We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 01/10
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

  • Our City Guide to 24 Hot Bachelorette Destinationstheknot.com

Location and contact

Ranch Triangle
1.4 km from Lincoln Park Zoo
Improve this listing
PRICE RANGE
$30 - $30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
American
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Valet Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
176
129
54
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
176
129
54
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch salad chocolate chip guac fries tuna open kitchen bakery appetizers egg neighborhood
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

It’s rare for me to dislike one of the LEY restaurants but I guess there’s a first for everything. This place makes no sense- I thought it was supposed to be continental, California, fresh, summer etc. So why am I eating pizza and pasta?? Why...is the menu all Italian food? I came hoping for fish but there were only 3 fish options and one of them was fish fry. Don’t get me wrong I will belly up to the bar at a Wisconsin supper club for some fish fry any time but that’s not at all why I came here. Beyond that the service was not great. Mostly it was extremely slow. We were served wine immediately which was nice but then left with menus for a long while. We ordered an appetizer and told it would be “right out.” It didn’t actually come out for another 45 minutes so I had finished my wine before I’d even had a single bite. I realize a lot of people come here to basically just get drunk on rose but I was hoping for more. The burrata appetizer was fine, my husband’s pizza was fine, my pasta was ok. I’ve definitely had better. And at the end of the meal, I had seen huge stacks of big cookies at the coffee bar up front and told they bake them fresh in house every day. So I ordered a chocolate chip to go. It ended up being completely stale and didn’t taste good. Maybe that’s on me, ordering from a coffee bar at 9pm but if you know it’s not fresh, throw them out and don’t serve them! All in all, so confusing, so disappointing. I really don’t get the attraction here.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Katie M, Marketing at Summer House Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2022

Dear Whitney Thank you for telling us about your recent experience at Summer House Santa Monica. I am sorry to hear it was disappointing - we hope to set things right. If you would like to speak to us further, please send an email to...More

Reviewed 16 July 2022

Having tried to get in here for dinner but not wanted to wait over an hour for a table we tried again for lunch the next day. It seemed like even if you had made a booking for dinner you’d still have some wait. At...1pm on a Wednesday there was thankfully no wait and we were seated right away. If you do want to go for dinner definitely book well in advance. Our server was great, very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and has a relaxing atmosphere. It does somewhat feel like you’re in California, it is very summery. The menu is extensive and expensive. This was an anniversary meal so we were willing to spend a bit more. I chose the bucatini pomodoro having had similar meal the day before and been disappointed. For the price and amount of Italian dishes on the menu I was expecting a top tier dish. Thankfully I had not set my expectations too high. The portion was generous for the price. The pasta was a tad over cooked but the sauce made up for it. It’s hard to cook bucatini perfectly. The sauce was delicious, rich and flavorful just like one I had made on a cookery course in Italy. To finish I got a cookie to take away. I’m somewhat of a cookie connoisseur as I’m am on the search of the perfect cookie since my favorite place closed. I went for the brown butter chocolate chip which was huge and very good. It had the perfect edge to soft middle ratio but I would have liked it a little smaller and thicker. All in all the meal was near perfect. I can see why this place is so popular. It’s Instagramable yet actually has great food.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 June 2022 via mobile

Dined at Summer House on Halstead for lunch. Servers and staff very friendly and prompt with service. We have dined here plenty of times, but today they were not on their A game. The egg sandwich on favorite English Muffins lacked the usual flavor and...the egg was not cooked all the way. Was in a bit of a rush or would have sent back. The blueberry pancakes were light and fluffy as were the waffles. Will be back but need to rethink the egg sandwich selection.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 March 2022

awesome place to go in the winter at really transports you to summer and california a lot on the menu for vegetarians whatever we ate was flavorful and light would love to go back again

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 March 2022

Not as good as expected. It's an in place now but won't last. Crowded, loud, and the food just OK. Was glad to leave. Nice building.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Katie M, Marketing at Summer House Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2022

I'm so sorry to hear of your recent less than acceptable experience with us. Our management team wants to acknowledge your feedback and make sure your next experience with us is nothing less than memorable. Would you be willing to provide your contact information so...More

Reviewed 3 November 2021

Summer House has gone from mediocre to downright lousy. They never had good food. They have a great space. Beautiful decor. An underserved location. It's easy to meet there for lunch or dinner. Works equally well for friends or family. But the food was never...good. It was mediocre at best. The last two times that I've visited, it's been inedible. Fish served cold. Salads that tasted awful (what do you do to a kale salad to make it taste bad..haha, yes I know...kale). On top of it all, my husband and I got so sick after lunch yesterday that he was up until 3am. The only item we shared was the guac. I lost two pounds. So, if you're looking for a weight loss plan that tastes awful....this might be your place. Oh..the cookies are still good 😊More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 October 2021

