We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
We are a local grassroots craft brewery using only the best of local ingredients...The only brewery in Galena, and the first to return to this historic brewing town in 80 years. We have six regular house brands on tap, and five to six seasonal and guest taps, regular & seasonal brews, best baked wings in Galena, salads and sandwiches menu & desserts. Kids menu too! We have taken strides to ensure that our table and bar service is excellent, and we are happy to report that our customer feedback now consistently reflects that quality. Beer tasting flights and full bar. Football games on 82 inch and 55 inch screens with really cool surround sound. When the game is on...You are THERE man! We also
PRICE RANGE
$3 - $14
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub, Fast food
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Drive Thru, Family style, Non-smoking restaurants, Sports bars, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveller rating
357
294
126
42
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
357
294
126
42
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas pretzels beef great beer different beers nice atmosphere sat at the bar on tap friday night brewery flight bartender breweries shopping
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great drinks, vast beer selection. Brewer was VERY knowledgeable and personable. Have been on many brewery tours but this one explained the process like never before.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good beers. But the kitchen service was awful. We were there on a Sunday morning. We were the only ones eating at that time. We waited 45 minutes and gave up on our order. If they were swamped, we would have been understanding and gladly...waited, but it was NOT the slightest bit busy. I think the staff spent too much time socializing and forgot to put it order in our something. Because seriously wtf! While we sat there waiting, and waiting and WAITING, our server, sashayed all around the place whilst chatting it up with the rest of the staff. Then a second group came in and sat at a table and they were served immediately. That's when we decided to go somewhere else. Dirty Gurdy's had very quick service and amazing foods! I think we got our order within 8 minutes of sitting down at Dirty Gurdy's.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 February 2022 via mobile

Unimpressed with the food and service. Food marked as gluten free that is not. Hair was found in the food. No need to return.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Kirsten Bell, Owner at Galena Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2022

We are really sorry that you had this negative experience. Thank you so much for letting us know. We will follow up with our staff and fix the problem. Please can you contact us on info@galenabrewery.com.

Reviewed 17 February 2022

Stopped in here for a drink after doing some shopping. Very relaxing and nice atmosphere. Highly reccommend.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Kirsten Bell, Owner at Galena Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2022

Thank you very much. We're glad you had a positive experience! Cheers 🍻

Reviewed 20 December 2021 via mobile

We walked in and were seated right away. The food was OK. The burger was cooked well done. The beers were good. The service was pretty good. Overall it was a very good experience.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Kirsten Bell, Owner at Galena Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2022

Thank you very much. We're glad you had a positive experience! Cheers 🍻

Reviewed 24 October 2021

Very friendly and accommodating bartenders. They make a good drink! Reasonably priced and make you feel welcome.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 October 2021

9 Sept 21 - Had lunch & a beer at the Galena Brewing Company 227 N Main St. Where we were informed the original RED STRIPE beer was made, before the name and product recipe was purchased and moved to Jamaica. Enjoyed watching them make...a batch of beer.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

Worst food ever!!! 3 of us ordered food each took 1 bite and LEFT!! Burger did not taste like beef and the chicken salad was disgusting with a bun like a rock!! Poor service would NOT recommend this place!!!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

Avoid this place. The brews were sub-par and the food was dry and overcooked. We could not even get silverware or napkins or water. Covid protocols are ignored, with no masking even by employees. On top of all this, our server was rude and surly.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Love trying all the new beers they are wonderful really good service we went on a really busy Saturday and the bartender really needs. A raise he was doing an amazing job even though he was slammed busy also try the hummus so good

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
DeSoto House Hotel
745 reviews
.40 km away
Best Western Galena Inn & Suites
895 reviews
1.24 km away
Irish Cottage Inn & Suites
1,006 reviews
1.35 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
1,044 reviews
1.55 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fritz and Frites
828 reviews
.11 km away
Fried Green Tomatoes
2,071 reviews
.07 km away
Root Beer Revelry
267 reviews
.39 km away
Little Tokyo
287 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre
724 reviews
.21 km away
Galena / Jo Daviess County Historical Society and Museum
341 reviews
.20 km away
The Old Blacksmith Shop
145 reviews
.01 km away
Galena Welcome Center
83 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
HCFamily
24 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Amy L | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they do.
0
Votes
Kirstcpt77
16 December 2014|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Kirstcpt77 | Property representative |
We have live music most Friday's and Saturday nights from 8pm to 11pm (times do vary). If you have a look at our website you will see a list of upcoming live bands on the front page. Hope this helps!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Galena Brewing Company

Yes, Galena Brewing Company offers takeaway services.

Galena Brewing Company is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4