We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
537 Liverpool Road, Ainsdale, Southport PR8 3BJ, England
+44 1704 574161
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 276: English reviews
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took my 2 children and took advantage of an offer where the children ate for £1 with every full price paying adult. Altogether we had 3 carveries, 2 refillable soft drinks, a latte and 2 ice cream desserts. Altogether it cost just over £16. Bargain and the kids ate veg, result! The only issue was that because it wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank sjhalsall
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Ainsdale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will be posting all our latest offers on our Facebook page. We hope we will see you again soon. Team Ainsdale More 

chester, england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There are many Toby carveries but this one served the best veg I've had in years. Special mentions for the cabbage and the steamed cauliflower which was properly cooked. So many places seem to serve veg al dente which is actually just plain undercooked. Top marks from me.

Helpful?
Thank pumps
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Ainsdale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Team Ainsdale More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is a great pub. The staff are very welcome and from when you enter there are always staff to welcome you . The food is very good and desserts are brilliant. Definitely a one to visit if you are in ainsdale.

Helpful?
Thank hahaboy2000
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Ainsdale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will pass your comments on to the team they will be delighted. Team Ainsdale More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my family decided to visit the carvery today after spending the day in southport. We hadn't booked but the manager on shift was able to find us us a table that was suitable for all 7 guests. The food was great and the chefs behind the carvery were extremely friendly. The staff seemed happy and were happy to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Ainsdale, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Mark I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Team Ainsdale More 

LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Best in town for value price amount and cooked as u wud cook it superb good staff and surroundings wat more do u want

Helpful?
Thank marvin17
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Ainsdale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will pass your feedback on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Team Ainsdale More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Haven't been for a while , lovely waitress named Sharon looked after us, very polite and helpful will definitely go again , also enjoyed the food ,

Helpful?
Thank Opinionwomen
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Ainsdale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I will be sure to pass you kind comments on to Sharon and the team. Team Ainsdale More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dreadful. Visited today for lunch. Beef was tough as old boots impossible to cut or chew. Veggies all cold. Cauli particularly hard. Really awful. Mentioned to waitress who sent Lucy over to deal with us. Lucy couldntve been nicer. She couldnt do enough for us to resolve the problem. Brought us fresh gammon and organised veggies to be refreshed. She... More 

Helpful?
Thank heathertasker
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Ainsdale, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will be bringing these issues up with my kitchen manager today. This is completely out of the ordinary for Toby Ainsdale. I am glad Lucy was able to go some way to redeeming your experience. Team Ainsdale More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rubbish haven't been for years it was rubbish last time so we hadn't been for years we tried it again last week even more rubbish than b4. Rubber tasteless food.

Helpful?
Thank sandra p
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Ainsdale, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Sandra, we always try to improve from our guests reviews. If you could give me the details of when you visited and what were the issues you had I will be able to investigate further. Please contact me at ainsdale@tobycarvery.co.uk More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited today in a party of 10. Even though we had not booked the manager on shift was able to fit us in. The girls who served us were great and could not have been more helpful even when the children with us where misbehaving. We decided to go to the carvery after seeing he kids eat for £1... More 

Helpful?
Thank Xemilywallxx
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Ainsdale, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed review Emily, I am glad you and your family enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Team Ainsdale More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely warm welcome from the staff,seated quickly,great one to one service from our waitress Lauren, couldn't do more to help,food nice and hot,drinks brought to our table, top class service,waitress a credit to toby carvery

Helpful?
2 Thank 975lesleya
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Ainsdale, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. I am glad you enjoyed you visit. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Lauren. Team Ainsdale More 

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Ainsdale also viewed

 
Ainsdale, Southport
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Toby Carvery Ainsdale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 15
Cuisine
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 537 Liverpool Road, Ainsdale, Southport PR8 3BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Southport  >  Ainsdale
  • Phone Number: +44 1704 574161
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Ainsdale. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Southport’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Toby Carvery Ainsdale and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Toby Carvery Ainsdale staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?