Erica is a awesome Hostess. She maintains a jovial professional demeanor that makes you feel like a regular, even though it was my first time visiting. The food was prepared to a perfect medium rare and flavorful. I encountered a small hiccup towards the latter...end of my dining experience. The manager Ashely rectified the issue immediately and even brought dessert. Residing in the neighborhood, I have walked by this place and never stopped by. Today thanks to Erica I'm glad I did. The airy ambience and the staff's attitude is so warm and welcoming I felt like I was in California. You need to try this place!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 September 2021

Had the pizza and the pasta on separate occasions, and both were pretty average. The pizza specifically is not up to Chicago standards. Not sure what the big deal about this place is. It's a pleasant vibe but not worth the prices at all, even...for this neighborhood. Go to Pasta Palazzo or Cafe Ba Ba Reeba instead. Also their valet parking is chaos, blocks traffic, and creates a serious hazard for cyclists. Seems like they have cars parked in the bike lane more often than not.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

This was my favorite place we went to on our trip to Chicago...it was such a happy, fresh, bright place...as soon as you walk in the pastries behind the glass counter are amazing...I wanted one of each...we were seated in the conservatory, it was lovely,...I felt as though I was eating in someone's summer house, lol....the service was good, we got a lot of salads, and sweet potato waffle fries...all were perfect...so delicious. The kids loved their cute trayMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

I enjoyed this restaurant so much that I visited it twice in one week. The first time I went it was a lunch meeting on Monday and I ate appetisers and get nice salad to go period on Saturday that saying we coming back for...dinner with girlfriends. They enjoyed it as much as I had. We all ordered their delicious guacamole and chips to go and a cookie for dessert. The music and ambiance are relaxing and open. Can't wait to go again.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 July 2021 via mobile

Happened across this place whilst in the area. Restaurant is very cool and plantation style. You are welcomed with a takeaway counter filled with delicious cookies and sweet treats. The menu was compact but that makes me think the food offerings are done well. And...they were. Guac and chips with salsa and 2 sauces. Absolutely delicious. I had a Cobb Salad which was visually beautiful as well as delicious. A nice range of textures with crisp lettuce, juicy chicken, toasted corn etc. The Rigatoni carbonara had a nice twist with Spring veg added. The only thing I didn’t enjoy were the fries. They were cold and rubbery at first and when changed, they were still rubbery although hotter. Our server, Jen T was phenomenal. So easy going and personable but very professional. Would come back again to try the pizzas. They looked lovely.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 June 2021

Lovely, bright ambiance with open kitchen and expansive brunch menu. Need to go back to try other menu items. Don't miss the basket (bucket) of mini cinnamon rolls! Service was good and prices were on par for area.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

Light and airy space, and a really great vibe for….summer! The waiter indicated that they had recently assumed some space that was formerly occupied by an Italian restaurant and as a nod to the former tenant had added a pretty expansive menu of pizza and...pasta to their California themed menus. We really enjoyed the shaved mushroom pizza. They also have some fun cocktails, the False Idol with the spiced cranberry skull should not be missed. Would definitely return.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 June 2021

We came here for lunch, it was perfect! We both had the ahi tuna sandwich which was excellent…. A very large portion of tuna with a spicy mayo and avocado. I was surprised at how large the portion was for the price, quite reasonable. It...also came with a large side of fries. We also had the asparagus which was very good, and again, quite a large portion. The only complaint was my husband had the sweet potato fries which were obviously frozen and not very good. They have a lot of different items on their menu so there is something for everyone. Service was spot on, no shortage of workers at this restaurant. Great atmosphere as well. Don’t forget to get a few cookies on your way out, they have a bakery with cookies as big as your head….they were so good …a bit pricey but worth it. I can’t wait to come back!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 June 2021

This place has been on my.list for a long time. Glad to finally get there. Great ambiance. Service was ON IT. Really good even at 2pm when the lunch crowd was still hopping. Food was great...pizza, tuna sandwich and pasta. Chips and guac for an...appetizer. Get a cookie for dessert. So good. Very gluten free friendly. The only drawback....my margarita pizza had only 4.5 pieces of basil...but 8 slices. More basil please.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Lincoln, JdV by Hyatt
2,666 reviews
1.20 km away
Inn at Lincoln Park
261 reviews
1.72 km away
Hotel Versey Days Inn by Wyndham Chicago
3,183 reviews
1.73 km away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Wicker Park
178 reviews
1.75 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cafe Ba-Ba-Reeba!
846 reviews
.14 km away
Quality Crab & Oyster Bah
114 reviews
.02 km away
CHEZ MOI
155 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Oz Park
81 reviews
.19 km away
McShane's Exchange
6 reviews
.06 km away
The Social Table
8 reviews
.07 km away
Lincoln Park Massage Spa
6 reviews
.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Janice M
29 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from connoisseurchicago | Reviewed this property |
They do have it yes.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SUMMER HOUSE SANTA MONICA, Chicago - 1954 N Halsted St, Lincoln Park - Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Summer House Santa Monica

Yes, Summer House Santa Monica offers takeaway services.

Summer House Santa Monica is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5