We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Bridge Inn

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Groups, Bar Scene
About
Picturesque 14th century inn serving only homemade food and real ale from independent brewers. Huge range of alcoholic and soft drinks.Third generation owner managers ensure a warm welcome. Please note that on weekday lunchtimes, only our famous cold meats and salad buffet or sandwiches are served. Food service 12-2 and 6.30-9.30 Mon - Sat, 12-4 Sun
PRICE RANGE
US$ 6 - US$ 32
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
151
49
21
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
151
49
21
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soup pie ham beef pudding haddock sandwiches fries ice cream the pub lovely old pub timothy taylor lunchtime buffet salad buffet pleasant lunch real ale home made
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I along with family and friends have visited the old bridge in at ripponden ona number of occasions over the past 2 months and had a great time as always.The food is great with a choice of food which is very tasty,the staff are very...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Dream788394
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from meeting friends for Sunday lunch. Fabulous old inn with so much character and welcoming roaring fires. The food was really good, the staff and service excellent. Will definitely be returning

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Jenni B
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

The Bridge Inn has been serving their lunch time Buffett for 60 years. I’ve lived away for 35 years but have started visiting again with friends. It’s still excellent. Wonderful old building full of character. Good service. They are now open for dinner which I’ve...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jennifer Sue H
Reviewed 28 November 2018 via mobile

Second time we came for the steak night deal £30 per couple inc bottle of house wine . Many pubs offer this deal and to be honest the steaks are big standard. This pub is different. The steaks are good quality and cooked just as...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank brontes
Reviewed 21 October 2018

I walked in with the kids during Sunday lunch, despite not having a booking. We got a very friendly welcome from behind the bar, and they found us a table. As a vegan, I'm used to not getting a decent meal in a pub, so...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank HebdenBiker
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

This 1300 century inn is tucked away down a cobbled lane, off the main road...you would never know it was there! There's a small car park just in front, or you could drive round and park across the cobbled bridge (still on Priest Lane). The...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank HJO1968
Reviewed 20 September 2018

My Wife & i attended the Steak night at the Bridge inn the food, service staff, was excellent and we were made very welcome by the i would recommend it to anyone will go again soon Mr & Mrs Keith Smith (Sowerby Bridge West Yorkshire

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Pathfinder561901
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We visited here on the strength of TripAdvisor reviews but were very disappointed with our Sunday lunch. The starters were ok but the 2 slices of beef for main course were cut paper thin and were just stringy and chewy (so bad a diner on...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Andrea70-11
Tim W, Owner at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear Andrea. I’m very sorry you didn’t enjoy your Sunday Lunch. To clarify, our beef is top quality English beef cut by hand from the joint, so I’m surprised you found it paper thin. Our gravy is, as everything, homemade from stock and beef marrow...More

Reviewed 1 September 2018

My wife and I love to have a drive out in the summer to visit this pub and have been doing so for over 25 years. At one time the pub only used to do lunch during the week, which was an excellent buffet. The...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank John W
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We hadn’t been for many years. Unfortunately there was not a full menu available. We chose soup and a beef baguette...couldn’t fault either...wine was acceptable. Would have given it a “very good” rating but we were seated next to the kitchen where we could see...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Brian T
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tony_mc27
5 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TJEW | Property representative |
Hi Tony. Sorry, but we don’t allow dogs inside. We do have lots of tethering rings and water bowls outside for them.
0
Votes
Vicky M
25 November 2016|
Answer
Response from TJEW | Property representative |
Hi Vicky. Whilst we don't have a separate menu for children, childrens' portions are always available - or chef will knock something up. Just don't expect turkey twizzlers! Our menus are available on our website... More
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing