We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Trostel's Greenbriar

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5810 Merle Hay Rd, Johnston, IA 50131-1217 (Formerly Tostino's Greenbriar)
+1 515-253-0124
Website
Today
17:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 17:00 - 21:00
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 14:00
Fri - Sat 17:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 124: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When we look at the best dining experiences in the Metro, there's no better place to feel relaxed while be served upscale than Trostel's Greenbriar. There were amazing dishes, a thrilling spectacular selection, and a top-notch wine menu which made my date happy and my evening memorable. Looking to suggest for future interest, come here if you're interested in top-notch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luke S
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Award winning, locally owned restaurant with excellent menu. Great for a date or nice meal out. Full drink menu.

Helpful?
Thank jmw0313
Robyn M, General Manager at Trostel's Greenbriar, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! Hope to see you again soon! More 

des moines ia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Horrible. Food is good but, waited 45 minutes for each drink. 3 hour dinner that should have taken 1 and half hour. Table flipped over and spilt everything on daughter and I and manager said it was not her fault and laughed at us. Umbrella tipped over in wind. No sun so, shouldn't have been up. Went there for 20... More 

Helpful?
Thank kyleeb
Robyn M, General Manager at Trostel's Greenbriar, responded to this review

The statements in this review are COMPLETELY untrue. The truth is that I am sorry you had a bad experience that evening. I cannot change your opinion of me but I can assure you that there is no one that cares more about this restaurant than I do because I am not only the general manager but also the owner.... More 

Dakota Dunes, South Dakota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

We get to DM four times a year for board meetings & Trostel's is our favorite lunch & dinner spot. Auto Mile salad is my personal favorite. Ambiance harkens back to white table cloth days, but dining in the bar is for us. Food is well prepared & staff is attentive. Only a mile North of I-80. Not noisy, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
Robyn M, General Manager at Trostel's Greenbriar, responded to this review

Roger, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our restaurant. We take pride in our restaurant and appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Des Moines! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Pricey, understaffed, ala carte, food adequate, 5 out of 10. 2 out of 4 couples sent food back because of cold when served or undercooked. 1meal was served w/o the ala carte item. Owner compensated the 6 of us with a round of drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Our family came here to celebrate our Mom's birthday - the food was fabulous, our waitress was prompt, efficient and courteous, and the whole dining experience was just wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank ReesesPBC
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

A little pricey but well worth splurging! The greatest steak de burgo and the cream brûlée is the best I've ever had! They even serve it for lunch. Lunch is reasonably priced and the bow tie pasta with chicken is fantastic. Love their appetizers too! Stuffed mushrooms yummy!

Helpful?
Thank caymankim
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017

As a party of 6, we were seated immediately upon arriving even though we were a few minutes ahead of our reservation. It took almost 15 minutes for the waitress to appear with water. Then another wait for the drink order. We had a lot of time to review the menus, which were already on the table. So service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dennis J
Jefferson,Iowa USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Took a group of 10. Food,Drinks & service were "absolutely the best ". This place never let's us down. Family owned and operated, they truly appreciate your business. They really take pride in doing things right. A must do place to dine in the Des Moines area.

Helpful?
Thank Paul455
Robyn M, General Manager at Trostel's Greenbriar, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate the loyalty and recognition. We love being part of this community! More 

Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We celebrated a birthday here as it was close to home and had not tried it yet. It was a nice quiet Tuesday night. We started out with the appetizer of the night which was a fundido dip that had 3-4 different cheeses and served with tortillas and chips. Our group ordered the lamb chops but they were out so... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidjensen399
Robyn M, General Manager at Trostel's Greenbriar, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for the review. We are so glad you decided to come in and try our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon...and often! More 

Travellers who viewed Trostel's Greenbriar also viewed

 
Windsor Heights, IA
Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Trostel's Greenbriar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 22:00
Saturday
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5810 Merle Hay Rd, Johnston, IA 50131-1217 (Formerly Tostino's Greenbriar)
  • Location: United States  >  Iowa (IA)  >  Johnston
  • Phone Number: +1 515-253-0124

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Trostel's Greenbriar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?