We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woodman

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
238 Barnett Wood Lane, Ashtead KT21 2DA, England
+44 1372 274524
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good16%
  • Average15%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible35%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (4 reviews)
“fish chips” (3 reviews)
“lovely lunch” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
238 Barnett Wood Lane, Ashtead KT21 2DA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I Last visit last week, absolutely surprised with excellent service and choice and quality of food , we all loved it , manager was very helpful and accommodating, definitely will return

Thank Anna C
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Anna C, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Woodman! We are looking forward to see you soon!!

Reviewed 13 September 2017

We can here for dinner, everything felt very deep fried and greasy. I have the veggie burger and couldnt finish it as it was so oily and tastless. My partner had a beef burger and the patty was thin and limp. The atmosphere was pleasant...More

1  Thank Emily D
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Emily D, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us - you are right we are part of a chain but that shouldn't mean that you don't enjoy your food. I'm glad you enjoyed the quiz though - please let me know...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Last visit not encouraging. Used to be good food - not much change in menu and though the staff were good the food was average.

1  Thank colv2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Colv2017, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us we are changing our menu next month and we hope you will come back and give it a try!

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We returned to this venue to try their fish & chips that wasn't available on our July visit. We were well looked after. We had the trip of deserts after lunch & they were beautiful but the Eton mess was to die for!

Thank CKeane
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hi Ckeane, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Woodman. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Came into the woodman today to be greeted with a very warm welcome, all the staff are very friendly, I had the yellow pepper and tomato pasta it was really nice and great for the price the kids had pizza, nuggets and pasta first time...More

Thank Hollie P
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hollie, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Woodman! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Very friendly pub with a nice simple garden at the park and plenty of on site parking. Simple food, taste more home made than restaurant/pub quality but was good. Fairly priced. The wife liked her risotto, good size portions. Would visit again for a quick...More

Thank nishayesha19
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Woodman! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Visited on a Thursday for lunch with a few work colleague/friends. The place was reasonably busy for little Ashtead , service a bit random but not bad by any means. First I asked for Halloumi, chips & mushy peas - sorry we don't have that....More

Thank CKeane
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Hi Ckeane, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Please visit us again soon and let us know you are coming we will happily...More

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Was meeting old friends for lunch. I decided to go for the lunch menu thinking just the same but maybe smaller portions. Ok had fish. I was struggling to find the fish in the batter. So crispy ,over cooked. Called the manager over to mention...More

1  Thank moreviz
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Hi, I am really sorry that you weren't happy with how the duty manager dealt with your complaint on Friday -we checked back your food and you didn't complain until you had finished so we didn't offer you a replacement but would happily have done...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Have been going here for a few years, and you almost always get a good meal, and very good for the budget.More

Thank Mary G
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Mary G, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Woodman! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017

We arrived at 9.45 to be told by the Manager(?) that the kitchen would be closed (even though they supposedly serve food till 10.00). The barmaid took the trouble to actually check and said they could still serve us. We had a somewhat forceful and...More

1  Thank Cleopatra80
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Cleopatra, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We were happy to take your order that evening and we are sorry we weren't serving the menu that you wanted I've spoken to the team leader who spoke...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ashtead Charcoal Grill
62 reviews
.80 km away
Bike Beans Cycle Cafe
56 reviews
.84 km away
Mogul Dynasty
148 reviews
.35 km away
Zia Vitalia
97 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Giles Church
10 reviews
1.41 km away
Chessington World of Adventures Resort
6,442 reviews
3.74 km away
Hobbledown
690 reviews
3.93 km away
Leatherhead Museum
18 reviews
2.66 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Woodman staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 238 Barnett Wood Lane, Ashtead KT21 2DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Ashtead
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 274524
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing