We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duke of Wellington Inn

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Newton NE43 7UL, England
+44 1661 844446
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 253: English reviews
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Met some friends for lunch who we haven't seen in years. The food was excellent, very reasonable, service great and the atmosphere very relaxed. We weren't rushed and had a very enjoyable lunch and were able to sit and chat without being disturbed. Definitely somewhere to visit again and tell people about.

Helpful?
Thank gillian473
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Duke Of Wellington Inn; it's great to read that the food, service and atmosphere added to the special time you had meeting old friends. We very much hope you will visit us again soon! More 

Northumberland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the fourth time we've eaten here and it's never quite lived up to expectations. We gave it another go as we understood the chef had changed since we last visited. Portions were small for what was charged. The smoked salmon starter was served on the side of a plate so you were presented with pretty much an empty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geordielass64
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, I would very much like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. It is only through such feedback, that we are able to maintain, and where necessary, improve upon the service we provide. It is disappointing to read that you have left us feeling dissatisfied. This is not the 5* experience we... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for an afternoon lunch, food was fantastic bar a light & airy area with plenty of room between tables. Most important thing for us was the the dog was welcome in the bar area.

Helpful?
Thank Archie S
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

We very much value all our guests; especially the four legged ones! It is lovely to read how much you enjoyed your lunch with us. We hope that you will visit us again soon, possibly to try our dinner menu or very popluar Sunday lunch. More 

Riding Mill
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set in the village of Newton with views across the Tyne Vally, both bar and restaurant food is available. There is a very good choice and the quality is excellent.A place you will alway want to go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Bill C
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing your Sunday lunch experience with us at The Duke of Wellington Inn. It is great that you enjoyed both the food and picturesque setting! We very much look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Superb, prawn cocktail to start very good , beef for main very well presented and amazing Yorkshire puds , the before and after pictures say it all,will definitely be back .

Helpful?
Thank brogan1joe2
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your Sunday lunch! It's great to receive such praise; which I will pass on to the (very hard working) team we are so lucky to have. We very much look forward to welcoming you when you return. More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visit here for lunch fairly regularly and have always found it consistently good. There is a set lunch menu at £15.95 for 2 courses and £18.95 for 3 which changes quite regularly and offers a nice choice for each course. There is also a snack and sandwich menu for lighter requirements. The food is always of a high standard... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clarenicky
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent lunch experience with us....we are thrilled you enjoyed it so much! It is also great to read that you like to visit us regularly and regard our food and service as consistently good. We take on board all comments, and it is through feeding back... More 

Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's in a beautiful setting in a very rural village , unfortunately the quality of food and service did not match the setting , at one stage I needed to get the attention of the waitresses but they seemed to be too busy talking among themselves rather paying attention to the customers . Not sure if I would go back... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kourio
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Duke Of Wellington Inn. It is only through feedback like yours, that we are able to maintain and if necessary, improve upon the service that we offer. We are disppointed to read that you felt dis-satisfied with your experience on Mother's Day. As... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Such a beautiful spot the views alone are worth the visit. The food as always was very well presented and tasted wonderful we were not kept waiting for food and they were very busy really impressed with the way the staff worked even put up with our grandson Jamie playing with his remote control wagon! We will be going back😃

Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

We are really pleased that we were able to make your Mother's Day lunch so enjoyable and memorable. I will pass on your positive comments to the whole team. We very much look forward to welcoming you when you return! More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of our favourite hotels anywhere. The staff are friendly, and the room is superb. The Aln room is our favourite with it's views out over Northumberland. What is especially nice now is seeing the first new born lamb in the field. It really is better than TV.

Helpful?
Thank PeterOHanlon
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of staying with us at The Duke of Wellington Inn. Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay and view so much! You are right; definitely better than watching television. I will pass on your positive staff comments to the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near... More 

Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Had a great lunch here. Wide selection on their menu. Staff very friendly attentive and helpful. Would recommend it for a meal.

Helpful?
Thank Bridget W
rob h, Owner at Duke of Wellington Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Duke of Wellington yesterday. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch and I will pass on your praise to our team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Duke of Wellington Inn also viewed

Riding Mill, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
Barrasford, Northumberland
 

Been to Duke of Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Romantic, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newton NE43 7UL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Newton
  • Phone Number: +44 1661 844446

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Duke of Wellington Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?