We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hungry Tarpon

77522 Overseas Hwy, Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3813
+1 305-664-0535
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“shrimp burrito” (24 reviews)
“fish” (167 reviews)
“cuban sandwich” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
77522 Overseas Hwy, Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3813
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We chose to eat here as primarily stopped to see the Tarpons and therefore convenient. The restaurant is a lovely spot but unfortunately the service and food is a real disappointment. We waited for over 45 minutes to get our order of cheesy fries and...More

Thank sarah075
Robbie's Marina O, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Sarah! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are a very busy lunch restaurant where you can soak up the atmosphere. I do apologize that you were not happy with your food or service. We are very proud of our food...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This should have been an ideal location for a nice Sunday breakfast. The views are great and watching the children and adults feeding the tarpon was fun. It was a long time before our order was taken and an even longer wait for our food...More

Thank Barbara V
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rally nice place to be. Had Lobster Bisque and fishfingers wit sweet chili sauce. Probabablh best fishfingers I ever had!

Thank Wilbert P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The setting of this place is fantastic. Loved watching the boats go out for the day & feeding the tarpons. But the service and food were absolutely awful. Hard to mess up eggs, but they did. Badly.

Thank Lindsay R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We waited over an hour, asked our waitress and another about our order and were told "I'm sorry, the kitchen is working on it". Saw 3 other tables get their order, eat and leave. Waitress must have had some problems. Wouldn't recommend stopping there except...More

Thank 597gregw
Robbie's Marina O, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Greg!! Thank you for your review. I'm wondering if management knew about the situation maybe they could have helped. We are a very popular lunch stop and do our best to give great customer service. Hope you can give us another try.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there with a party of 8. Had to wait for a table but no big deal because it is such a fun atmosphere and plenty of things to do while you wait. After being seated we noted a lot of tables around us...More

1  Thank 4FromIowa
Robbie's Marina O, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are a very fun, unique and busy restaurant. So glad you enjoyed the view while you waited and that the hogfish lived up to it's reputation. Try us for dinner next time as it...More

Reviewed 8 October 2018

After you feed the Tarpon (A must do) stop by for a delicious lunch and an ice cold brew. Great place!

1  Thank Mike M
Robbie's Marina O, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Mike! Thanks for the kind words. I think you summed up a great afternoon.

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Well, now, I just thought this place was the bomb dot com. We ordered the conch fritters as an appetizer and let me tell you, these hush puppies were a-barking! They were dy-no-mite! I ordered the shrimp tacos, but there wasn't anything shrimp about them...More

3  Thank Jason S
Robbie's Marina O, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi Jason! Thank you for such a great review. I am a huge fan of the shrimp tacos as well. I hope we can see you both back here often. Maybe for breakfast sometime??

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

My bf had the magic fingers and I had the stitzville sandwich...both were amazing. The shaded areas were a nice relief from the sun. The server was busy but managed to still be attentive. We would definately go back.

1  Thank Wander776510
Robbie's Marina O, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Thank you for such an awesome review. It has been a warm September and I'm glad we could provide some shaded relief. Hope to see you back soon!

Reviewed 19 September 2018

Really neat atmosphere with a bar, some small touristy shops, a painter in residence, tarpon feeding AND good food. Very laid back place to spend a few hours moseying around. We had a very nice lunch and bought some silly souvenirs, but the best part...More

1  Thank cheryltasses
Robbie's Marina O, Public Relations Manager at Hungry Tarpon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi Cheryl! Thanks for all the kind words. Can't wait to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Islamorada
Coral Bay Resort
254 reviews
2.98 km away
Amara Cay Resort
1,561 reviews
4.06 km away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
239 reviews
4.22 km away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
672 reviews
4.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Robbies
239 reviews
.01 km away
Midway Cafe & Coffee Bar
1,463 reviews
4.87 km away
Chef Michael's
1,415 reviews
6.59 km away
Morada Bay
2,410 reviews
6.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
KeyZ Charters
144 reviews
.01 km away
Sundance Watersports
410 reviews
.03 km away
Blue Heaven Charter
76 reviews
.06 km away
Islamorada Fishing
37 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
To-King
2 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Lansing56 | Reviewed this property |
I am so sorry. I just saw this question. But I do not know if they have gluten-free options.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 35
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 77522 Overseas Hwy, Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036-3813
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Florida Keys  >  Islamorada
  • Phone Number: +1 305-664-0535
  • E-mail
Description
In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing