We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Babalu

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
American, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9246 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33702-3132
+1 727-576-7414
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 21:00
Mon - Wed 10:30 - 09:30
10:30 - 21:00
Thu - Fri 10:30 - 10:00
10:30 - 22:00
Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice local restaurant, I usually get my order to go and my order is always ready during the time-frame given. The staff is friendly and engaging, the prices are reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank shawnjackson33742
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

Thanks for being such a fan of ours, Shawn -- we really do love being a part of this wonderful community, and it's wonderful to see that you've always been so pleased with your experiences. That being said, we really do rely on customer feedback more than you may know -- if there's anything we can do to improve, be... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Definitely improved. Clean, fast service, food was hot. Friday Sloppy Joe special is a bargain. New owners. Jo's desserts are awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Agwetmore
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

Thanks a million for joining us -- it was such a pleasure to have you in! We really are excited about the new chapter ahead of us, and we couldn't be happier to have you be a part of it! Cheers, Babalu Management More 

Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

I had fried chicken (1/2 chicken) with FF, husband had gulf shrimp, friend had honey bbq chicken fingers. Everyone loved their meal. It is not a fancy place and booths have wooden seats. Staff is great and is a good place to stop by for lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

Thanks so much for joining us, Lorraine -- it was wonderful to have everyone stop in! We definitely believe that food doesn't have to be fancy to be delicious, and it looks like you agree! Cheers, Babalu Management More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016

The menu advertises "Jumbo wings". The charge is 6.95 for six "wings". What you get is six PIECES of wings. This is false advertising and a fraud! The better business bureau is getting a copy of this review. I will NEVER do business with these con artists again. Also, when I called to complain to "Eddie-the manager" I was cut... More 

Helpful?
Thank sklinger20
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

It sounds like our jumbo wings weren't quite what you were expecting, and I'm sorry to hear that. It's never our intention to mislead our customers, and we're always happy to explain any of our dishes in more detail. We certainly want our customers to be satisfied with our service, and if that hasn't been the case, then you haven't... More 

Key West, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

I'm going to preface my review by disclosing that I spent over 40 years in the restaurant/hospitality field. Made a trip from Tampa specifically because this place had been recommended, only to find out that they don't have a full menu available on Sunday until 1 PM! (It was 1230PM, btw) Not really happy and wasn't really happy with how... More 

Helpful?
Thank brake4bears
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I appreciate you making a trip to come see us, and I completely understand how this might've been frustrating. While our team is happy to accommodate our guests' requests whenever possible, we do have a small kitchen and have to stick to serving our breakfast menu until 1 PM on Sundays -- I apologize if that wasn't made clear before... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Bland food. Made us all sick later that night. Staff was not very engaging. This place is also over priced. Avoid.

Helpful?
Thank Corey K
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear you weren’t feeling well, Corey. I know that can really put a damper on your night, and I certainly understand your frustration. However, we follow all health and safety codes, and we’re committed to making sure that all of our meals meet the high standards we aim for. Beyond that, our staff should always be friendly... More 

St Pete FL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Burgers were not good, atmosphere not good, potato salad was warm and probably bad. Spent the night in the bathroom after this fiasco of a meal. I think the fries were ok and they had some interesting beers from local breweries. Will never go back.

Helpful?
Thank shanna364
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I know how frustrating that can be, so I'm sorry to hear that you were feeling under the weather. That being said, I can assure you that we follow all health and safety codes, and our team is committed to making sure all of our meals meet the high standards we aim for. Everything is cooked to order, and a... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016

Thought I would try out this dog friendly restaurant since it is close to my residence. I visited on a weekend afternoon. Not at all busy. Sat near the door outside (the dog area) and the waitress took my order. I had the fish at her recommendation...blackened. It was good...fresh. My dog had a plain burger. Overall good food and... More 

Helpful?
Thank rbrown9681
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I'm glad you and your pup were able to give us a try -- especially since we're in the neighborhood! It's great that you enjoyed the blackened fish and that your pup could grab a bite, too. I'm always happy to hear that our staff's recommendations were a hit, and it's even better knowing that you felt welcome here. Looking... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I know what good food is ... But this was a shame! My friends and I expected something amazing and it was disgusting. Food came out cold and out of a can. Ordered ribs and they were cold with a fake bbq sauce. Place was not clean at all. Everyone ate because we were hungry. Even the look of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JennyMilicevic
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

Jenny, I'm disappointed you and your friends didn't enjoy your meal with us. We use only the freshest ingredients and all of our dishes are cooked to order here, so I'm surprised that you thought our ribs fell short. Your food should always be piping hot here, and if that wasn't the case, then I apologize. That being said, we... More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Went 4 lunch about a week ago.I had sloppy Joe sandwich with fries. Food was excellent. Love there steak fries. Everything came out nice and hot and fresh. Will definitely go back soon. Plz check it out u won't b. disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Susie Y
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I'm glad you could stop by and have lunch with us, Susie! It's great to hear that the Sloppy Joe and steak fries were a hit. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All the best, Chip, Owner More 

Travellers who viewed Babalu also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Babalu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 20
Cuisine
American, Bar
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Delivery
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
10:30 - 09:30
10:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:30 - 09:30
10:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 09:30
10:30 - 21:00
Thursday
10:30 - 10:00
10:30 - 22:00
Friday
10:30 - 10:00
10:30 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9246 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33702-3132
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  St. Petersburg
  • Phone Number: +1 727-576-7414
Description
Babalu is St. Petersburg's neighborhood tavern offering delicious homemade food and daily specials prepared freshly each day.

We offer an extensive menu of freshly made items. From our delicious burgers to jumbo wings, fresh grouper, hand-breaded shrimp, snow crab, hand cut steaks, homemade meatloaf and more, we've got something for everyone.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Babalu staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?