We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

) #4 of 11 Restaurants in Bearsted ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Bar, British, Pub
The Green | The Green, Bearsted, Maidstone ME14 4DL, England
+44 1622 738365
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good27%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
yesterday
“Decent Food, Nice Atmosphere”
2 days ago
“Nice venue but frustrating”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
DETAILS
The Green | The Green, Bearsted, Maidstone ME14 4DL, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 845 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Had a few meals here which have always been decent - tend to have the 1/2 chicken dish which has been delightful and the gravy fantastic. One slight negative would be the time waiting for drinks but would continue to visit

Thank Ian R
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We have visited a few times before in the evening and have found it very nice with good atmosphere, good food and nice staff. We have recently taken friends out for lunch on two separate weekends and sadly both times have left dissapointed. On both...More

Thank cjk8486
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Cjk8486, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact our manager at 441622738365 so we can make your experience a positive...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

A really lovely meal, staff were very attentive and service was timely despite being a busy Friday evening. The food was excellent although a touch pricey. So not a cheap evening out but absolutely worth it!

Thank Dan A
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Dan, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care. Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely pub, great views over the green. Downside ........... drinks expensive and bar gets very busy Friday / Saturday night so long wait to be served.

Thank ZoHe01
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back always nice to hear we did well, we'll have to keep an eye on those prices!!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went twice to this nice place. They have a super vegetarian dish with Root vegetables and a little cheese that can't be beat. The next day I had the rib eye steak so both ends of the spectrum. The desserts were awesome toffee cake and...More

Thank David E
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving feedback the veg tart is my favourite dish as well!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been eating in this restaurant a few times a year for the last six years. I am a coeliac and, despite, always telling them on booking, they have never once had any gluten free bread. I eat out at lots of restaurants and...More

Thank Susansantandrea
Simon H, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

I send my deepest apologies to hear that this has been the case, please rest assured I will be talking to the chefs and investigating why this has been the case. Many thanks

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is lovely great inside and amazing food. But I don't understand why they are so slow. Granted we were a table of 8 but 45 mins for a starter on a Wednesday night when the restaurant wasn't that busy is bad! So we...More

Thank windywendy1234
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a weekend away in Eastbourne and a diverted trip back through Canterbury we were quite hungry and in need of a dog friendly pub to have something to eat. After a Google search and a number of unsuccessful phone calls we found The White...More

Thank Mark N
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Mark N, thank you so much for the positive review! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pros Food was v v nice and cooked well (Salt n pepper squid, 15oz ribeye & cheesecake ) Atmosphere v nice and decor too Cons Service was v v v slow and food took a long time to arrive - might cause issues if you...More

Thank Zeke A
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Zeke, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The White Horse, Bearsted!, It might please you to know that our toilets will be closed from the 8th May for a FULL re-fit starting wit the ladies then the gents. We do hope you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite possibly the worst meal i have ever had the steak was a slab of fat and at £25 not good, the other people in the group didnt enjoy theirs eitherMore

Thank Peter B
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this review

Peter B, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Here at The White Horse, Bearsted, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact our manager...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fish on the Green
721 reviews
.19 km away
The Oak on the Green
1,364 reviews
.18 km away
The Bell Inn
184 reviews
.81 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tudor Park Spa
45 reviews
1.03 km away
The Bell Inn
10 reviews
.52 km away
Bearsted Golf Club
10 reviews
.42 km away
The White Horse
19 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Horse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Green | The Green, Bearsted, Maidstone ME14 4DL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone  >  Bearsted
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 738365
  • E-mail
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The White Horse - Maidstone serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.