We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackwater Grill

260 Redfern Vlg, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2501
+1 912-634-6333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good27%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“jambalaya” (32 reviews)
“boudin fritters” (25 reviews)
“brunswick stew” (45 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, American, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
260 Redfern Vlg, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2501
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We ordered the shrimp and grits appetizer which was very delicious and the boudin fritters which were also good. The service was awful. Apparently our waiter was new and didn’t know much or anything at all for that matter about the menu. We ordered bottle...More

Thank PeaceLoveReef
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Can’t complain one bit about the appetizer portion of shrimp & grits or the boudin fritters. Both were great! The service however, was seriously lacking. Waiter was completely lacking knowledge on any menu item we asked him about & was the slowest & most inattentive...More

Thank Anna K
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered the shrimp and grits to be delivered from island time delivery. $34.00 and 45 minutes later the nice woman showed up and handed me my bag. It felt really light so when I got inside I opened it and it was a cup of...More

Thank usemocorp
JONIKA B, General Manager at Blackwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We do appreciate your business, and thank you for order from us. When you order through a delivery service they do charge a delivery fee and we do not have any parts in that fee. We only charge 20.00 for our shrimp and grits dinner...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Nice Cajun themed restaurant in the Redfern Village. The back deck overlooks the Marsh and is a great way to spend the evening with great food and friends.

Thank mark c
Management response:Responded 17 September 2017

Thank you for coming out and enjoying the deck.. Please come back and dine with us!!

Reviewed 13 September 2017

In town for a conference and wanted good seafood. This was the least busiest place which usually is an ill omen but what the heck. Very few customers but what a dish!! Grouper steak was huge and fantastic. Great choice. Will definitely go back.

Thank Billy M
Management response:Responded 17 September 2017

You must have came at a good time bc we can get very busy.. Thank you for coming out and dining with us!! We will be looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Really looked forward to visiting Blackwater but left disappointed. First, the absolute WORST chairs to sit on. Very uncomfortable. Second, I have NO idea who thought that the blue cheese salad dressing was good but it was just plain terrible. Cannot even begin to describe...More

Thank dougkinney
Management response:Responded 17 September 2017

Thank you for coming out to dine with us! I do apologize about the chairs. The blue cheese is made with whole butter milk so it does give it a different taste than average blue cheese. I hope you can come back and visit us...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Not same owners since show Diners, Drive Ins & Dives was here. Weeknight empty except at the bar and a few tables, service was untrained and sloppy.The cornbread was excellent, so was Jambalaya and fish was fresh. Half of the food slopped off the plate...More

Thank Susan S
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017

I apologize about your experience at our restaurant. I will personally make sure all of my servers know table etiquette. The restaurant look is considered antique like and rustic. Mostly all of the items that we have for decoration has been handmade or passed down...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Stumbles upon BG after a dinner elsewhere and it was too early to back to the motel. Since it raining we just decided to go over to Redfern Village. We had a great time. Bartender was super. I loved the atmosphere of the place; menu...More

Thank Jim B
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017

Thank you for coming out and i will be looking forward to seeing you next year.

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived after a long days drive from the northern outer banks of North Carolina on our way home to south Florida. Normally, when we do this trip, we stop in Savannah where we have numerous favorite places for dinner. Due to an early start,...More

Thank RJKanter
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017

Thank you for coming out, and we hope that you would stop by next time you are traveling this way.

Reviewed 31 July 2017

Visited this restaurant July 26,2017. Reservations made. Arrived on time. No hostess. Finally a waiter said it would be a few minutes. No one else ahead of us. 45 minutes to seat us. Over an hour to get our meal. That's the bad part.When the...More

Thank carjockeygene
Management response:Responded 5 August 2017

Thank you for coming out and visiting our restaurant. I do apologize for the wait that you had to endure. It was a day that could have been planned out a lot better and for that i do apologize. But I am glad that you...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Southern Soul Barbeque
2,042 reviews
.37 km away
Tara Thai & Sushi
153 reviews
.20 km away
Island Pho
78 reviews
.19 km away
Fuse, Fresh Frozen Yogurt
120 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bloody Marsh
86 reviews
.56 km away
Weber's Growler Factory
11 reviews
.21 km away
Kids Fishing Billy Bee Charters
171 reviews
.54 km away
Coastal Biplane Tours
83 reviews
1.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Blackwater Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 260 Redfern Vlg, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2501
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Georgia Coast  >  Golden Isles of Georgia  >  Saint Simons Island
  • Phone Number: +1 912-634-6333
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing