the offer in the Alter Goldener Berg.
PRICE RANGE
US$ 23 - US$ 57
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Austrian, Central European, European
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
28
14
6
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
28
14
6
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fondue pasta low ceilings ate here old style goldener berg terrace lech wood stube
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
What did you think of Alter Goldener Berg?
Click to rate
1 - 10 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the fondue chinois so meat cooked in broth. Absolutely fabulous. Lovely setting. Excellent service. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 306bertw
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved the Alter Goldener Berg Restaurant. From the cozy, wood-paneled “Stube” to the first class meal, it was an evening to remember! The restaurant is a short walk from the top of the Oberlech cable car on a well-lit path, which on a moonlit...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank frau723
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

Horrible experience.. very bad service and no respect to time .. had wait for a pre booked table and food took an hour to arrive.. would not recommend to anyone

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank abdulmohsena162
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

Had a booking for 24 people nope one month in advance! asked to pre order food .. which was below average... more than one hour to get our food .. then were asked to leave the table while eating because of manager wanting to give...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank abdulmohsentouq
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Alter Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2019

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at the restaurant Alter Goldener Berg at all and that you had to wait such a long time for your dishes. We always try...More

Reviewed 23 March 2018

We ate here twice at lunch time while skiing. The interior is lovely and cosy with low ceilings and wood. It has a genuine "old" feel to it. Most importantly the food was good skiing fare and was served by friendly attentive staff. We would...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Philip L
goldenerberg, Manager at Alter Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Philip, it is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed our traditional restaurant ‘Alter Goldener Berg’ with its old interior. As you have mentioned already, the low ceilings are really unique and invite you to sit for a while. Happy to hear that...More

Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Very traditional. Very good. Another perfect spot in Oberlech for a long lunch. But make sure to make a reservation for the Old Stube. Beautiful old style. The ordinary restaurant is not so excitingMore

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 88magnusr
goldenerberg, Manager at Alter Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Magnus, thank you very much for taking your time to rate us on Tripadvisor. Also we thank you a lot for having lunch in our traditional, famous and cozy restaurant. As you mentioned it’s perfect for having a long lunch even on a snowy...More

Reviewed 19 March 2018

As a hotel guest ,due to the low level of food quality and poor service we will eat outside the hotel

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jack S
Reviewed 3 March 2018

This restaurant was my biggest dining disappointment in years. The serving staff's timing of the dinner and drinks was actually terrible. The dinner did not flow as it normally would in a good restaurant. My husband and I made a reservation and arrived promptly. The...More

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank HT3777
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Alter Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hello from the Austrian mountains. Thank you for your message via Trip advisor. We are very sorry to read, that you did not enjoy your evening with us. We do think you had dinner in the Hotel, as in Alter Goldener Berg there is no...More

Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

We ate once at Alter Goldener Berg and twice on the terrace and both were excellent. We were hoping to try the whole roast duck, but that is only offered for dinners at Alter. All our meals were fantastic but we were particularly taken by...More

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank LeethalLeeM
goldenerberg, Inhaber at Alter Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your visit and review here on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our truffle pastas, burgers and hot chocolate. We would be happy to host you next time in the evening in Alter Goldener Berg...More

Reviewed 18 April 2017

This is a charming hotel with a very big terrace with nice food and service. The staff couldn't have been nicer. I had the white asparagus risotto and it was great. The goulash was even better . Fill of meat and hearty vegetables . Lovely...More

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank scynthia l
goldenerberg, Management assistant at Alter Goldener Berg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear scynthia l! thank you so much for taking your time to write such a warm review of our restaurant! We love to hear that you liked our big terrace and our service and we are really happy you enjoyed your visit, the risotto and...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Hotel Goldener Berg
221 reviews
.00 km away
Hotel Ilga
59 reviews
.11 km away
Burg Hotel
185 reviews
.17 km away
Hotel Sonnenburg
222 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Rud-Alpe Gastronomie
390 reviews
.84 km away
Schneggarei
346 reviews
1.05 km away
Hus Nr. 8
504 reviews
1.13 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Ski Arlberg
698 reviews
.82 km away
Strolz Sport and Mode
70 reviews
1.19 km away
Tannberger Hof Apres Ski
25 reviews
1.14 km away
Lech-Oberlech Tobbagon Run
16 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Alter Goldener Berg staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing