We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pilu At Freshwater

On The Beach, Moore Road, Freshwater, Warringah, New South Wales 2096, Australia
+61 2 9938 3331
Website
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (194)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“suckling pig” (73 reviews)
“pork” (28 reviews)
Closed Now
18:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
On The Beach, Moore Road, Freshwater, Warringah, New South Wales 2096, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

My wife & I have dined at Pilu a few times over the years, usually around birthday or wedding anniversary celebrations. Pleasingly we recently had a very enjoyable evening with good food & excellent Sardinian wines selected by the staff. However, the friendly , positive...More

Thank Simon L
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 31 May 2017

One of my favourite restaurants in Sydney, whether it's for a casual launch or a special dinner. Excellent Sardinian cuisine, perfect for when your feeling Italian but something a little different to your standard pizza/pasta. Service is great every time I go. The list of...More

Thank aussiedan7
piludining, Owner at Pilu At Freshwater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for your fabulous feedback, our team will be thrilled. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited recently with some friends who love this place & as soon as you arrive you can see why...what a view! Whilst the staff were attentive & friendly, we were a little disappointed by our meals - all of them were ok. Unfortunately my partner...More

Thank rc0stelli
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed , excited when ordering the suckling pig, dried out and limp crackling. My wife had the Barramundi which again was disappointing , it was totally tasteless. Nice friendly staff , great view but a waste of a few hundred dollars.

Thank DebleeSydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pilu is a Sardinian restaurant, some people seem to like it but I found it very ordinary, offering small dishes for an exorbitant price, perhaps when you have paid so much for a meal your have to say it was a great restaurant. There are...More

Thank Dave O
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The views from this old weatherboard house in Freshie are awesome, with great food to match. Love the Golden Crispy Skin Suckling pig with rosemary potatoes. Another night I came here and shared the Zuppa Gallurese which was very tasty and very satisfying.

Thank Shanewassywass
piludining, Owner at Pilu At Freshwater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review, so glad you enjoyed your recent Pilu experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was my mother's 91 st birthday celebration . We normally dine in the city travelling by taxi , however this time we decided we would celebrate on the northern beaches , where we live .We decided on Pilu , given the location of this...More

Thank John L
piludining, Owner at Pilu At Freshwater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience, we were most concerned to learn of your disappointment and have discussed your feedback with our kitchen team. It's unfortunate we were not made aware of your concerns at the time as we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice restaurant with a view of Freshwater beach and beyond. Very good attentive service, and wonderful food. We could find no fault with the 5 course degustation. Will definitely try the 7 course next time around. Many thanks for a wonderful experience.

Thank js7375
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a seasonal special - truffle pasta with rabbit - was one of my favourite pasta dishes ever (and I'm no fan of usually gamey meats like rabbit)

Thank Pegasus2013
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While the service and view were wonderful the food was rather strange and not very tasty. The starter baby octopus was soggy and bland, the suckling pig and crackling was delicious but the accompanying potatoes too were a bit overdone and dessert was basically breakfast...More

2  Thank Helen Y
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Splat
35 reviews
.30 km away
Angel Restaurant
58 reviews
.14 km away
Sushi Hiro
36 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
McKillop Park
7 reviews
.54 km away
Madigans at Harbors Diggers
8 reviews
.40 km away
Queenscliff Beach
12 reviews
.35 km away
Manly Surf School
167 reviews
1.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ian M
20 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from piludining | Property representative |
Hi Ian Thanks for your question - yes we certainly cater for children and depending on their age and tastes they can dine from our regular menu or from a children's menu which includes pasta, chicken, steak, fish and dessert.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 20 - US$ 39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: On The Beach, Moore Road, Freshwater, Warringah, New South Wales 2096, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Sydney  >  Warringah  >  Freshwater
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9938 3331
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing