We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Road, Shalfleet PO30 4NS, England
+44 1983 531314
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 446: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I attended with my elderly mother on Thursday 27th April for lunch. We have been here many many times over the last and have never been disappointed. However, on this occasion and we were. We received a cold reception on arrival. We were seated and our drinks order was taken promptly. No Merlot!!! We were then left with our menus... More 

Helpful?
Thank harrietjames478
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Local beers on draught at the bar, young, keen staff and an interesting blackboard menu. Perhaps feels more restaurant than a pub but passing trade is welcomed and there is a friendly feel. Service is prompt and the food reflects local and seasonal sourcing.

Helpful?
1 Thank David P
Kate S, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having been to the New Inn on several occasions over the past 10 yrs I thought my friends and I would be well looked after last Saturday night. Sadly this was not the case. I booked using the usual means which was simple but once we arrived for dinner, no welcome and we had a wait at the bar for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
Kate S, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your evening with us. I am sorry you were so disappointed as you say yourself that you enjoyed your meal and we were not made aware of any issues during your visit. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. To address some of your comments,... More 

Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had visited Newtown by boat and walked up to the pub on a sunny Saturday afternoon, friendly helpful service, sat in the beer garden in the sun and enjoyed the local beer, prawns, crab and Isle of Wight cheeses, good food, good value and served promptly, a delight to sit and read the paper in the sun. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank John L
Kate S, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you lovely feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Are all 6members of the party going to write bad reviews here. Perhaps there should be such a thing as "CustomerAdvisor" No staff member or owner of a business should have to put up with vile customers, in the work place or on here. Thankfully, the New Inn supports this.

Helpful?
3 Thank Clifford D
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had the misfortune to visit the restaurant for lunch today, six adults with one child and one baby. Would have liked to comment on the fortune but unfortunately we did not get any. Because of the the children we only ordered main courses, but after one a half hours we were were still waiting. Asked where the food was twice,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Francisco Javie... F
Kate S, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

We had been waiting for your review since you left and I'm glad to have the opportunity to clarify the situation. I had been absent as it was my afternoon off. I did however happen to be in the bar area at the time of this incident. One of the gentlemen in your party stood in the centre of the... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i came here with a group of friends during the bank holiday weekend and my recently experience of The New Inn was so lovely. There is a decking area where you can sit out in the sun if the weather is nice but plenty of seating indoors too, lovely cosy pub. There is a great choice on the menu, there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria G
Kate S, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely comments! We're so glad you and your friends enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to the New Inn a lot over the fifteen years we have had a holiday home on the island, when we recently visited it was obvious that it was not the same as before with a different style menu. Service was great from the start with the introduction of table service, great choice if drinks available and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
Kate S, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely comments! We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been before a few years ago but it has since been taken over. We went as a party of 8 and were treated very well. The fish was exceptionally good. We had great service and every request was dealt with quickly. Will certainly be going back

Helpful?
Thank gill
Kate S, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely comments! We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Picked this pub out of Sawday's Good Pub Guide - it's never let us down yet, and kept up the record with the New Inn. Right on the road (so limited parking, but more just up the road), but in the garden (on a deck above the pub) it was lovely, felt like the depths of the country. Very warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Kate S, Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your lovely comments and your helpful feedback! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks More 

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Shalfleet, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Seaview, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Shalfleet PO30 4NS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shalfleet
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 531314

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The New Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The New Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?