We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shelly's Tea Rooms

3 The Droveway, St Margaret's Bay, Dover CT15 6DH, England
+44 1227 730303
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good16%
  • Average16%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“long walk” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Cafe, British
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
3 The Droveway, St Margaret's Bay, Dover CT15 6DH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I popped in here following a long walk across the white cliffs. We waited 5 minutes to be served so got up and placed our order with the young lady (Saffron I think) as it was quite busy. We ordered 2 Cream...More

Thank Mark B
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Just visited this place for a snack whilst on holiday - regretting it. Dour employee behind the counter, seemed pleased to inform me that i couldn't order a jacket potato to go. Apparently they don't stock suitable containers. Instead, i ordered the baguette & wished...More

1  Thank Mark P
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Just been here today with the wife,was going to have afternoon tea but you have to book 24hrs in advance but you can have cream tea(on menu scones are freshly baked but saw girl take them out of the freezer) so not sure how fresh...More

1  Thank Russ W
sean s, Owner at Shelly's Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

We are confused that you chose to give us a 2 star rating as we clearly state on our web site and menu that 24 hours notice is required for the full afternoon tea, this is the same for any reputable tea rooms due to...More

Reviewed 29 May 2017

I had popped in with my teen son after a bike ride from Deal and was looking forward to cuppa for me and cold drink for him. This was our first visit. Atmosphere - lacking warmth and friendliness, really surprised by this at counter when...More

1  Thank shermum2017
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

This was an excellent tea shop. Very clean and welcoming - quite small but nonetheless delightful. We ordered their cream tea which was very good. Large scones and thick clotted cream with a good strawberry jam. We will go again if in the area.

Thank peter weller p
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

In this day and age I think the place is missing out on custom need to get into this century to cater for the foreign tourists that would be more likely to be in this area as they would like to see the sights. I...More

1  Thank Mike H
sean s, Owner at Shelly's Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for your review, however as you know it is not entirely true, we are the only Tea Rooms in St Margaret's to take credit/debit cards, however late on Friday our machine failed and the company could not get a replacement to us before...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017

We preorderd a full afternoon tea here, and it was just right! as we had not had lunch, the finger sandwiches, scones with jam & cream plus small cakes, was a real treat. Beautifully presented and freshly made. The tea-pot was refilled too! The only...More

Thank Linda P
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I expected the costs to higher than average but to be served a multipack can of drink for £1 does take the biscuit. The cost for a miniscule cake slice suggests that one whole cake would cost close to £200. Over priced, no atmosphere and...More

2  Thank Paul S
sean s, Owner at Shelly's Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thank you for your review, however we feel its criticism is unjust, firstly the can of drink, you were not forced to buy this if you feel that £1.00 was to much then the village shop is a 5 minute walk away and would sell...More

Reviewed 22 January 2017

This place has changed little. It totally lacks atmosphere. It tries and fails to be oldy worldy. To only have one plugged in wall radiator was ridiculous you shouldn't have to eat with your coats on. The toilet was freezing with no means to dry...More

3  Thank Dirtbag7
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Fancied a coffee and slice of cake to take on my dog walk in St Margaret's. Nice coffee and moist carrot cake went down a treat £5

Thank Pandora M
Nearby Restaurants
The Pines Garden Tea Room
241 reviews
.41 km away
The Smugglers Bar and Restaurant
409 reviews
.60 km away
The Coastguard Restaurant
223 reviews
.41 km away
The Cliffe Kitchen at The White Cliffs Hotel
194 reviews
.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Margaret's Museum
41 reviews
.42 km away
St Margaret's Bay Beach
376 reviews
.44 km away
Dover Patrol Memorial
38 reviews
.35 km away
The Pines Garden
115 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sarah L
14 June 2017|
Response from sean s | Property representative |
Hi Sarah, a cream tea consisting of two scones baked fresh that morning served with clotted cream and strawberry preserve along with a pot of loose leaf tea is £7.35 per person
26 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sean s | Property representative |
Thank you for your question, we cannot understand it either we have already raised this with Tripadvisor and we are awaiting their response and hopefully their rectification of it
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Street Parking, Takeout, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Open Hours
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 The Droveway, St Margaret's Bay, Dover CT15 6DH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Dover  >  St Margaret's Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 730303
  • E-mail
We serve our full menu all day, so whether you would like an oven baked jacket potato, a Panini, a freshly baked baguette, sandwich or a bowl of homemade soup you can enjoy this at any time of the day, and in addition to our wonderful selection of handmade cakes we bake our scones fresh every day and we know our amazing cream teas served with clotted cream will have you coming back for more.Our location is perfect to start or finish a walk be it down to the bay for a spot of rock pooling or a walk to the south foreland lighthouse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing